We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Scheldezicht
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Het Logement(Antwerp)
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Bar/Lounge
Banks Hotel(Antwerp)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Postiljon(Antwerp)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (133)
Filter reviews
133 results
Traveller rating
14
40
51
8
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
14
40
51
8
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrote marktoverlooking the squarefloorcentreeuro
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 133 reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2011

Great location in historical quarter of Antwerp. Easy (and free) parking 5 minute walk away on riverside area. Lucky to get in - arrived on spec having stayed here a couple of years ago. Fantastic family room on top floor - mezzanine level with 3 single beds for kids while we had good sized double bed beneath. Excellent size room - shower & basin in room and toilet just outside. No problem as only a couple of rooms on that floor. Great view of cathedral from velux window. Great buffet continental breakfast. Kids delighted having thought it might be a bit shabby but quickly warmed to its charm - I prefer something with a bit of character to a "global finish" in a chain hotel. Friendly staff. Crisp bed linen and fluffy towels. Yes, some people might think the place needs some TLC but I like it just the way it is! Very easy to wander out in the evening to one of the masses of local restaurants. We ate in a Turkish restaurant - excellent value and friendly place. Would definitely use this as a base in Antwerp again. Note if you are not able to walk lots of stairs this would be a problem as there isn't (as far as I can tell) a lift. Otherwise it's spot on.

Room Tip: Only stayed in top floor rooms on both occasions - if you don't mind the climb, ask for these!
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizzier17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

This hotel was conveniently located; we had a HUGE room and decent bathroom. Breakfast was included and was more than adequate. Our room was on the ground floor at the front of the hotel, so we did get some street noise--but would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueDKruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2011

Stayed here one night in single room with en-suite. Was proudly told that new bed had been installed that very day. Decor in good condition and seemed quite new. En-suite very small and could not stand at the sink and close the door but very clean and adequate. Shower a bit weak but OK. Buffet breakfast is continental. Parking is on-street and free between 10pm and 9am but feed a meter before then or be directed to a car park somewhere that I didn't bother with. Short walk through pedestrianised area to good selection of places to eat near cathedral.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Largesarge1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2010

I stayed here only one night, as part of a stopover during a road-trip southwards through Europe.

Pros: Situated on a quiet street. Beautiful, charming antique interior architecture. Basic, but very nice breakfast buffet. Friendly and helpful staff. Well-priced.

Cons: Lumpy mattresses. Carpet in room could benefit from a cleaning session. Undetected by housekeeping staff: Previous guests' discarded items found atop of the dividing wall that separates shower from room.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YelloBrickRoadtrippr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2010

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, no it is not 5star but then again you shouldn't expect it to be for the price. The rooms are quaint and really nicely decked out, the big fireplaces and plenty of space gives it an old world charm yet artsy feel.
I think the greatest attribute is the staff here, there was one man on reception who every day helped us, suggested restaurants and was just generally a delight to talk to. The breakfast was also nice, plenty of choice of cereals, breads, sweet breakfasts etc.
We had a shower in our room but a communal toilet, this was always cleaned and the rooms were serviced daily.
The internet was really fast but there was a maximum data allowance per day which was slightly annoying.
As for Antwerp itself the food, sites and culture of the area is amazing, be sure to ask the staff here for there favourite spots and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cafrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews