We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great dim sum and original Chinese food”
Review of Fong Mei

Fong Mei
Ranked #288 of 1,427 Restaurants in Antwerp
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
177 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“great dim sum and original Chinese food”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Enjoyed lunch here with the family. We had the menu of the chef (30€ per person).
It started with a large & original variety of dim sum, the house specialty (7 pieces each). Just delicious!
The main courses included duck, shrimps, pork chops, squid, bami and rice. All prepared in a special way. We we're able to eat all and asked for a doggy bag.
So if you like Chinese food and you're looking for a restaurant that surprises you with original preparations, this is the place.
Service was very good and friendly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hacrobaat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    50
    13
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level Contributor
298 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Good first experience - Will most certainly return!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

This place came recommended by one of my aunts so even though it didn't look very inviting from the street, went for it!
Decided on one of the Set Menu's...(since the menu is SO loooong and I wasn't in the mood to go through it all).

Wan Tan soup: very good!
Mixed Dim Sum Starter: 5 delicious dim sums
Main: prawns with cashews & veal in... some sauce I cant remember the name of.

Next time I'll stick to just soup and more types of dim sum - they have like 25 different ones to choose from.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gwen_BE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels Belgium
Level Contributor
126 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good Chinese”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

In my experience there aren't many good Chinese r,restaurants in Belgium but this is one of them.

We took the dim sum starter to begin which was five different dim sum. All were nice, maybe a couple were a little greasy but still enjoyable.

We then had very nice Peking duck followed by Kung Po prawns which was properly spicy.

The only negative aspect of the restaurant was the almost total lack of atmosphere but we will return to try other dishes.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels
Level Contributor
202 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Seriously overrated”
Reviewed 22 December 2013

"The Gault Millau people didn't have their best day when they came here" - that´s what my friend said when we left Fong Mei after he took me there a second time.
Can you have bad luck in a restaurant twice in a row? Maybe. I love dim sum and will eat it wherever I can, but this place is definitely not the best place to eat it. The first time we went there, we took the surprise dim sum menu. Can´t say it was bad. It was ok, but in no way refined or surprising. The second time we took a basic dim sum menu, and it was just plain. I´m not exaggerating when I say that the frozen ready made dim sum I sometimes buy in the Delhaize supermarket chain is better.
Many things can be said about the service here and many reviewers have done so. The first time, we had to wait a long time. The second time, we got the wrong menu at first - though it was corrected right away. My friend then told me a hilarious story about the very first time he came here with his girlfriend (she now refuses to come back here) - she took a specific menu because it included a dish of frog legs. After a long wait, the table next to them who ordered the surprise menu got a dish of frog legs. My friends´ dish never came. You guess what happened. What you won´t guess is what happened next: they tried to make the other table pay for the frog legs, claiming they ate it without saying they didn´t order it. Order it? When you take the surprise menu?
The restaurant in itself looks very unattractive, even for a Chinese restaurant, and so do the dishes - don´t be fooled by the pictures on the website.
Maybe I had bad luck twice in a row. The other explanation is that this is a Chinese emperor with no clothes. Gault Millau says it´s great, so it has to be great. It isn´t.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ClemRobyns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
israel
Level Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Best Chinese in Antwerp”
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Good food with a huge choice, not fancy but pleasantly decorated. I will be much more adventurous with my choices when I return.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank mimsie27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fong Mei also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Fong Mei? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing