We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots of mosquitos”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North
Ranked #10 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lots of mosquitos”
Reviewed 21 February 2014

We used this hotel for a drive stop over. The location of this hotel is ok, close to the marina which could be the cause of the mosquitos in our room. Unfortunately our memory of this place is that we were eaten lots of mosquitos while we slept. Although our windows were closed, and we did not see any mosquitos in our room in the evening and the morning we were all eaten. I discovered this when I went to close my bag and lots of them came flying out. Im sure there were lots more hiding in other dark places.

It was a shame with the mosquitos because the room was ok and clean. The breakfast although was super boring and almost only consisted of bread and butter.

Overall, we would definately not use this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Familyoffour400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Familyoffour400,

Many thanks for expressing your experience through the TripAdvisor website.

I am shocked to see what you are writing about mosquito's, and dark places, because during this time of the year there are no mosquito's. We already had contact via a separate email to investigate what room number you had to check and spray some product.

I have to add the following information to the other TripAdvisor readers concerning the breakfast.
We offer a self-service complementary continental breakfast consisting the following items: Croissants, pastries, toast, brown or white bread, choose from a selection of delicious cereals, muesli, yoghurt, fresh fruit, fruit salad, fruit juice, cheese and charcuterie, coffee and several other hot drinks.

Hope this clarifies your expectations.

Yours truly,

Olivier De Vuyst | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    198
    74
    13
    4
See reviews for
69
100
14
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend to celebrate my birthday with a city trip to Antwerp.
The hotel is well located, just a short walk from the city center and next to neighourhood 'het eilandje' with lots of hip places to go.
We had a newly renovated room which was very clean and had a nice view on the water.
When making my booking I had mentionned it was for my birthday and I even got a little surprise and a birthday card in my room!
On sunday morning it was very busy at breakfast, but everything got refilled immediately.
I would recommand thuis hotel to everyone who wishes to stay in Antwerp.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LiesbetK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North, responded to this review, 18 February 2014
Hello LiesbetK,

Again congratulations with your birthday! It was a real pleasure for us to provide an extra attention in your room. It seems like you really enjoyed the various services and facilities we offer. I hope that means you will soon be staying with us again.

Have a nice day!

Olivier De Vuyst | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

this hotel is situated on the outskirts of Antwerp,the room was light,spacious,and very comfortable the bar is comfortable,the staff are friendly,there was a good selection of drinks available,there were a mix of nationalities staying,the staff didn't seem to have any difficulty in dealing with them.its about 20mins walk into the city,there is a bus stop outside as well.this is another value for money hotel

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vicky and jeff w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hello vicky and jeff w, nice review - thanks!

Olivier De Vuyst | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westport, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Nothing special - check in took a while due to lack of staff. Self serve shop is a nice touch. Rooms as you would expect from the HIE. Parking overnight in the underground parking lot was Eu17 which is excessive. Probably better choices available - so will try elsewhere next time

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMHGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hi JMHGlobetrotter,

Thank you for expressing your journey you experienced in our hotel.
The check Inn time is priority for us to keep this as "Express" as possible.
Even though over the past days it was very quiet in the hotel, therefore I think you had your check in moment on a short peak moment. Therefore my apologies.

Next time when you visit us you will surely have another check inn experience, and, as of 7pm you can park your car for free on the street in front of the hotel.

Have a nice continuation of your day!

Regards

Olivier De Vuyst | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

My husband and I stayed one night for a weekend trip to Antwerp.

It is a typical Holiday Inn Express hotel; no luxury but it offers all you need for a good night sleep: good breakfast, good beds, good service and low rates.

It is located about a 20 minutes walk to the historic area of Antwerp.

The hotel bar was crowded at night, which was nice, so we decided to have a drink at the bar when we came back from Antwerp that night.

The breakfast area can be crowded during peak hours (there is a list in the elevators that advises what the best time is to avoid a line) so we went just before the peak hours and didn’t have to wait at all.

We would stay here again on our next trip to Antwerp.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johanna62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Johanna62,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel on the TripAdvisor website.
We stand for Simple, Smart, Spot-On and I found this back in your review.

Looking forward in welcoming you again.

Regards

Olivier De Vuyst | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2014

This hotel is one of the Holiday Inn Express chain and is an excellent place to stay for business or pleasure when visiting the city. It is situated a taxi ride away from the central station or airport in the old docklands area of the city. This area like a lot of old city docklands is in the process of gentrification and there are loads of bars and restaurants within a short walking distance. Antwerp is renowned for it's food and the area will not disappoint. The added bonus is that everyone speaks good English.
The hotel is clean tidy good beds excellent buffet breakfast and a pleasant bar. No luxuries but none expected in an Express hotel. If you are visiting for the weekend it is all you need. Walking to the centre is around 20 minutes or the local bus is outside the door.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back in the summer as it can get noisy from the traffic if the window is open
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North, responded to this review, 20 January 2014
Dear Stephen S,

Many thanks for you nice description of our hotel.
We stand for Simple, Smart, Spot-on and this clearly what you experienced.

Again thank you and looking forward in welcoming you again.

Kind regards

Olivier De Vuyst | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Good hotel , got a good rate on booking.com rather than the usual 140 (which would be overpiced) , the drinks in hotel are expensive as is the on site parking . The area is nice around the harbour and still within a 10-15 minute walk from the historical/shopping part of town .

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Vuyst O, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Dear Steve M,

Thanks for the review.
It seems that that value was not what you expected from us. Normally this is the best scoring item for our hotel. Therefore will get in contact with you to see where we can improve our services.

Kind regards

Olivier De Vuyst | General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.9 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
1.1 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#18 of 72 in Antwerp
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
1.1 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#6 of 72 in Antwerp
799 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North

Property: Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North
Address: Italielei 2A, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Antwerp
#10 Business Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North 3*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome!Take advantage of the Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City-North hotel's convenient location by Antwerp Harbour and near the city centre.Situated in the trendy Het Eilandje area, the modern Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City-North overlooks the brand new M.A.S. Museum at the Willemdok Marina in Antwerp Harbour. Antwerp Airport is 7km from the hotel, which is close to the R1 ring road, and we have ample underground car parking. Settle into a sofa in our open-plan Great Room, where you can use complimentary wireless Internet.Host board meetings in our well-lit meeting room. We are 15 minutes' walk from the University of Antwerp. Bayer and BASF are a 10-minute drive away, while PSA is next door.Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City-North's staff are happy to arrange transport to the Sportpaleis event hall. Walk to the Jewish Quarter's world-famous diamond district.Our Great Room has complimentary continental breakfast and you can choose snacks from the self-service Grab & Green fridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Antwerp City North Hotel Antwerp
Holiday Inn Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing