We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Ardent

Ardent
Ranked #4 of 22 Dessert in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$32 - US$45
Cuisines: Belgian, European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
1 review
“Excellent Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

After beeing turnend down by some Restaurants which were fully booked we "endet" up in the Ardent. We were surprised by an exquisite kitchen and a competent service. The menue was great with plenty of surprising tasting experiences. The wine selected by the house went perfect with the dishes.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lukas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    27
    5
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
91 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Superb meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

My new favorite restaurant in Antwerp. The food is beautifully presented, thoughtfully paired, and reasonably priced for fine dining. It doesn't seem to fit that well in its environs, parked next to a playground with basketball courts, but if you want a more refined atmosphere, you can sit inside.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank PeglegEd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

Seasonal products were used (we like this very much) and the quality of the food was excellent. It was prepared with respect for the products and presented in a creative way. The accompanying wine went was choosen carefully for every dish and was sometimes surprising but want very well with the courses. Compliments for the chef and his team. We will be back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ACLMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Москва, Россия
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One of the best meals we had”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

The food was great although I don't remember what it was, quite frankly - but the class of the restaurant did show. We had lunch there and that's one place in Antwerp I would recommend for any meal any time of a day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bsl4500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Very disapointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2013

Expecting an excellent meal, after having read that the chef had worked in major top restaurants, we had dinner at Ardent. The interior is rather dull. The service is quite formal and a bit exaggerated in it's attitude. The first course was quite tasteless. Not impressive at all. The main course wasn't much better. My wife had an expensive fish (brill / griet in Dutch). It was overcooked and didn't have the refined flavor you expect from that fish. Dull again.
Quite an uninteresting experience that didn't live up to our expectations at all.
I need to add that the entire meal took very long. Probably this is due to the chef working alone in the kitchen. We were in excellent company of relatives we don't see often enough as they live abroad. But if you don't want to sit in a restaurant from 8.30 PM till past Midnight, for a disappointing 3 course meal, avoid this place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcDW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ardent also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Ardent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing