We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience...”
Review of Boomerang Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Boomerang Hostel
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An experience...”
Reviewed 17 May 2013

I stayed here with my sister and we were not impressed, but decided to look on the bright side of things and laugh off how bad it was. We hadn't planned to be in Antwerp but hostel elsewhere being fully booked meant we ended up there. We were not happy about the smoking in the common room, but did enjoy playing card games with some of the guys who worked there. The decor was somewhat interesting... Our room had a lot of beds and not the cleanest sheets. There were only a couple of other people in our room. The bathroom was not very clean, but we were only there a couple of nights so decided to wait for a shower at our next stop.
It was ok for a last minute find, but I wouldn't go back and I wouldn't advise my friends to go there.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heather N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    31
    24
    14
    16
See reviews for
1
10
31
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I read the bad reviews of this hostel beforehand but I decided to stay at the hostel anyways as I was on a tight budget and near the tail-end of my trip. Although the place is smelly (think: cigarette smoke mixed in with a farmhouse) and the neighbourhood wasn't the most picturesque, the staff were very, very friendly and accommodating and went out of their way to make sure I was happy and comfortable. They offered coffee and a breakfast with ham and cheese, and the downstairs lounge had a very chilled out vibe to it. The WiFi worked in my room which is also a bonus, and they had lots of plug ins so you can stay in your room all night on your laptop and hide away from the cigarette/farmhouse smell downstairs and in the hallway. I wouldn't recommend staying here if you want to be in Antwerp for longer than a night though.

Room Tip: Try not to get a room across from the communal bathroom on the 2nd floor that smells like a farmhous...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlowerGypsy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Antwerp hotels

Tilburg, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013

Apart from the fact that the place isn't clean, it's a beautiful building, nice staff and a great location. Ideal for backpackers, low budget and 24 hour stores in the same street.

Unfortunately I was the unlucky one to sleep in a bed with bedbugs. Smoking inside the hostel is so not done, you smell it everywhere. I saw a roof terrace, but it was not allowed to go there. Fix that and stop smoking inside.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sanfey85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

The entire place smelled of smoke and was not very clean. The walls had layers of dust on them and you had to rent your own sheets. Only good thing is that there were no other people in our room of 10 (6 of us). Still, we were up four flights of stairs!
Staff were nice, but I would not stay there again. For just a little more you could stay somewhere clean, more central and still basic.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lima, Peru
Level Contributor
77 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

We stayed for one night and don't recommend it. The place smelled really bad (a lot of people were smoking) and it looked really dirty and old. Even the rooms and the beds smelled like smoke! When we arrived late at night they (after doing the check inn in the afternoon) they didn't know where we were sleeping and they made us wait to find our beds. The common room was old and cold as other people opened the windows to smoke. i don't recommend this hostel, although it was very cheap.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMSS_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2012

This place is absolutely wretched. The owners and employees chain smoke (along with many guests) in the common area, which also happens to be the only area where you can eat or use the internet. They book groups of 20+ which results in all kinds of trouble. The common room is also so crowded at any given time that I had to eat standing up. The place was downright filthy on a cleanliness scale, but that was the least of its problems, really...

Room Tip: Choose a good room by going anywhere but here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dxm300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Dirty messy hostel that needs to be shut asap, you would't reconment it to your worst enemy.
If you are a smoker you'll be lucky because your clothes will smell for another week
Beds are broken, drunk people walking into the rooms keeping you awake in the middle of the night, constant noises of the old beds. Smelly sheets are dirty and to small.
Thank me later for warning, and the extra money you'll need to pay for another hostel are the best you've ever spent. The reviews on their site are old.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Felix H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
4.1 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen Port
0.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station
0.5 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#17 of 72 in Antwerp
505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
#16 of 72 in Antwerp
1,021 reviews
1.0 mi away
Antwerp City Hostel
Antwerp City Hostel
#13 of 44 in Antwerp
12 reviews
1.2 mi away
Antwerp Backpackers Hostel (abhostel)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boomerang Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boomerang Hostel

Property: Boomerang Hostel
Address: Lange Leemstraat 95, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 44 Speciality Lodging in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Boomerang Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boomerang hostel is a funky, relaxed and cosy place to stay while visiting Antwerp. With only a 5-10 minutes walk from the city centre, this hostel will definitely be the best value for money. A good-time atmosphere & friendly staff will make your stay complete. Boomerang hostel is both the place of calmness and inspiration as for entertaining nights in the city of Antwerp. Overall, our rooms, beds, bathrooms, ... are pretty basic but comfortable. In this way, we can keep our prices low. Though, this charmingl old residence is furnished with wooden floors, high ceilings, a broad staircase, unique windows. What's more important for us: you will find no other hostel in Antwerp where people are gathering in the evening in the living room, drinking a belgian beer together, getting to know each other, playing some music, challenging each other for a game, making plans for the rest of the night... And in the end, that's what a hostel is about!! You will feel yourself at home here. Furthermore, we provide a kitchen you can use anytime, a garden during summer months, the most cosy living room of Antwerp, free Wifi, 24 hour reception, bicycle storage, travel support, print services, the best tips and hints about the city, cultural advice, clubbing advice, ... Boomerang hostel gives you the opportunity to chill, explore the city, build-up long lasting friendships and have a cosy stay-over for a small amount of money. 16 bed dorm: starting from € 12 (+ sheets: € 2,50) 12 bed dorm: € 15 (+ sheets: € 2,50) 8 bed dorm: € 17 (+ sheets: € 2,50) Keep in mind that sheets are obligatory. Breakfast: € 2,50 Cereals, Salami, Ham, Cheese, Breads, Milk, Thee, Coffee, ... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Boomerang Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boomerang Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing