We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, quirky.”
Review of Hotel Scheldezicht

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Scheldezicht
Ranked #56 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Petworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location, quirky.”
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We stayed for 4 days and had the very top room no 22. Supposedly 3 floors up but felt alot higher. Very narrow, steep stairs and no lift. Room was spacious and excellent for 5 people. The bathroom was tiny and clothes hanging space minimal. It felt as if this was the last room to be decorated and it wasn't finished. We didn't expect much so were not disappointed.
The entrance is basic but nice, although there was a rather funky smell when you came through the front door.
The staff are pleasant enough but appear rather bored and not particularly interested. When you make the effort to engage them in conversation they are helpfull.
Breakfast is a continental buffet style, with small changes in pastries etc each day.
We have lived in Antwerp and I felt this was a typically Belgian Hotel. We would happily stay here again as the position was excellent. We paid £650 for 4 nights bed and breakfast for 5 people. Not bad!!

Room Tip: Get a room at front of hotel for a view. Beware stairs are very steep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    39
    46
    8
    18
See reviews for
19
41
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

The hotel is located in the heart of Antwerp, and offers rooms for a good price. Our room was very big (we rented the suite), but the bathroom was very small. The service provided to our family (who rented other rooms) was not very good. There were some minor problems (no towels, water that didn't drain), but the staff wasn't very willing to help (just passively agreed to do so, but in the end nothing happened). The breakfast was very nice but there could have been more choice.

Room Tip: I'd recommend asking for a room at the rear side of the hotel if you're sensitive to noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iseult_Beets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

The room we had was very large and warm,the toilet was on the same landing and not a problem,the shower was in the room,great position in the centre, you can unlod your car then put it in the free carpark around the corner,the price is right,friendly staff.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank espengmbh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Hotel Scheldezicht is very well located and very reasonably priced. The rooms are not bad but simple. I did not have a toilet on the room but had a shower. The TV set comes from the iron age and is placed on the table, that huge that it takes the whole table, making it impossible to use your laptop. They don't think about this. The breakfast is not bad but they don't create a nice atmosphere. It is deadly silent, no music or whatever. The personnel sits silent behind the desk not helping you out at all. And finally the towels are so small, as big as my handkerchief, so that after the shower, I got my toes dry, but had to wait for the wind to blow the rest dry as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonHendriks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

My husband and I and my sister in law and her husband all stayed at the Scheldezicht for one night. This is a very clean hotel and well priced hotel with comfortable beds. It is also very centrally located for shops and restaurants and the Grote Markt. The breakfast is also very good. Could have stayed here longer and would certainly return. The only downside is that the first set of steps up to the rooms are very narrow (as with a lot of older Dutch and Belgium houses) but after that they are okay. Would recommend this hotel to everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank essexgal25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Here for the Tomorrowland Festival
- In historic area- best locatoin
- Friendly, cool and casual staff
- Completely acceptable rooms
- Communal toilet didn't bother us
- Missed out on breakfast (slept in) but it looked good!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meladdy2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

We spent one night at the Scheldezicht with a larger group. Staff was very friendly and helpful. After a group member forgot something at the hotel after leaving it was sent really fast and without any extra fee back to his place :)
The hotel is closely located to the old town center. The rooms had a poor sound insulation. The shower and a sink is inside the room but you have to share the toilet with the other guests on the floor (2-4 rooms per floor).
All in all it's a nice hotel to stay one night or two, but not more.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philo_on_the_go
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.3 mi away
Postiljon
Postiljon
#38 of 72 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Rubenshof
Hotel Rubenshof
#37 of 72 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel O  Kathedral
Hotel O Kathedral
#24 of 72 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Banks Hotel
Banks Hotel
#29 of 72 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 416 reviews
0.4 mi away
Antigone Hotel
Antigone Hotel
#40 of 72 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matelote
Hotel Matelote
#22 of 72 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Scheldezicht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Scheldezicht

Property: Hotel Scheldezicht
Address: Sint-Jansvliet 12, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Scheldezicht 1*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Scheldezicht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scheldezicht Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing