We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely clean, comfortable and cheap with a great location.”
Review of Postiljon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Postiljon
Ranked #49 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Extremely clean, comfortable and cheap with a great location.”
Reviewed 20 July 2012

The rooms are very small but what do you expect when it is that cheap and personally, I wouldn't have wanted them to be any bigger. Looking out of our room we could see the cathedral window a couple of metres away which in itself is an amazing building. The hotel is in one of the best locations in Antwerp being situated in the older part of the city close to many restaurants, the main square and obviously the cathedral. This is really handy if you are looking to go out in the evening (and I suggest you do as there is a lot of entertainment .etc). The rooms have a sink in the corner yet they don't feel too cramped with shared showers and toilets that were never busy. The staff were nice too, speaking very good English. Overall, a great value hotel with a lot of character and a location right in the centre of the old city of Antwerp.

Room Tip: If you're looking for a twin room, don't be put off by a double as we were and in our 'd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    67
    38
    17
    19
See reviews for
14
66
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

Our room was definitely cheapest of the 3 we saw as we climbed the very tight squeeze of a steep staircase but it did the job.
Out of our window we had a close-up view of the 'Cathedral of Our Lady'.
The breakfast room does not match the bedroom - all the expense had been spent in here and it was made to look very grand.
We only spent one night here so I can't really say anything about the staff except the woman who checked us in was friendly enough. Unfortunately she did not record that we paid for our room on arrival and this meant that the next day we suffered the embarrassment of her husband chasing us across the Town Square accusing us of not paying, we soon assured him we had and he walked off.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
Helpful?
Thank PurplePeaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

If you're in Antwerp, you're not spending much time in your hotel. There are dozens of fabulous museums, large and small, amazing shopping, bars and restaurants on every street and place, galleries that match anything you'd find in Paris and a nightlife that goes on until dawn. The Postiljon is just the right hotel for Antwerp -- adjacent to the cathedral, a few blocks from the waterfront, clean, comfortable and staffed by very kind (and funny) desk staff. The only drawback is the noise, which requires that you close the windows at night so for a very hot summer this might not be a comfortable place. That said, we stayed here in July, closed the windows and slept well. The church bells in the morning are a wake-up call, so don't expect to sleep too late. But with so much to do, who would want to? Not a great place for the elderly because of the steep stairs. And, while the breakfast is a little pricey, it's abundant with lots of choices so eat a big healthy breakfast and skip lunch. Make sure your room has a private bath, if that's what you want. Not all do. Good value; great location.

Room Tip: Rooms on the street side are very noisy. Make sure you ask for a private bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Truthtraveler58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2012 via mobile

Great small, clean hotel right next to the Cathederal in the center of Antwerp. VERY friendly owners and staff and super clean! Not elegant- but a great location at a fabulous price!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stellanator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

i enjoyed my stay at Hotel Postiljon - good rooms, excellent location within easy reach, good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana1601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

This hostel is in a fantasic location, at the heart of the historic district and about a 15 minute walk from central station and the bus depot. We were allowed to check in a little bit early (it's normally 2pm) and stayed in a double room with separate bathroom. The climb to the top of the building was quite difficult but it kept us fit. A few of the reviews have mentioned the steep, narrow stairs and if you have any mobility problems then you may not wish to stay here. Otherwise the room was clean, functional and perfect for a short stay. It is near to the river, museums and wonderful cafe, pubs and good nightlife.
We were woken up by the amazing (but noisy) bells, they seem to go off every hour for about 10 mins from 8am. I would take some ear plugs just in case you are a light sleeper :) And there are only about three showers over two floors (which is only a problem if you don't have an en-suite).
Overall experience was good and not a bad price for what we got!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the first or second floor because that is where the bathrooms are. On the top (3rd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank travellinggirl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I stayed here with my daughter and the location is brilliant. Hundreds of lovely restaurants and chocolate shops on your doorstep and within touching distance of the Cathedral. Luckily the bells don't chime at night. The staff are really helpful and friendly and made us very welcome. The rooms are basic but fine, with a basin in the room and shared bathroom facilities. The stairs are steep and there is no lift as it is in an old building so don't go there if you can't climb stairs. We didn't have breakfast but the dining room looked really nice. A great base for sightseeing but don't go for luxury.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sassyc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Matelote
Hotel Matelote
#20 of 72 in Antwerp
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
0.0 mi away
Hotel O  Kathedral
Hotel O Kathedral
#25 of 72 in Antwerp
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Scheldezicht
Hotel Scheldezicht
#57 of 72 in Antwerp
126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
#16 of 72 in Antwerp
1,035 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banks Hotel
Banks Hotel
#34 of 72 in Antwerp
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Postiljon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Postiljon

Property: Postiljon
Address: Blauwmoezelstraat 6, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Postiljon 1*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Postiljon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Postiljon Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing