We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Experience...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Scheldezicht

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Scheldezicht
Ranked #55 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

Stayed three nights here in August on a two week father-daughter trip to uncover our Flemish family heritage...this quirky but comfortable Hotel and young staff was/were very friendly, professional, and helpful. We will stay here again when we return to Anterpen. Very good location, with much to see within walking distance, including the Grote Markt Groenplaats. Two thumbs up.

Room Tip: ask for room facing the square,,,and with a bathroom in the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leem1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    38
    45
    8
    17
See reviews for
17
41
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cowichan Valley, B.C.
Level Contributor
194 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

We stayed 4 nights - Thursday through Monday. We slept soundly for none of them. Easy to find and well-situated; spacious room with 3 single beds; easy enough staircase to maneuver for an older Benelux structure. Desk clerk was very formal but also very helpful - we ate at the 3 restaurants he recommended and all were good.

As for the sleep - the hotel faces a courtyard/basketball court and has a number of drinking and eating establishments also facing the courtyard. Being August, it was very warm so sleeping with windows closed was impossible - turns out trying to sleep with the windows open was impossible as well. Bar music, patrons yelling and singing (and screaming) and, at closing, every boomcar and unmuffled Harley in Brabant seemed to be engaged in driving around and around the courtyard. The music went until after 1:00AM, the residual people noise until after 2:30AM followed by streetsweeping machinery and then, on Sunday morning, an 'antique/collectibles' market sets up in the courtyard allowing about 2 hours of shuteye. I haven't read any of the other reviews of this place but, if they don't mention the noise, it may have been our unlucky (i) time of year, (ii) days of the week, (iii) or maybe they were facing the rear of the building. Amazingly, the hotel was fully occupied so perhaps its on the itinerary of the hearing-impaired.

It was sufficiently off-putting that I would not go back even if it were free.

Can't comment on the free breakfast as we ate out elsewhere in the city.

Room Tip: I would insist that my room face away from the courtyard and be on the end away from the river. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhsheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Antwerp hotels

Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2011

Great location in historical quarter of Antwerp. Easy (and free) parking 5 minute walk away on riverside area. Lucky to get in - arrived on spec having stayed here a couple of years ago. Fantastic family room on top floor - mezzanine level with 3 single beds for kids while we had good sized double bed beneath. Excellent size room - shower & basin in room and toilet just outside. No problem as only a couple of rooms on that floor. Great view of cathedral from velux window. Great buffet continental breakfast. Kids delighted having thought it might be a bit shabby but quickly warmed to its charm - I prefer something with a bit of character to a "global finish" in a chain hotel. Friendly staff. Crisp bed linen and fluffy towels. Yes, some people might think the place needs some TLC but I like it just the way it is! Very easy to wander out in the evening to one of the masses of local restaurants. We ate in a Turkish restaurant - excellent value and friendly place. Would definitely use this as a base in Antwerp again. Note if you are not able to walk lots of stairs this would be a problem as there isn't (as far as I can tell) a lift. Otherwise it's spot on.

Room Tip: Only stayed in top floor rooms on both occasions - if you don't mind the climb, ask for these!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzier17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2011

This hotel was conveniently located; we had a HUGE room and decent bathroom. Breakfast was included and was more than adequate. Our room was on the ground floor at the front of the hotel, so we did get some street noise--but would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SueDKruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mold, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2011

Stayed here one night in single room with en-suite. Was proudly told that new bed had been installed that very day. Decor in good condition and seemed quite new. En-suite very small and could not stand at the sink and close the door but very clean and adequate. Shower a bit weak but OK. Buffet breakfast is continental. Parking is on-street and free between 10pm and 9am but feed a meter before then or be directed to a car park somewhere that I didn't bother with. Short walk through pedestrianised area to good selection of places to eat near cathedral.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Largesarge1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

I stayed here only one night, as part of a stopover during a road-trip southwards through Europe.

Pros: Situated on a quiet street. Beautiful, charming antique interior architecture. Basic, but very nice breakfast buffet. Friendly and helpful staff. Well-priced.

Cons: Lumpy mattresses. Carpet in room could benefit from a cleaning session. Undetected by housekeeping staff: Previous guests' discarded items found atop of the dividing wall that separates shower from room.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YelloBrickRoadtrippr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2010

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough, no it is not 5star but then again you shouldn't expect it to be for the price. The rooms are quaint and really nicely decked out, the big fireplaces and plenty of space gives it an old world charm yet artsy feel.
I think the greatest attribute is the staff here, there was one man on reception who every day helped us, suggested restaurants and was just generally a delight to talk to. The breakfast was also nice, plenty of choice of cereals, breads, sweet breakfasts etc.
We had a shower in our room but a communal toilet, this was always cleaned and the rooms were serviced daily.
The internet was really fast but there was a maximum data allowance per day which was slightly annoying.
As for Antwerp itself the food, sites and culture of the area is amazing, be sure to ask the staff here for there favourite spots and you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cafrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.3 mi away
Postiljon
Postiljon
#36 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Antigone Hotel
Antigone Hotel
#38 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rubenshof
Hotel Rubenshof
#33 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banks Hotel
Banks Hotel
#30 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
#15 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel O  Kathedral
Hotel O Kathedral
#22 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scheldezicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scheldezicht

Property: Hotel Scheldezicht
Address: Sint-Jansvliet 12, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Scheldezicht 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK) and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Scheldezicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scheldezicht Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing