We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Step back in time” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kulminator

Kulminator
Ranked #1 of 34 Nightlife in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

Ok so this place is pretty kooky even by Belgian standards. We arrived to find the owners, an old couple, sitting reading their papers but the lady served us and was very friendly. The beer list is incredible, so many aged and unusual beers. The decor looks as though it hasn't changed for years after awhile the owner got up from his paper and went around to wind his cuckoo clocks! This is a real gem and still right in the centre of Antwerp. Totally worth checking out for a unique experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeebly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    30
    8
    4
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The best vintage beer list”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

If you are into beer or would like the opportunity to try vintage belgium beers going back to the 80s then this is you're place!

Helpful?
1 Thank NixxxyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Avoid this place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2013

A few of us visited over the weekend and before we could order a drink the barman started yelling and shouting. This was the middle of the afternoon. He may have thought we were someone else or had a bad experience with tourists, this was never made clear. We had just entered the premises and were looking to order a drink. We were made more than welcome in all other places we visited while in Antwerp.

With so many decent places to stop for a nice beer in Antwerp this place is to be avoided at all costs. Will not allow the bizarre behaviour of one landlord to spoil my city break.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
8 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worst european bar experience I've ever had”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

On the surface this looks like it should be one of the best bars in Europe, an absolutley incredible selection of beers in an eccentric surrounding. However I never got my hands on a drink, a misunderstanding over a reserved seat led to the landlord screaming at us, no polite request to move, no polite request to leave, just shouting. Being fair, his wife was very apologetic and almost embarrased, however I'd save yourself the hassle of finding this place and enjoy a drink in one of the many, many other fantastic bars in Antwerp where we experienced nothing but first class and friendly service.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank PatScott77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Rude, nasty and unhinged landlord”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We had had a lovely trip in Antwerp thus far visiting many pubs where the staff could not have been friendlier. We visited this place on recommendations and one of our party accidentally sat in a seat that was reserved for the landlord - it was not clear that this was his seat. He came out roaring obscenities and screaming 'OUT, OUT, OUT'. We were more than happy to move but, like some deranged lunatic behaving like he'd be more at home in Ward 8 at Broadmoor, the landlord insisted we go and without provocation threatened to alert the police. We got an apology from the landlord's wife for his unhinged behaviour but his behaviour was completely unacceptable and temporarily tarnished what was a very enjoyable day that we were all having.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
10 Thank Major070712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kulminator also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Kulminator? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing