We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two important things about the 't Sandt”
Review of Hotel 't Sandt

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 't Sandt
Ranked #14 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 December 2011

A quaint hotel in the center and off the centre of Antwerp. Really nice atmosphere at the breakfast room-everything is self-service and the variety of breakfast really good (although I am sure people staying in American luxury hotels would consider it poor). Also a nice touch is the free wireless internet. One thing to keep in mind is the parking possibility which is not cheap in the hotel parking facility, the other is that the reception is not occupied all the time. Apart from these two which were not a problem for us we enjoyed our stay. We stay at the Cranley Suite for two nights and it was an absolutely charming room with nice view on a terrace and beautiful chic decoration. Comfortable bed too. Definitely a place we will go back to, as we love dining in Antwerp (particularly at the Fiskebar).

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HotelfanNetherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 270 reviews

Reviewed 8 December 2011

We stayed at this hotel and found it to be immensely enjoyable. Our room was spacious, clean, very quiet (facing the garden), and had character. The location of the hotel is prime and serves as a good basis to explore Antwerp on foot. The staff was jolly but also very helpful, for instance in providing excellent restaurant suggestions for both nights that we were there. All in all, we had a great experience and will happily come again!

Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank Filip V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Excellent experience. We stayed there one night. Friendly staff. Great and spacious room with full biew of the cathedral. Good breakfast. Great location. Reasonably priced. And most importantly: not one of these chain-hotels that make you doubt which city you're in; but a buidling with character!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SquareMontgomery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2011

The setting is great, the architecture and design are excellent and the staff are friendly and helpful. My single room was huge, the breakfast was lovely. There is a lovely sitting room, and hot drinks are available at any time. Perfect!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2011

i loved it, clean, very helpful staff.
select a room facing the garden!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coconuts1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

I should have written months ago. I have stayed here, twice a year for the last 5 years and never been disappointed. Lovely assortment of theme rooms, friendly attentive staff, and a nice breakfast.
Central location completes the experience. Will be back again soon.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lord_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

I travel from Hong Kong every 2 weeks across the globe on business and never have I experienced such unfriendly, cold, verging on arrogant service from staff members at the reception desk.
I moved
On arriving from hong kong with mobiles/ I pad etc on low battery I requested an adapter. I was told I'd have to buy one from a shop ten minutes walk away as they had an Australian guest who had taken the adapter! Not a business hotel at all. I had to change rooms 3 times due to them being nothing like what is seen on their website. I ended up paying an extra 40 euros for this. Therefore my room was 190 euros and was seriously worth not even half this amount. It was raining so I requested an umbrella and was given a small silver ladies handbag umbrella!
I asked the man at reception if there was a gym in the hotel. NO ! As his response. Would there be one close by? I asked whether he knew of any spa's in Antwerp. Again NO was the reply, even though he was sat in front of a computer not once did he offer to help.
I found the safe in the cupboard and looked everywhere for the key. As it wasn't in the room I called down to reception and asked where this was. I was abruptly informed at reception and that I would have to come down 3 floors to get this.
I took the opportunity to ask whether as it had been 5 hours since last asking if he could possibly ask the other guest if I could borrow the adapter for 30 mins to which he abruptly replied" I will not do that"! I asked why on earth not and he put the phone down on me mid sentence.
I went to get the key for the safe from him only to have him ignore my requests when asking for the managers name and details. At this point he asked me to get out of the hotel! I have never in 30 years of business and pleasure travel visited a less friendly hotel with rude and unprofessional staff and service. He refused to give me his name or the owners.
I returned to my room , packed and left for hotel julien which was the best move of the day. Hotel julien has incredibly professional staff, superb facilities , amazing rooms and reception areas and Yes even adapters for their guests and the breakfast was fantastic. The owners of the previous hotel need to take note that being situated in a Convenient location does not warrant poor service and rudeness. OH by the way. Wen I passed reception on leaving this dreadful hotel, the same staff member called me sir for the first time and offered to help me with my bag!! ( to which I refused)

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
5  Thank Babylon11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Julien
Hotel Julien
#9 of 73 in Antwerp
400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel De Witte Lelie Antwerp
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
1.1 mi away
Hotel Indigo Antwerp - City Centre
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Nuits
Hotel Les Nuits
#18 of 73 in Antwerp
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 't Sandt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 't Sandt

Address: Zand 13-19, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#7 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#10 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range: £140 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel 't Sandt 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel de charme with 29 lovely rooms, all modern amenities and covered parking in the historical centrer of Antwerp. Fabulous terrace and Italian patio to find peace in the middle of a effervescent city and only a block away from a broad range of shops, restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel 't Sandt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel t Sandt
t Sandt Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing