We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“De facto not a 4 star, poor hotel”
Review of The Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Plaza Hotel
Ranked #20 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
GreenLeadersBronze level
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“De facto not a 4 star, poor hotel”
Reviewed 12 October 2009

Positive:
Friendly check in

Negative:
No restaurant
Room service limited to a sandwich and snack
Extremely crampy parking (even dangerous for damage)
Furniture anno '70
Very bad tv quality
Noisy
Shower has to be used by hand or batrhoom floods
Useless 'snake hair dryer'
Bed very soft
Hotel is tired

This is by no means a 4 star property. The hotel feels very tired and old, corridors feel like a cheap motel. New curtains and a new bed quilt isn't a renovation. If you wonder why the hotel doesn't has a restaurant just look into the kitchen when you're standing at the reception (huge kitchen anno '60, used for storage, filthy). Tiny elevator anno '60 or '70 (feels almost like a service elevator). Very noisy (noise from inside the hotel and traffic).

This hotel doesn't has the quality or services to be a 4 star property, it's absolutely not worth the price (120 euro). Pay just a bit more for a 'real' 4 or 5 star hotel (just nearby). A waste of money.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DavidBelgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    81
    162
    58
    18
    15
See reviews for
33
159
14
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2009

We got a great rate for a three day stay at the Plaza Hotel, definitely worth checking to see if there are special offers. When we arrived we upgraded to probably the most spacious room I've ever stayed in; it cost very little extra and was really nice. Breakfast was very good and the hotel was quiet which is exactly what we were looking for. Staff were extremely helpful and professional. There are trams just around the corner so transport is within easy reach if you don't feel like walking to the city centre. They have an arrangement with a number of restaurants whereby the taxi fare there and back is free. A really good idea and there are sample menus in the hotel so you can see typical dishes of each place. None of the restaurants are cheap but we went to one, Neuze Neuze, and it was wonderful - a real treat. I didn't discover the nearby Art Nouveau area called Zurenborg until our last evening. It's worth a walk around and there looked like some nice bars and restaurants around the square called the the Dageraadplaats which is to the east of Charlottalei.

  • Stayed July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shamrockrucksack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Plaza is a good choice if you look for a quiet place to stay in Antwerp, while still being close to the historical district with all the cool restaraunts, cafes, shops, and sightseeing spots.
Rooms: just ok - some furniture is already worn, some spots on the carpet, etc. I know that the hotel is being remodelled now, so I guess we just got the old room.
Location: in the Jewsih quarter, about 15 minutes walk to Grote Markt (main Antwerp's square), one block away from the Central Park, which is actually a pretty funny place as it's inhabited by ... lots of rabbits!!! Yes, there are rabbits, ducks, geese, other birds everywhere in the park. Really weird, but fun to watch.
Breakfast: there are cold cuts, but only pork, cheeses, some warm breakfast choices like sausages, eggs and beans, fruit and veggies, variety of bread, croissants, jam, cereal, etc. It's ok, though they could have added anything other than pork to the meats selection.
Service: Perfect! Everyone was super accomodating and willing to help, starting with giving directions and restaraunt recommendations and ending with taking care of our luggage after we checked out and went shopping while leaving our suitcases and car at the hotel.
Other things to know: parking is small and has to be booked in advance. If you like mussels with fries (traditional Belgian thing), a good restaraunt choice is Rooden Hoed, located in the heart of the historical district.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LAOL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Köln
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

A nice hotel with beautiful decoration and a special charme. Breakfast is probably the best i ever had, fresh orange juice ...From there you should use public transportation but the area is nice and you can park in the garage. Cool staff and really professional. Rooms a little old school but enough to sleep, and the bath room really large. Recommend this hotel

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tomawok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbyshire UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2009

The hotel was very bright and comfortable with large lobby and lounge area. The bedroom was very spacious with a large flat screen tv and comfortable chairs.The bathroom had a large corner bath almost in its own room however it was overheated with a large towel rail and hot pipes but was fine with the towel rail turned off. Tea making facilities in the room would have been nice. Breakfast was good plenty of choice with very friendly service. Reception staff were very helpful with dinner reccomendation and booking and train times all done with a smile. A great hotel in just round the corner from the diamond quarter.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatriciaDerbyshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2008

Looked at the reviews and tried to book. Well if you have kids, skip this hotel. Eventhough the rooms apparently are big, there is no way they are allowed to stay with parents. You have to book a seperate room. Response was "we are a 4 star hotel" and the seats and couches in the rooms are to sit on! After trying to explain, got another rude email. So I tried to reason and the operations manager obviously had a bad day. Had a quick look at the reviews on a dutch language site, and they had some same experiences on there. What a shame, booking service is not high on the hotels' agenda. At least Basil Fawlty was funny.....

Stayed July 2008
Helpful?
4 Thank JojoEurope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OM-Plaza, Operations Manager at The Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2008
Dear reader's,

Please keep in mind that comments written here (good ones and bad ones!) are always personal opinions of traveller's. Concerning the remarks of JojoEurope, upon simple request, I can forward the email correspondence between myself and this person, and will leave it upto the reader to decide who was rude and who had a bad day ... :-)

Rooms at the Plaza Hotel are spacious but the seats in the rooms are real seats and not couches or pull-out couches, so therefor, we could not meet the request of this person.

Best regards,

the operations manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul - Turkey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2008

Booked the hotel from fastbooking.com

For €100 taxes included, sounded like a good deal.

A bit hard to find the location. Beautiful and spacious lobby area, very helpful staff... Took the deal to upgrade the room and include the breakfast to the room rate for another €60. Considering €21 per person breakfast and a deluxe room, it sounded like a good deal.

Room was spacious and clean. The carpet was a bit dirty though. Bathrooms look recently renovated, Spotless Clean and quite spacious.

The only disadvantage to the room was the very noisy Portable Aircon. Since the building is an old one, they probably could not go with a Split AC system. Made it quite hard to fall asleep at night...

Breakfast in the morning was unfortunately quite weak in terms of selection considering the Hotel charging €21 per person. Service was quite bad, it took 3 waiters and 10 minutes to get a cup of coffee..

All in all, the Lobby, the Hotel Building itself Staff except the Restaurant and the Deluxe Room with the great Bathroom was very nice. I believe with the central location €100 is a great deal for this place.

There is some improvement with the Breakfast and the AC though...

  • Liked — Bathroom
  • Disliked — Noisy AC
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank MertCambol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
1.1 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.4 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.4 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#6 of 72 in Antwerp
810 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.5 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#18 of 72 in Antwerp
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Plaza Hotel

Property: The Plaza Hotel
Address: Charlottalei 49, Antwerp 2018, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Antwerp
#10 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#12 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Plaza Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
4 Star boutique hotel in the center of Antwerpen, within walking distance of all tourist sights and shopping streets. Public transport at the hotel. Few tram stops away from the Antwerp Expo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antwerp Plaza Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing