We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Budget room of the price of studio”
Review of Antigone Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Antigone Hotel
Ranked #39 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
helsinki
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Budget room of the price of studio”
Reviewed 13 August 2013

We book studio room well advance. When we arrived to hotel, we were given a room which was a budget room. I complined this to owners a couple hours later, and they were very rude.
Next morning they sent us to see "studio", which was like 1km away from hotel. ( The studio which we booked was suppose to be in the next building just back of the hotel). The new studio was smokeroom, and quite terrible.
So we stay in the room, but we´ll never go back, and hopefully no one else do.
At the same time there was our friends in the same hotel, and they did have a good room (Bigger) but they were without hotwater several days. And didnt get any compensation of that.
So beware of this hotel!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    49
    32
    9
    8
See reviews for
29
39
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Everything was good. We had made a reservation for parking the car and we could park it behind the hotel, this is not free but very convenient because the hotel is situated in the old city. You go out and you are in the middle of everything you wanted to see. We fot tips for good restaurants with food from Antwerp, this was perfect, otherwise you get often food for turists and that is most of the time rubbish.
If we go again to Antwerp we will go to Antigone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GitiCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Krung Thep, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

Good location, very helpfull staff, the receptionistmgave lotsnofminformation n suggestions of what to see and do in the area. The manager is very helpfull too and did everything to make our stay most pleasant.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trudy v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

The hotel is central and run by friendly staff. I needed two rooms for five and we were all happy with the accommodation, cleanliness and the breakfast. The location near the river and city centre is very good for easy access to the main attractions.

Room Tip: The top rooms on the north east have great sunrise views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Phil B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

This was my first stay at Antigone and I was completely satisfied with our choice. It's a short walk to the city center, the metro, and a variety of nice bars and restaurants. And for the price (including the fantastic breakfast that comes with it) I'm not so sure you could do better than Antigone. The rooms are quite modest, but clean. Our bedding was pretty worn out, a few of the appliances in the room weren't working, and our window gave us a view of some graffiti in the parking lot but when it came down to it, everything we needed and really wanted from a hotel was easily offered to us by Antigone. I would stay here again and I will definitely recommend this hotel to any (non- high-maintenance friend) travelling to Antwerp.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chocolatehug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

We arrived in Antwerpen without hotel reservations. The avilable hotels cater to people with expense accounts and where more than we wanted to pay. A friend recommended the Antigone. They didn't have a room but their apartment across the alley in back was available. Naturally, we took it and it was an unexpected delight.

The Antigon is a small hotel, catering to travelers and families,from the look of the folks at breakfast. It's well located, on the river front and a short way from the Cathedral. The apartment was wonderful. Its two stories tall and could sleep a family of five if needs be. Full kitchen. Lots of space. Very nicely decorated. A paid individual parking place a few feet from the door. Ask the lady at the desk about the apartment's history.

Breakfast, served in the Hotel was unbeliveable. A giagantic buffet, wth more good things than you could eat in one sitting.

Room Tip: Pay extra. Get the apartment. Otherwisw ask for a room facing the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peripatetical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Used Hotel Antigone on many occasions when visiting Antwerp. The staff at this hotel are very friendly and always willing to give that extra touch of hospitality service. The location is suberb, few minutes walk from the city center. The wide variety & delicious breakfast was exactly what we needed for a long day of sight-seeing through Antwerp. Surely will be using Hotel Antigone for my next visit to Antwerp!!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WorldTraveler488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.2 mi away
Postiljon
Postiljon
#49 of 72 in Antwerp
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Matelote
Hotel Matelote
#20 of 72 in Antwerp
320 reviews
0.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel O  Kathedral
Hotel O Kathedral
#25 of 72 in Antwerp
280 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
1.1 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#6 of 72 in Antwerp
799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antigone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antigone Hotel

Property: Antigone Hotel
Address: Jordaenskaai 11-12, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Antigone Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Antigone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antigone Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing