We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for an overnight stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
B-aparthotel Moretus
Ranked #36 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Reviewed 19 November 2013

The location at the ring of Antwerp makes it perfect when you are attending an event in the Lotto Arena or the Sportpaleis. It's only about 10-15 minutes by car to the center. It's not a very lively environment but the executive rooms (with kitchenette) are spacious.
Breakfast is average and the bar looks nice, although we didn't actually go there. the bed was comfortable but one of the mattresses did need replacing. Still slept alright. Checkout time is noon which I always find comfortable if you are staying for the weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with kitchenette, they might give you a free upgrade and it is really comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liset1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 119 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2013

At first sight it looks like a swish hotel located by the busy Antwerp ring road. Free parking, lobby looks fine, friendly staff, HUGE room, but wait ... what's this? A monster potable air conditioning unit clanking away in the middle of the room! The noise is deafening, can't sleep with that on, and it has a wide tube dangling out the open window, letting all the hot air back in - and it was a particularly hot Belgian summer. Surely a swish hotel can't have forgotten to put in air con?
Oh yes, and take a torch/flashlight, the trendy low-lighting is a bit too low. I also object to paying extra for breakfast, 28 euros extra for 2 breakfasts is too much.

Room Tip: Overlooking the carpark at the back is quieter than overlooking the ring road, although in summer yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AGuyfromBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verybusyinbudapest, General Manager at B-aparthotel Moretus, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear guest

Thank you for writing your review and the positive comments you wrote about the huge rooms, buiding and friendliness of staff.
You are absolutely right about the lighting, we are changing it everywhere at this very moment.
SInce we are a very competitively priced 3 star hotel we don't have airconditioning and because of that, don't advertise anywhere that we do. Unfortunately Belgian summers are generally mild but I agree the weather has been particularly hot. We offer portable air conditioning units that have some limitations I agree. We have several types so perhaps had you contacted reception they would have found you another unit.

Our breakfast buffet is priced at 10 euro per person (promotion price advertised everywhere in the hotel during your stay) we exclusively work with fresh produce and have a large selection of fresh fruit, cooked breakfast, breads and pastry. All our cheeses and selection of fine cuts charcuterie are perpared and sliced dayly by our breakfast staff to offer ultimate freshness and taste. We have a recently renovated breakfast room, I'm sorry you didn't get a chance to try our breakfast. We find your quotation of 2 out of 5 a bit harsh but accept your comments and will try to improve on certain aspects in the future.

Kind regards,

Françoise Druguet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Not a four star hotel,by any means was so fever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
This place is more like apartments,
The food is crap in the hotel
There no air-con
Rooms are old
The beds are ok
There free parking which is good thing
There better hotels are a little more money in the city

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verybusyinbudapest, General Manager at B-aparthotel Moretus, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
As you can read in the hotel name: City Inn Hotel and Apartments, we rent out hotel rooms (from 35m²) and studio flats (up to 55m²)
I'm afraid you're mistaking, we are a 3 star hotel, not a 4 star hotel and our rates are priced well below other comparable 3 star hotels. We also don't serve food and don't have a restaurant so you couldn't of had lunch or dinner at our hotel.

Our location is next to the highway so ideal when travelling by car or wanting to escape the chaos of the city center. We have portable airconditioning units available at reception on demand.

We will review your other comments carefully as customer satisfaction is our priority.
Best regards,

Françoise Druguet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed for 3 days at this hotel. It is set in the middle of a wide grass area, near a small medical center. It is quiet, if you do not choose the highway side, as we did. The rooms are very big and comfortable. The main advantages for us were free parking in front of the hotel and a refrigerator, which allows you to store snacks and cold drinks for light meals (especially as in front of the hotel is a big DelHaize supermarket). Therefore, we did not take any meals at the hotel and have no opinion on it. Te rooms were clean and towels were changed daily. The hotel has no airconditioning, whiich may be a problem in hot days. The staff was very ftriendly and changed our room twice at check-in: once because of smoke smell in a non-smoking room and again because a faulty refrigerator.The connection to the city is simple. You can use the 244 bus to the main station (15 min.) or tram 4 to Groenplaats (near the cathedral) by walking through a nice park. Antwerpen is an intersting city with a very nice historic center, worth a visit.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing th highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerOmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verybusyinbudapest, General Manager at B-aparthotel Moretus, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and objective review, we appreciate you taking the time.

Hope to welcome you again sometime!

Kind regards,

Françoise Druguet
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

It's the first and the last time that I visit this hotel...Room is big but old not very clean and very cold......in the near of this hotel there are some other much better....I don't take the breakfast, it was not included in the rate, and after see the room I decided don't try also this experience :-) really I can' t suggest this hotel

Room Tip: Find another hotel :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GIGINHO_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
verybusyinbudapest, General Manager at B-aparthotel Moretus, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2013

Dear Giginho_77, first of all thank you for taking the time to write a review.
As the new manager since April 1st 2013 I am saddened to read about your negative experience and want to apologize for the fact that you didn't have a pleasant stay with us. Cleanliness is our absolute priority so I will address the matter with our housekeeping team. We are planning renovation to some of our rooms in the near future.

Did you report these matters to reception? I would have gladly offered you an upgrade to one of our executive flats had I been aware of these issues.

If you are ever back in Antwerp and decide to give us another chance please contact me first for a complimentary breakfast so you can experience for yourself that there is nothing to worry about :-)

Best regards,
Françoise Druguet
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed here on Saturday 18th of August 2012. The room was nice and large but we were not told we had to put the key in an odd slot just inside the door to operate the main lights. It also had an old TV that did not show the channels advertised. It was a hot humid night and the hotel was not air conditioned, the front desk delivered a portable unit but the vent had to go outside through the window. This let all the hot humid air into the room not the greatest idea. There were no tea/coffee making facilities in fact nothing drinkable in the room at all very poor! I think this hotel is trying to pretend to be part of the City Inn chain when it is a stand alone hotel. I will not stay here again and I would advise anyone else to think carefully about doing the same. PS no breakfast in the rate. From Tony G in the U.K

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

If you like highways and motels, then by all means. However, City Inn Hotel is certainly not luxe by any stretch of the imagination. The money that my mother and I had intended to save ended up being used to hire taxis to take us back to the hotel at night, since there is no train station nearby and the buses are extremely erratic, running on what appears to be a nonexistent timetable.

As a result of food poisoning, my mother was confined to the hotel room for one of three days for which we were in Antwerp, leaving her to grapple with filthy surrounds, a shower that wouldn't work as well as a rock-hard bed. Service was cold and unhelpful and the nicest person there was the housekeeper who appeared sympathetic when I told her about my mother's predicament. If I have to say anything positive about this hotel, it would be that it was ridiculously easy for my Dutch friend to come and pick me up to go to Breda for the day. That's about it, really.

For the three days I had accommodation in Antwerp, I only spent one day exploring the city (the other two days were spent in Breda and Luxembourg respectively). City Inn was no doubt a contributing factor.

Room Tip: Don't come here. Simple as that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laireschode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
1.9 mi away
Tulip Inn Antwerpen
Tulip Inn Antwerpen
#47 of 73 in Antwerp
378 reviews
2.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen Port
1.3 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Novotel Antwerpen Noord
Novotel Antwerpen Noord
#25 of 73 in Antwerp
518 reviews
1.5 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
#52 of 73 in Antwerp
1,057 reviews
1.4 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#18 of 73 in Antwerp
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B-aparthotel Moretus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B-aparthotel Moretus

Address: Kalverstraat 12, Antwerp 2060, Belgium (Formerly City Inn Hotel and Apartments)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range: £57 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — B-aparthotel Moretus 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moretus offers guests spacious serviced accommodations and is located 5 mins from Antwerp airport and 10 mins from the city centre. B-aparthotel Moretus is the first B-aparthotel in Antwerp. Be a long-term or short-stay guest in one of Moretus' 92 spacious accommodations, ranging from standard hotel rooms, studios and 1 or 2-bedroom apartments with connecting rooms and penthouse suites. B-aparthotel Moretus is only minutes away from Antwerp's historical centre and famous shopping areas via public transport. Sightseeing attractions include the city's Town Hall which is a UNESCO World Heritage Site and the monumental Grote Markt. Moretus is easily accessible by public transport and has direct links to Antwerp airport which is only 5 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your B-aparthotel Moretus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing