We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice and quiet” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #20 of 71 Hotels in Antwerp
GreenLeadersBronze level
Mathry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel and we were not disappointed either of the times. We chose the hotel as it allows dogs, has a garage (although the parking is expensive) and it is within good walking distance from the park and the centre, and you can find good restaurants if you are prepared to take a 15-minute walk.

Even though the corridors and lifts are in need of refurbishment, our room was nice and spacious with a separate dressing-room and a bathroom. The bed was comfortable, the desk was large enough for working at your computer and there was a nice sitting arrangement looking out over the terrace/balcony and the back yard with trees and other blocks of flats. In a distance you could also see the roofs of some of the more famous buildings in the city. The air-conditioning was good but rather noisy.

As we met up with friends both in the evening and the morning, we did not try any of the eating arrangements, but we did miss the possibility to make a cup of tea.

The staff at the desk was friendly and cheerful and even made friends with our dog.

This is a hotel I would recommend to anyone who does not want to be in the middle of everything, but not too far away either, and the possibility to walk your dog in the park nearby is an extra plus point.

Room Tip: Room towards the back are quieter, but ask for one without emergency fire stairs going through your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lenachw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

305 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    146
    54
    16
    15
See reviews for
30
147
13
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

Had a great time.
Lovely room. Clean fresh.
Interesting location. Grand Street.
Helpfull Service. Very accommodating.
This is a very fine Botique Hotel.
Many Thanks.
Room 46

Special thanks to my family for arranging this.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MoisheLond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OM-Plaza, Operations Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear guest,

We very much appreciate your return visit to the Plaza Hotel, thank you for recommending our hotel!

Always welcome,


Dirk Beckers
Plaza Hotel - Antwerpen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

Stayed here at the end of a 12 day family vacation. We needed to be close to a synagogue for the Sabbath. The hotel is clean, the air conditioning worked very well and it was indeed close to both synagogues and kosher markets. The price was reasonable and the front desk staff were extremely helpful. It was nice and quiet and my family was very happy.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bugdocfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OM-Plaza, Operations Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 26 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our hotel.

Looking forward to welcoming you again!


Dirk Beckers
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

This hotel was booked by organisers of a recent stag weekend I attended in Antwerp. I stayed in a twin room on the seventh floor on a Saturday night and did not eat there.

The hotel has the feel of a business hotel. A lot of marble and the kind of bar/lounge that I imagine people having informal meetings in. However I would say this hotel is a good all-rounder and I'd recommend it for breaks for business people, couples and even families.

Although I am not an expert on the layout of Antwerp it seemed to be slightly away from what I'd call the city-centre (5 minute taxi, 15 minute bus or 20 minute walk) and in an area that was clearly favoured by the Orthodox Jewish community.

Despite a rather large frontage the hotel has a small, easy to navigate layout inside. I stayed on the seventh floor and the rooms were very nicely laid out. The beds were exceedingly comfortable, TV's had some English language broadcasting, the bathroom was pleasant and comfortable in size and the windows, whilst not offering stellar views, opened widely allowing for a nice open air feel. A point of note however for families should be made is that wide-open windows on the seventh floor are not exactly 100% child safe.

The staff I encountered were pleasant and helpful, spoke excellent English and coped well with a large group booking for 20 people.

As I mentioned, I didn't try breakfast but the room it was held in looked pleasant and some other members of my party said it was perfectly acceptable.

I paid €94 (roughly UK£80 or US$125) and whilst this was not exactly a bargain, it felt like a fair price for the hotel generally. If you're quoted a figure in excess of €100 I would consider looking elsewhere, perhaps in a slightly more central and upmarket area but if you can do better than that rate, I would heartily recommend this hotel.

If I returned to Antwerp I would definitely look at staying there again.

Room Tip: As with many continental European hotels, lifts are extremely cramped and those with claustrophobia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OM-Plaza, Operations Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your review and recommendation, it was a pleasure to have you and the other members of your group in our hotel!

We're looking forward to welcoming you again with us next time one of you is getting married, hopefully you will be able to try our breakfast. After all, it's served every day until 11am ...

Best regards,


Dirk Beckers
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

This is a well appointed hotel with spacious rooms at a reasonable price. The rooms facing the main street appear to be larger - almost like a suite - while the ones at the rear have balconies, for those who like the sun and a smoke.

The local area however takes some getting used to. The hotel is in the residential Jewish quarter, so there's an absence of pubs and coffee shops. You need to get to know where those are, which is usually a 10-15 minute walk, but the area is safe and quite nice.

As noted by other reviewers, it's a pity there aren't tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms, particularly as we couldn't find anywhere for coffee locally.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThePrivacySurgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OM-Plaza, Owner at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your stay in the Plaza Hotel and your genuine feedback.

We do indeed have Junior Suites facing the street, which are even more bigger then our Superior and Deluxe rooms, but not all rooms facing the front are larger then the ones at the rear. Rooms at the front might not have a balcony, but we're sure our guests enjoy the pleasant view on the chestnut trees at Charlottalei, now that spring finally has arrived! Plaza Hotel is situated in a safe and quiet area, close to the center of the city.

Coffee and tea is served in the lobby or in the bar of the hotel, or can be ordered through room service. We also have a minibars in our rooms, in case our guests would like to drink something else then coffee.

Thank you for rating our hotel, we will be happy to welcoming you again in our hotel!

Martine Goethals
Managing Owner
Plaza Hotel - Antwerpen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

We stayed here in late April 2013 for 3 nights on a package deal including Eurostar. It was a satisfactory base from which to do some sightseeing in Antwerp. The room (at the back) was spacious and well appointed and had a small balcony. There were no tea making facilities in the room but we were provided with a kettle and cups on request. Staff were very welcoming and friendly. Public rooms included spacious lounge, bar and restaurant. Breakfast was good, but the hotel does not offer a dinner service. The bar serves snacks amounting to light bar meals, which are Ok as an alternative to going out to find a restaurant after a tiring day of sightseeing. So far as we could tell there were no restaurants in the immediate vicinity, although the hotel did offer a free taxi service to selected restaurants in the city centre.
The hotel is located 15 min walk from the main station and a 20 min brisk walk to the centre so it is just a little out of the way, but there is a tram stop just round the corner giving easy access to station and centre. The hotel will sell you a 10 journey ticket for 9 euros which is the most economical way to get around.
Difficult to judge value as we were on a package, but we were fairly well satisfied with the hotel for a short stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kathleen369
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OM-Plaza, Owner at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for staying at the Plaza Hotel and your accurate feedback.

Best regards,

Martine Goethals
Managing Owner
Plaza Hotel - Antwerpen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Stayed in this Hotel from 6th to the 10th May, 2013. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a large comfortable room at the front of the hotel - no noise problem. The bathroom is modern and spacious. The toilet is separate from the bathroom but very small and no wash-hand basin. An excellent buffet breakfast is available. A negative would be that no evening meals are served. We would have liked to be closer to the city centre. Overall we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OM-Plaza, Owner at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear guest,

Many thanks for staying at the Plaza Hotel and your valuable feedback!

Kind regards,

Martine Goethals
Managing Owner
Plaza Hotel - Antwerpen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.4 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
1.1 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.4 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#3 of 71 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
1.1 mi away
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
#12 of 71 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Property: The Plaza Hotel
Address: Charlottalei 49, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Antwerp
#10 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#12 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star boutique hotel in the center of Antwerpen, within walking distance of all tourist sights and shopping streets. Public transport at the hotel. Few tram stops away from the Antwerp Expo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Agoda and Hotelopia so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antwerp Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing