We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little family run hotel, not to be mistaken with Fawlty Towers!”
Review of Postiljon

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Postiljon
Ranked #50 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Gateshead
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great little family run hotel, not to be mistaken with Fawlty Towers!”
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I made plans for a business trip to Antwerp and wanted to avoid the usual "international franchises" that my company typically accommodates us in. I found hotel Postiljon from a Google Maps search of the area as I needed to be in walking distance to my place of work.

I stayed at Hotel Postiljon at the end of February early March. The staff made me feel welcome from the outset, even to the point where they reorganised rooms to ensure that my stay was as comfortable as it could possibly be, although the great level of service didn’t just end at the reception. A leak in my luggage resulted in sticky clothes, (which they washed) and a button on my jacket almost detached itself (which they mended), much to my gratitude (and surprise!).

If you’re looking for a place to stay in Antwerp, you couldn’t go far wrong with staying at the Postiljon. I stayed in room 5 (I think) which was at the back of the hotel. You lose the views of the Kathedral, but it’s very quiet, clean and comfortable.

The only letdown is that the room's beverage selection could be better provided / organised and why have a Nespresso machine in the room, but not provide Nespresso pods? (Hence the room service score).

All said and done, a cracking little flemish hotel!

Room Tip: Room 5, first floor at the back of the hotel. Double bed, wardrobe and ensuite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    68
    38
    18
    19
See reviews for
14
67
18
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dresden, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The Postiljon is a quaint little spot with a prime location right in the middle of Antwerp, only a 20 minute walk from the train station. The cathedral across the street may be considered a negative if you are planning to sleep late (bell alert in the early morning!), as has been noted in previous reviews. travelling in a group of 2 couples we went for the family room which features a double and two single beds, a doorless bathroom and a shower cubicle, toilet is in the hallway. the room was clean and convenient, so was the price - perfect for a mini break when all you want to do is exploring the town anyway. also the staff was extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flohrentine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

A simple, clean and pleasant hotel next to the cathedral. The person at the desk was friendly and helpful. The room was small but sufficient and clean.
I brought ear plugs in case the bells of the cathedral would keep me awake but I slept like a log.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cobele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salamanca
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

Small simple prefectly clean hotel, great for just sleeping after spending the day walking around Antwerpen. It's location is great just in front of the Cathedral and easy to locate after having too many belgium beers!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank erandihp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

Nicely located, small clean room, no toilet door or curtain. Would have like to have light in the hallway always on as it can get very dark and makes it difficult specially if you're carrying a heavy luggage. Overall nice stay and recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Hotel Postiljon Antwerpen (2 stars) is a in a great location in the center of Antwerp. It is only one block the from the Town Hall, Guild Halls, and next to the large Cathedral. Do not plan on sleeping much during the day; the bells are quite loud and persistent... fortunately, they do not ring at night. The breakfast was included and was a good start on the day. The room was on the third floor; no elevator. No air conditioning nor fan but the room had cross ventilation when the windows were open. For the next visit I will look for other options such as the Radisson Blu next to the Central Train Station which has more stars and a nice workout and pool facility.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johor Bahru, Malaysia
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I stayed at this hostel by myself for one night. First things first - the location of this establishment is excellent! About a 20-minute walk away from Antwerp's central station, Hotel Postiljon is situated right in the middle of the old city centre at the base of the majestic Cathedral of Our Lady. The river, boardwalk and Hat Steen (Antwerp's medieval fortress) are also close by, perfect for a stroll and getting to know the city. Staff were generally accommodating, informative and welcoming.

I chose not to opt for the buffet breakfast as I thought I could get something better for €11,- which wasn't too difficult, considering the proximitiy of excellent cafes and restaurants nearby. Note that, however, this hotel isn't big on luxury. If you don't have an en-suite room (most of them aren't), there is a shower and toilet on the 2nd floor and a toilet only on the 3rd floor. Also, the stairs are rather steep and there is no lift, so consider this if you are travelling with heavy or cumbersome luggage. The reception held my bags for the day without hassle.

The hotel itself is about a 20-minute walk from Antwerpen-Centraal station. All in all, it was a very pleasant experience and I look forward to returning soon. Excellent value for money!

Room Tip: Room 37 (a twin room) looks out onto a quaint, beautiful courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Matelote
Hotel Matelote
#19 of 72 in Antwerp
326 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel O  Kathedral
Hotel O Kathedral
#23 of 72 in Antwerp
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Scheldezicht
Hotel Scheldezicht
#57 of 72 in Antwerp
126 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
#16 of 72 in Antwerp
1,045 reviews
0.2 mi away
Antigone Hotel
Antigone Hotel
#37 of 72 in Antwerp
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Postiljon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Postiljon

Property: Postiljon
Address: Blauwmoezelstraat 6, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Postiljon 1*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Postiljon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Postiljon Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing