We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice location for Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Duke Of Antwerp

Duke Of Antwerp
Ranked #186 of 1,408 Restaurants in Antwerp
Price range: US$8 - US$40
Cuisines: Belgian, Bar, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Business meetings, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: In this gastro-pub, decorated in a British style, the gigantic colourful skylight, the tiffany lamps and the hand out cut mirrors immediately draw your attention. First quality is considered of primary importance: homemade bread and biscuits, exquisite chesses from cheeste master Van Tricht... From a typical English breakfast and an afternoon high tea to all kinds of snacks to satisfy your hunger pangs or a fine Flemisch and International kitchen by our Flemisch chef and his International crew.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
1,653 reviews
795 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 425 helpful votes
“Nice location for Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

Spent some time in Antwerp for shopping & site seeing with family and came across this nice restaurant, just outside the train station. We enjoyed a few beverages on the outside patio in April. Good service from the staff & the inside seating is very unique & European.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sashakeena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    110
    48
    23
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herent, Belgium
Level Contributor
109 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Lovely place to sit, friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

We went and sat on the terrace for a drink and some dessert on a sunny evening. The staff were very friendly and attentive.
The desserts we had were delicious and the terrace is a nice place to sit - good for people watching.
Would definitely return here again - also for dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gg-kfirina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luton, Bedfordshire
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

This establishment is owned -I believe- by a British-friendly group who also own the 2 properties next door, Bier Central and Kelly's Irish Pub. Don't like Guiness or fake Oirishness, but went to Beir Central twice, mid-afternoon. Good selection, reasonable prices of Belgian beers, might get very crowded in colder evenings. But the Duke was just what we wanted. During the day the hot weather meant everyone was outside, and it was always quite busy. Inside it was comfortable and cool. The beer range was good, with, on draught, a Real Ale (honestly, not bad at all, at least as good as Greene King) a Kriek, better than most of the bottled stuff, and OK pils, a Pale Ale that I enjoyed, and others. We tried the food the second night of our three after seeing a starter going out. it was so good we went back the next night. It isn't cheap- I doubt if any of the eateries on the Keyserlei strip are- but the quality was good, the portions plentiful and the cooking slightly different. I had a ray wing which was one of the best I have ever had- and it is one of my favourite fish- and a steak very well cooked and of a good quality. My wife praised her chicken, and felt the quality all round was as good as many recommended restaurants in Britain. We would certainly go back there if we visit Antwerp again

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wat4der
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quepem, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance but expensive”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

Interiors are awesome.
Unfortunately, I didn't have a good experience- the staff was very unresponsive. The menu card was given very late after our taking of table and then we were told that kitchen is closed.
The rates are are on higher side. Not recommended esp if you are on budget.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kentech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent food & friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2013 via mobile

Nipped in for a couple of drinks and the food looked so good we decided to eat. We were not disappointed.
We had T-bone steak cooked to perfection with a superb bottle of Malbec. Prices are not cheap but worth every cent!
Staff were friendly, fun, and made us feel very welcome.
A meal to remember for a very long time!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Colex_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Duke Of Antwerp also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Duke Of Antwerp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing