We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My firs trip to Antwerp...”
Review of De Witte Nijl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Witte Nijl
Ranked #4 of 109 Antwerp B&B and Inns
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My firs trip to Antwerp...”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

And I found paradise at De Witte Nijl ! My host Gino and Ivan were exceptionally accommodating to my needs, helpful with information on the area, maps directions etc. Besides being a very comfortable and beautiful B&B you are treated like family, Gino delights you at breakfast with a home cooked meal. The rooms are exquisite and beyond comfortable. I look forward to a return stay and highly recommend this B&B.

I was there last summer for a week, and just realized that I had reviewed the wrong B&B here on tripadvisor a year ago.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great. I was in the new one on the top floor, with incredible street views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carcs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
65
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

What I liked most about my stay here is definitely the décor of the place and especially my room, it was quite tastefully, impressive and fun and something that I rarely see in B&Bs. The room was comfortable, beautiful and clean and I had the place to myself for about a week and I was joined in my stay by my friends as well and all in all we had a great stay experience at the place. The location is perfect with being minutes from the city center and having easy access to all the important places around.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pointblack o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gran Canaria, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

This is the best b&b where I have been. Nice design, totally in African design. Very clean, good service and nice owners. Breakfast was very good between. City centre only 15 mintes walk. Thanks Ivan and Gino. See you very soon again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank donkertje79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

De Witte Nijl is a cosy, comfortable, beautifully presented two suite B&B in a great Antwerp location. Our "Livingstone" suite was very spacious with a big comfortable bed (great night's sleep), easy chairs and lots of elegant and interesting ornamental features in keeping with the African/ Congolese theme. Owners Gino and Ivan are extremely friendly and welcoming and were very happy to give help and advice about the city. Breakfast is served on the ground floor which extends into a conservatory where there are exotic singing birds and where the African theme is also maintained with maps, pictures, carvings and other interesting things. Breakfast can include coffee, juice, a basket of bread and pastries, fruit, cheese, charcuterie and eggs. The location of De Witte Nijl means you can walk to many of the main sites in the city within 20 minutes and the area around the B&B is filled with small, independent cafes and shops that will entice visitors in. This would certainly be my hotel of choice whenever I return to Antwerp. Loved it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yekkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This is the most amazing and wonderful B&B in town. We used to live in Antwerp for a few years and know the city quite well. Always when we come back for a visit we made it a custom to stay at different B&Bs which are abundant and cheap. Once we discovered De Witte Nijl, it's cosiness and the warmth of it's owners, we never changed. We now stay there every time we come to the city and every time it is like coming home. Not only are Ivan and Gino wonderful and generous people, they also have an amazing taste for interior design. This B&B is mentioned in many fashion and design magazines and guides about Antwerp. The collection Gino and Ivan put together is fascinating: old manuscripts, maps, masks, tribal weapons and butterflies make you believe you really are in the domicile of a colonial explorer of the black continent. Sleeping in one of the suites gives you the impression of a stay in a safari lodge, where, indeed, Stanley and Livingstone met, and taking a bath in one of the magnificent bathrooms is an experience beyond. The breakfast is delicious and can be taken in the orangery or the garden with good weather. As De Witte Nijl is situated in the south of the city with it's great restaurants and the Museum of Fine Arts, it is also in walking distance to the centre with the major sights of the city. I warmly recommend De Witte Nijl, it's wonderful decoration and the friendliness of Gino and Ivan.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
360 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 273 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Stunning African themed B&B situated just off Marnixplats. Just two rooms and ours was beautifully decorated with lots of quirky touches and a huge bathroom. Bed was very comfortable and we got a great nights sleep. The hosts were friendly welcoming and really helpful with good tips about Antwerp. Breakfast prepared and served in the hosts kitchen and was delicious.

The B&B is in a quiet residential street in a great part of Antwerp. Two minutes walk from the bars and restaurants of Marnixplats and Leopold de Waelplats. There was street parking at only €3.50 per day.

Just remember the hosts don't take cards.

Will definitely return

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

The Witte Nijl is in the fashionable South of Antwerp, a few steps away from the Marnix square and the Museum of modern art, both places with many fashionable restaurants and bars. A 20 minutes walk will bring you to the medieval centre of Antwerp with the famous gothic cathedral, medieval castle, the river and the so medieval centre with many small streets. Public transport is always close and will bring you to any place in Antwerp.
The B&B is full decorated in colonial style, including the keys have a touch of it. The rooms are big, clean and well decorated. All decoration is African style, ex-Congo style, like you can remark on the photos. Our suite had a bathroom with bath and shower separate. All so nice.
Breakfast is served downstairs, interior or in the garden dependent of the weather. The breakfast is very complete and delicious. The garden is quite tropical/South, which I rather special for Belgium !?
The hosts are super, helpful, always there to help you and the chat during breakfast ( only when you are interested ) is a good way to start the day, that and the breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dirk P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.6 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.8 mi away
Hotel Julien
Hotel Julien
#8 of 72 in Antwerp
377 reviews
1.1 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#6 of 72 in Antwerp
797 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Matelote
Hotel Matelote
#22 of 72 in Antwerp
316 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel De Witte Lelie Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Witte Nijl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Witte Nijl

Property: De Witte Nijl
Address: Tolstraat 35, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 109 B&Bs / Inns in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Where Stanley meets Livingstone…" A romantic colonial African atmosphere, in a typical 19th century house with its authentic elements and current comfort. In a quiet street in the center of Antwerp in the trendy neighborhood 'South', with his array of cool restaurants and terraces, close to the Museum of Fine Arts Antwerp. And within walking distance to the fashion area, antiques area and the historic center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your De Witte Nijl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing