We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little dated but great location and friendly staff”
Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #21 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 1 August 2011

For a weekend trip to Antwerp we were looking for a good hotel somewhere close to the center of the city. As it was last minute most of the hotels and B&B were full. After reading several reviews on Tripadvisor and Booking.com we were thinking to choose either the Radison hotel or the Plaza hotel.

In the end the Plaza had better reviews so that's why we took it :-). We asked for a late arrival and reserved a parking spot in the hotel's garage. When we arrived the reception (who was very friendly) already knew we would arrive late. Everything was made in order and they even had reserved a parking spot for us. This might sound like "shouldn't it be like that" but unfortunately we have had different experiences. Not in this hotel however.

The hotel's website gave the best deal "special offer" for less than on any other website. To our surprise we got a superior room which was *big* especially for European standards.

The room has a bath, shower, flatscreen tv with 32 channels and walk-in closet. There were no coffee and tea making facilities and we didn't get a double bed. We were too tired to ask for it perhaps in other rooms they do provide double beds? Nevertheless we liked the room.

There was also free WiFi but as we stayed quite high in the hotel the signal was not strong enough. In the lobby it was ok though. Do remember to ask the reception for the WiFi password ;-).

The parking was cramped and we don't think a SUV would fit. A small sedan however can be parked easily. The hotel charges 17,- euro per night to use the parking; later we found out that just outside on the street the parking rate is around 4 euro. If you want to park your car in a public parking it is somewhere between 12,50 en 17,00 euro. All in all we didn't think the hotel overcharged for this.

In the lobby - which looks a little dated although well-maintained - we had a few drinks. The hotel asks very reasonable prices: comparable with what you would pay in a bar close to the hotel. So no 6 euro coffee, or 7 euro beer ;-).

The breakfast is average priced (like every other hotel in Antwerp). So expect to pay 15 euro per person. We actually think breakfast should be included in the room price. As we didn't want to pay so much we looked elsewhere in the city; there is plenty of choice for that ;-).

As already mentioned before: the staff is extremely friendly and always helpful. They really enhanced our stay.

On the map the hotel might look far from the center but actually it is only about a 10 - 15 minutes walk. The hotel does provide one way free taxi service (although we didn't use this) or you could always take the tram which stops close to the hotel (be prepared to bring some coins around 1,50 euro).

All in all we can definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juledan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2011

My wife and I stayed here for a long weekend in July.
The location is good, far enough out of the town centre to be quiet but near enough to walk . Although public transport is right on the doorstep when you're tired.
Room was larger than average with a kitchenette and balcony.
Breakfast had everything you could want from cereals to continental with a small cooked section.
The staff were brilliant, extremely helpful and knowledgeable, and nothing was too much bother for them.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get one of the rooms at the back of the hotel if you want a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinkervdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2011

Very nice old fashioned hotel within walking distance of old town, but a tram is a better alternative. We were upgraded from an exec room to a balcony deluxe....excellent room on the top floor overlooking the city - veiws of railway station and area - normally that would be grim...but have you seen Antwerp railway station! Breakfast a little pricy, but very nice. Cheap parking available on street outside via pay and display.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank patnsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

Great location, helpful staff, lovely room with balcony. BUT having been quoted €238 for two nights (not inc breakfast), were charged €151 per night because "we hadn't said we didn't want breakfast". This added a shocking €64 (26%) to our bill.

This is a massive con and the hotel wasn't apologetic. Simply cannot recommend on this account.

Room Tip: Say clearly you don't want their €16 breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EmandDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OM-Plaza, Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2011

Dear guest,

We thoroughly read your comment and are disappointed to hear that the extra charge for breakfast spoiled your stay in our hotel. Allthough you might think otherwise, we are definitely not trying to con our guests!
Our goal is to have satisfied guests, who are happy to return to us, and can recommend our hotel to other people. We therefor have taken your comments into account, and changed the breakfast policy since last weekend. Breakfast is now billed separately.

We would like to thank you for the positive remarks you have made about our staff, the room and the location of our hotel, and hope - overall - that you enjoyed your stay at the Plaza Hotel and in Antwerp.

Best regards,


Dirk Beckers
Operations Manager
Plaza Hotel - Antwerpen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

The hotel is centrally located in the city centre of Antwerp. Everything is within walking distance! The hotel has spacious rooms, a magnificent english bar, a very nice breakfast and very friendly staff! The staff really gave us some great tips about the city. We are certainly coming back!!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank citytrippervv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2011

I have stayed here several times for work. The hotel is relatively charming, despite some of the shabby furnishings. The staff is very polite and welcoming. The breakfast is hot and adequate, but does not have enough fresh fruit. The location is fine. You can walk to the Central Station in about 10 minutes, where you will find numerous restaurants and a Starbucks! The Cathedral is a 10 minute tram ride, and the tram stop is right around the corner. Be forewarned that the ticket machine does not take 2 euro coins, and will eat your change if you put in more than the 1.20 euros. If you want to buy tram tickets with notes or a credit card, you need to go to one of the underground tram stations, where there are more full service ticket machines. The room rate here is almost 50 euros less than a room at the Astrid Radisson Blu next to the Central Station. I can walk 10 minutes to dinner for 50 Euros a night,

So, my one gripe. My room has a bath tub. Not just a normal tub, but a huge tub that you have to climb in to. The tub is not very well partitioned off, so when you shower, water gets all over the floor, and you feel like you are on display. Next time I will be sure to request a room with a shower instead of a tub.

Room Tip: All of the rooms here are huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sevenseat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2011

The hotel is located in a quiet area, a few kms from the city centre. The tram stop is less than one minutes walk and it's 4-5 stops into town (note - the machine at the stop requires the exact €1.20 change and doesn't take a €2 coin). Rooms are a good standard, with excellent showers, flatscreen tv, minibar and comfy beds.

Breakfast wasn't included in our rate but upon arrival each room (there were 8 of us in 4 x twin rooms) was given 2 vouchers for breakast the next morning. These would entitle us to a 'discounted' €16 rate. None of us had breakfast the next morning. When he got back to the hotel on the afternoon of Day 2 each room was given a further two vouchers for the following day's breakfast as we collected our keys. On the morning of Day 3, two of us (from different rooms) took breakfast and it was very good indeed. No-one from the waiting staff asked to see a voucher.

Upon check-out I was told that €84 had been billed to my room for 4 x breakfast and was now owed. I explained that only one of the four breakfasts had been taken and that I would gladly pay for that. The check-out clerk said 'well then you must give me 3 vouchers back'. So basically, one had to prove that one had not eaten breakfast in order to not be charged for it. Luckily the unused vouchers were in our waste-paper bin and I was able to hand them in.

The clerk expressed his situation with this system and agreed that it was not ideal but 'it's the only system we have'.

Surely it's not beyond the wit of man to have a system where you must sign in at breakfast and produce your room card to prove where you are staying?

A real shame that they messed up so badly at the end (same experience for all 4 rooms) as it was an otherwise pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ulster_Exile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OM-Plaza, Operations Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2011

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us regarding your stay at the Plaza Hotel.

We are very sorry to hear that the breakfast system spoiled your stay with us and we would like to apologize for this. Since last month, we have switched to coupons for breakfast during the weekend and we are still working out the best system for this. Your remarks have been taken into account, and will make us able to improve our service in the future.

However, we are happy to read that - as an experienced traveller - you found our hotel “a good experience”. We would also like to thank you for mentioning that you had a pleasant stay with us, and that your fellow travellers found our breakfast very good indeed!

Yours sincerely,


Dirk Beckers
Operations Manager
Plaza Hotel - Antwerpen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.4 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#7 of 72 in Antwerp
825 reviews
0.4 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#1 of 72 in Antwerp
131 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.5 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#18 of 72 in Antwerp
520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Address: Charlottalei 49, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Antwerp
#10 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#12 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range: £79 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star boutique hotel in the center of Antwerpen, within walking distance of all tourist sights and shopping streets. Public transport at the hotel. Few tram stops away from the Antwerp Expo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Superbreak UK, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antwerp Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing