We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Place to Stay”
Review of Alias Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alias Youth Hostel
Stuttgart
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Place to Stay”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

The receptionist was very very nice and helpful. She showed me anything I needed to know on a map and told me which tram to take.
The room was very cute and also clean, though not toooo clean, but ok. The mattress was very old. Sheets were for free and towels were 10€ deposit.
The toilettes were not very clean but that was not the fault of the cleaning person because she definitely did her job. People there just didn't seem to care about leaving it clean. But one thing really annoyed me: there wasn't any soap there!
Breakfast is simple but tasty and the coffee is quite good.
All in all it is a good place to stay. Of course it's a bit old and not a 5 star hotel but it's cosy!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    16
    20
    6
    7
See reviews for
1
6
13
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights with a friend and we had a twin private room it is perfect fo location and if on a tight budget especially if you want to travel on your own . basic beds table and chairs and shower sink and toilet

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francyS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dortmund, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2011

After reading some of the reviews on this site, and having obviously found no cheap alternative, I made a reservation at this hostel but was somewhat afraid of what was expecting me. As always, reality lies somewhere between the extremes. I do agree with those who suggest that this hostel has quite a few weak points, but nothing that would justify an uproar. It is not very clean, but it is not dirty, it is not very quiet, but it is not really noisy, it is not charming and welcoming and attractive, and the neighborhood is really average, but it is quite cheap and safe. There are locks on doors and you need a key to enter your room and a code to enter the building in the evening at night! Breakfast ist abundant and excellent, the staff is very helpful. After reading the reviews on this site I brought my sleeping bag, but really the sheets were very clean. You can walk from the hostel to the station (10 minutes) and to the old city (20 to 30 minutes) and get to see lots of nice places on the way. Make your own experience and do not be afraid!

Room Tip: If you plan to arrive after 7 or 7:30 p.m., please make sure to arrange a late check-in, and do phon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keko_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Very unclean hotel. no towels present. very warn. Lots of stairways, noisy etc.
No roof in the showers/bathroom.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fredman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Antwerp hotels

manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2010

Having travelled to various parts of the world and on a number of occassions in large parties, often to more deprived countries, this had to be one of the worst hotel facilities I will hopefully ever experience. The rooms were unclean, toilets/baths rooms filthily (and far too few of them shared over a floor), beds very small, no towels provided, noise after 11pm was very loud, breakfast basic and of very poor quality, not to mention the very unhelpful staff and aggressive large white dog which was left to its own devises to roam around. Apart from all the above the hotel was ok, however in the event of a fire the 200 plus guests would have struggled to get down the only very steep flight of stairs with loose carpet, wobbling banister and no emergency lighting. Security was appalling so would advise not to leave anything of any value in the room. 2 nights in the not so new youth hotel was more than enough, would advise another hotel or a park bench before you book into this place.

  • Stayed May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tonyferrino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liège
1 review
Reviewed 24 November 2009

The staff at this hostel were very nice but when I went up the stairs, I was quite disappointed: this hostel clearly needs a refurbishing and even if the rooms were clean, there was a leak in the room I slept in, making a very disturbing noise... the bathroom was clean though which was good, but next time, I'll prefer to pay 20 euros extra to sleep in a nice hotel... so if you're on a low budget, this will do, but don't plan on staying here for a week!

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diane703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2008

Good cheap hotel, although is much closer to a hostel. We stayed for 4 nights in a double w shared bathroom and we got new towels everyday, but our sheets were never changed. Breakfast is buffet and has all the usuals and was quite good. Showers were clean for a hostel although the whole place could do with a reno some time in the near future. Our room was out the back and had a hundred mozzies sqaushed on the walls and ceiling when we arrived. Its not really the hotels fault but there was an infestation of mozzies at night and it was boiling hot, so we added a few more to the tally. As there was no fan in the room we had to choose between opening the windows and being swarmed or keeping them shut and boiling all night. So just beware staying here in summer. Sleep with some rid on or something. Our beds were ultimately soft and they and the whole place in general tended to be really squeeky. We didnt really enjoy our stay but I cant really blame the place as it was really hot when we were there. It would probably be a lot more comfortable in winter or in cooler times. I should also note that it is really cheap for what you get. We also walked into town every day without a problem.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Heat and Mozzies
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gringravitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station
1.3 mi away
Postiljon
Postiljon
#49 of 72 in Antwerp
163 reviews
0.2 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
#53 of 72 in Antwerp
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
#16 of 72 in Antwerp
1,035 reviews
4.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen Port
0.5 mi away
Boomerang Hostel
Boomerang Hostel
#27 of 45 in Antwerp
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alias Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alias Youth Hostel

Property: Alias Youth Hostel
Address: Provinciestraat 256, Antwerp 2018, Belgium (Formerly New International Youth Hotel)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Alias Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New International Youth Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing