We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Diamond Museum Antwerp (Provinciaal Diamantmuseum)
Ranked #70 of 159 things to do in Antwerp
Attraction details
ontario
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“closed!”
Reviewed 7 July 2012

So we went to Antwerp today, July 7 2012, to visit the Diamond Museum and found out that it's closed. And I mean CLOSED. The man at the Tourism office said they have no date for the re-opening.

Be aware that there is no notification of the closure on any of the websites that I visited prior to our trip. Very disappointing.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank emmabob86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    16
    9
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Diamond Museum is now lokated in MAS Museum”
Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Diamond Museum in Antwerp has moved the collection to the MAS Museum

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
7 Thank jamesbond007Belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Museum closed as of May 1st 2012”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

The museum is spread out over 3 floors but it's quite compact. There was an audio guide provided with our ticket, but I personally thought that the information provided on it was too much and taking up a lot of time. So I just read the short discriptions and looked at the jewelry.

In general, I didn't like the museum too much, it just wasn't able to grab my attention. The jewelry displays were too dark and didn't do them justice. If you ever go to Moscow, I can highly recommend visiting the Diamond Fund at the Kremlin, where the jewelry and diamonds are truly dazzling.

On the door there was a paper stating that the museum closes it's doors as of May 1st 2012.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank DayzeeNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Very informative”
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Learnt lots about diamonds from formation, to excavation, to processing to dealing.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank VijayUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Clean & quiet , expected more though.”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

The museum was interesting and well laid out, and not expensive. The jewels on display were lovely but it could have been a bit more interactive, for children it would be a bit boring.
The listening phones were a really good idea so you heard all the commentry in your own language.
I think there should have been some videos on a loop you could watch demonstrating cutting and grading of diamonds.
It is worth a visit if you like sparkly things and are considering buying diamonds.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank weeeyin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Diamond Museum Antwerp (Provinciaal Diamantmuseum) also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Diamond Museum Antwerp (Provinciaal Diamantmuseum)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing