We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No luxury. Perfect location.”
Review of Postiljon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Postiljon
Ranked #38 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
66 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“No luxury. Perfect location.”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Stayed with a good friend at the hotel. The shower in our room did not have a door or curtain. As my travel companion was female she would have appreciated little privacy. Furthermore the hotel staff was very friendly and the facilities provided where clean.

Location was prime. After enjoying the sun on the numerous terraces and great belgiun beers on the square we were glad to have a room this close by. Definitely a good choice, but dont expect luxury. The rooms are small, but thats was not really an issue for us as we were out and about moat of our stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marnix v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    66
    36
    15
    17
See reviews for
12
64
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
1,316 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 502 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Excellent location,right in the middle of the old town,next to the Grote Markt(The Big Square) and Onze Lieve Vrouwe cathedral.
Tiny but very clean room.Friendly ,helpful staff(with a big plus for Stan).They speak english.
Pretty expensive,though(62 euro/night).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zuv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

This small hotel is located just next to the cathedral! hence while is very easy access to the tourist belt, nonetheless, have to be prepared of the noise! I stayed on the 2nd floor, and noise from the street is still clearly heard, unless i shut off the window totally - which makes it then too stuffy in the room.
there is no lift as well, hence had to carry up the luggage using a small narrow stairway. Room are small but most come with a wash basin. I had the one of shared bathroom, i.e. outside and its a separate shower room and a separate toilet.

There are no refreshments or coffee machine in the room, so be prepared to buy from outside which shouldnt be a problem since there are shops nearby.

Room Tip: For convenience sake, I might stay here but if you are looking for a holiday with a good night's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cuddles08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kiev, Ukraine
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Stayed one night in this hotel, unluckily for us it was a Saturday night. Since the location of the hotel is very central, right at the cathedral, the whole night you heard a walking orchestra playing and people shouting and laughing. We had to leave early and had to get some sleep, otherwise a much better idea would have been to go out and join the crowd, because one has to have ear plugs to get asleep.
The room was clean. We had an en-suite bathroom but it had no door and there is no place in the room where you can avoid the view inside, "a little inconvenient". Mind that you cannot come to the hotel by car as it is in the pedestrian zone.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Oknysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

For the price we paid it was certainly a decent place to stay and were only there overnight . We reserved a room that had a private bathroom / toilet and while the room was VERY tiny, even by european standards, the bathroom was adequate , the room was clean enough and the bed and linens clean too. Our room looked right out onto the cathedral and we had beautiful windows which opened up onto window boxes filled with red geraniums and was s mini window seat.
The shared bath for the other two rooms on our floor was right outside our door BUT we were not disturbed by noises in the night.
The breakfast was one of the best selections we had on our two week trip with a wide variety of foods and fruits. The room is quite lovely too !
We talked to one of the people who worked there and they gave us a bit of the history of the hotel and found out this is a work in progress as far as the expansion and the new dining area- bar.
I am not sure whether we met any owner or just managers but all three persons we met were VERY friendly and VERY helpful to us !
While I am not sure I would stay there again for a long vacation as I do like a bit more breathing room and space, I certainly found nothing at fault with this hotel and do not regret staying here .
And, I would have no problem recommending this hotel .
Thank you for our overnight stay !

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sorrisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olomouc
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2012

Maybe a good hotel for backpackers. Certainly way below avergae fort business travelers. Rooms are not in a good shape, and urgently need an extremen makeover. The breakfast room however is quite new and a completely different experience. Hence the title.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Antwerp hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

I stayed here over the weekend and was so disappointed with the service i have never written a review before but for the people who take this seriously, there are so many great places in Belgium and this is not one.
We arrived at the hotel greeted and given a room the price was given to us and we were going to pay that evening but the staff said we could pay on check out.
Woke up the next morning returned downstairs to pay our bill and they increased the rate. we refused to pay the increase, when the staff admitted her colleague was in the wrong still persisted we had to pay, the staff then called the police who thankfully were on our side and said they were in the wrong so we did not have to pay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dino_aqt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel O  Kathedral
Hotel O Kathedral
#24 of 72 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Maison d'Anvers
Maison d'Anvers
#53 of 72 in Antwerp
3.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Scheldezicht
Hotel Scheldezicht
#56 of 72 in Antwerp
3.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Diamonds And Pearls
Hotel Diamonds And Pearls
#34 of 72 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Matelote
Hotel Matelote
#22 of 72 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Postiljon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Postiljon

Property: Postiljon
Address: Blauwmoezelstraat 6, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Postiljon 1*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Postiljon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Postiljon Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing