We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great host”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
B&B Guesthouse Leman
Ranked #1 of 111 Antwerp B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This traditional house is in a great location if you're driving and don't want to drive into the city centre. It's easily accessible from the ring road and easily found. Parking is on the street but we had no problems, the car was safe and the price was OK. The city centre was easily reached via a nearby tram. The guest house is lovely. The rooms are very clean and well kept with great views over the garden to the church behind. The breakfast room is lovely, light and airy and no wonder the cat looked so relaxed in the garden sitting in the sun, we were too once we joined her!. Breakfast was good, fresh and plentiful and served at a time that suited us. Sander is a great host and made us feel at home as soon as we arrived and throughout our stay.

Room Tip: The Omani suite is good for families. 4 of us stayed and had plenty of room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuesthouseLeman, Owner at B&B Guesthouse Leman, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

you are right, parking your car is very cheap in this neighbourhood. Only € 3,80 for a whole day. So when you come over visiting your friends again you know where to stay. Our cat already gets excited.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

I hope one day you too will be able to enjoy such a lovely home and excellent location site for visiting Antwerp and other cities in Belgium. My room overlooking their lovely garden was well appointed and roomy! It's a hike to the 3rd floor but well worth it:-) The dining area both indoor and out our roomy and great for visiting with other guests. I stayed 13 nights and traveled by easy train commutes to other cities like Brussels and Ghent. The excellent location makes it very easy to get around; a bike station just across the road and tram stations with 3-5 minute walks. Old town Antwerp is within 15 minute ride. Thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Thank-you Sander!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kewate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuesthouseLeman, Owner at B&B Guesthouse Leman, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

That's one of the advantages of our location. Although not in the historical hart of the city, it's easy to reach within 10/15 minutes by bike or public transportation. On the other hand what's the historical city center? Our neighbourhood is also from the late 19th century! As you mentioned other city's like Brussels, Ghent or Brugge are easy to reach by train or perfect by car! It was great having you over!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

What a lovely stay!

We were for two days in Antwerp with our two children (around 12 years). We were traveling through the heartlands of Europe and were staying in several B&B places (Brugge, Amsterdam, Antwerp, Metz).

This was clearly the best one! The four of us (2 adults and two children 12 and 14) were in the suite at the top floor. No problem space wise. In the morning we had a lovely breakfast and while we had a nice chat with Sander, the children were "chilling" (thats their favorite "occupation") in Sanders exquisitely designed garden.

We highly recommend this place to visitors of this interesting City!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank GREX42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuesthouseLeman, Eigenaar at B&B Guesthouse Leman, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Great to hear you prefered our place! The garden is a real bonus. I can imagin your children liked chilling in it. Can't blame them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

My husband, our 10 month-old son and I stayed at guesthouse Leman for 3 nights last May, and we are very glad we did. Our room (the Omani Suite) was very spacious and comfortable. Since we were traveling with a baby, we appreciated that the living room and the bedroom were separate, so we were able to do other things while our son was taking his nap. Since we had to climb 65 steps to get to our room, it was also very nice that we could leave our stroller downstairs by the door. And the Delhaize supermarket right across the street is definitely a bonus! The breakfast was delicious and plentiful. But most of all, our host, Sander, was marvelous. Very friendly and helpful (he carried our 50-pound luggage up the stairs), he gave us great advice on things to see and also on how to get around the city. The guesthouse is a bit far from the center, but it was no issue for us since it was so easy to reach by tram. If we ever go back to Antwerp, we will definitely come back to Guesthouse Leman, no doubt about it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElietOli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuesthouseLeman, Eigenaar at B&B Guesthouse Leman, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thanks you appriciate leaving the stroller downstairs. The hall is big enough and it wasn't in anybodys way. Hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed here for the Easter weekend with my husband. We had booked the smaller room but as there was no-one coming to the suite we got a free upgrade. The room was huge and very clean. The view from the bedroom room is very beautiful. The owner (Sander) was very kind and helpful. He was giving good advice regarding bikes and sightseeing. The breakfast was also very nice. It had all the good basics to make a good start for the day. (Bread, eggs, croissants, jam, butter, cheese, cold cuts, juice, coffee, yoghurt..)
The staircase to the rooms is quite steep so if you have problem with walking then this might not be the place for you.
The location is a little bit away from the city centre but you can get there super fast with the city bikes (Velo) or by tram. The neigbourhood seemed quiet and we could't here any noice from the street to the bedroom.

We have only good things to say about this place and would definately recommend this guesthouse!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanna-Maria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuesthouseLeman, Eigenaar at B&B Guesthouse Leman, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

You forgot to mention the tea, ham and hagelslag for breakfast, but maybe you didn't try them. Good to hear you had a nice stay. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

My wife and I spent 4 nights at Guesthouse Leman. Fortunately, for us, we were the only guests at that time and Sander (the owner) upgraded us to the Omani suite for the same price as our original booking (the Alpine Room). Many thanks for that Sander. Location is very good...an easy 2 min walk to the tram stop. Breakfast is more than adequate...granola, yogurt, meats and cheese, boiled egg, fresh fruit, fresh rolls and croissants, juice, coffee and tea. Sander spent time with us in the morning to give us advice regarding our plans for the day...how to go somewhere, what to be sure to see, etc., which is always a welcome touch for first time visitors. The suite was spacious and modern and, being on the top floor was very quite, even for being in a city. We actually slept with the bedroom window open on two nights. WIFI was available. Another HUGE plus is Sander will do laundry which is very welcome to those traveling for a few weeks.
Parking is on the street in a "catch as catch can" situation. Once you park your car keep it so...it only costs 3.50 Euro per day and Sander will go to get a new time ticket for you if you are in a time crunch. Also, expect to climb stairs...the suite is at the top of five flights, but worth it. Overall...we liked Guesthouse Leman and would go back ourselves.

Room Tip: Go for the Omani Suite. The value of the extra space and ability to "spread out" is very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig-Lois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuesthouseLeman, Owner at B&B Guesthouse Leman, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2013

Dear Lois and Craig, it was so nice having you as guests. Thanks for all the compliments. Also nice you spend one evening in our garden having your snacks and drinks. Always great to see guests feel like home! Hope to see you again someday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed for two nights. The rooms were lovely, as was the whole house. Our view was stunning, especially during night. We were overlooking a church from our bed, which was lit up inside in the evenings. A Tramstation was nearby. Breakfast was tasty and Sander was the perfect host and made us feel at home. We are planning on making another trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lafosse7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sander C, Owner at B&B Guesthouse Leman, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2013

Thanks for all the compliments. It was very nice having you in our B&B. Good to hear you will return. Maybe next time if the weather is nice you can have breakfast in our garden overlooking the same church. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.3 mi away
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
Ramada Plaza Antwerp
#12 of 73 in Antwerp
708 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
1.2 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#6 of 73 in Antwerp
826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#1 of 73 in Antwerp
134 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen
#13 of 73 in Antwerp
1,074 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Le Tissu
Hotel Le Tissu
#2 of 111 in Antwerp
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B&B Guesthouse Leman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Guesthouse Leman

Address: Generaal Lemanstraat 16, Antwerp 2600, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Antwerp
Price Range: £88 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — B&B Guesthouse Leman 3.5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B&B Guesthouse Leman is situated in a 19th century house and is only 10 minutes away from the historic city center of Antwerp (by tram). It’s conveniently situated to make trips to Brussels and other Belgium cities. We have two rooms - the Omani suite and the Alpine room. The suite is situated on the 4th floor. From the suite you’ll have a great view overlooking the garden and a church just behind it. The room is equipped with all modern comfort: an en suite lounge area with desk, TV and Wi-Fi, separate bedroom with attached bathroom. The Alpine room is situated on the 3rd floor at the back of the house. It has all the comfort, only a bit smaller than the suite. It also has its own bathroom. Breakfast will be served in our traditional dining room or on one of the terraces in our garden. You can park your car on the street, and public transport is close by (bus, tram, and train). There are various restaurants around as well as a nice park (Albert Park). Guesthouse Leman: a relaxing place in a bustling city to call home when away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your B&B Guesthouse Leman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing