We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home from home”
Review of Hotel Julien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Julien
Ranked #8 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Amiens, France
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Home from home”
Reviewed 21 April 2011

I hate to be unable to offer anything new, but I can't. This hotel is wonderful, an experience to be enjoyed. Gentle oasis in the busy city and staff who really made us feel at home. Breakfast was very fine, too. Save up and go! A delight!

Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank emrystravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    109
    37
    7
    5
See reviews for
32
205
16
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 March 2011

I stayed 1 night at Hotel Julien. After visiting Axel Vervoordt's Kanaal site, the most impressive home deco - arts - antiques show rooms I've ever seen, it was difficult to find a hotel that would match that experience. Julien did. It's what you see on the website's pictures but it feels even better when you're there.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone who likes contemporary Belgian style and attention to detail. I advise against staying here if you have problems walking up stairs. Our room was at the top floor, 3 stairs, no lift, we had been warned when I called to make the reservation. They do not offer to bring up your bags. This surprised me, the rest of our stay including service when we needed help with restaurant bookings, taxi's etc was superb. If you plan to book this hotel, call them and ask about your room. The rates are the same as the online offers.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

This hotel is a great find. The internal decor is cool, calming and delightful. Our room was a generous size and extremely comfortable. Best of all the staff were incredibly charming and went out of their way to be helpful at every opportunity. My wife and I loved staying there and would strongly recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, Holland
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2011

All you can read in the reviews is true, this hotel is simply super! We have stayed in the most expensive room, but the bath and seperate shower alone made the price worthwhile. Very friendly staff, very relaxed atmosphere and good location. The combination is architecture of the old buildings with the nice design details are fabulous.
We loved it!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rene v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

An extremely pleasant surprise. Not cheap but a special place. Incredible common area space. The hotel is well located in the city although the street it is on is a bit drab. We stayed in the new wing just after it had opened. Room was very large and well appointed but smelled like fresh paint. Would love to try a room in the old wing next time. Overall, would definitely stay here again although, given the price, would be nice if wi-fi was included.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chmsem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kitzbuhel, Austria
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2011

As we pushed the door to this beautifully renovated historic building, we walked into a bright haven of tranquility right in the middle of the center of the city. We were welcomed by smiling staff members who showed us around the hotel and also recommended some interesting cultural and dining spots in Antwerp.
We absolutely loved the lounge room and adjacent bar which were skilfully furnished with designer pieces and nice photography on the walls.
Our room which was located on the top floor showed the original roof beams and the immaculately clean bathroom just looked amazing. The icing on the cake though, was the large private roof terrace with view of the cathedral. We felt so at home thanks to personal touches added by the owners, that we almost forgot we were staying in a hotel.
Make sure to make your way down to the basement and try out the sauna and hammam! This is one of the nicest little spa areas we've ever seen. And as it was so cold in Antwerp at the time, treating ourselves at the spa and having a drink in the bar afterwards were all we needed after a big day in the city.
Thank you to Sebastien and all the other professional staff members for making our stay in Antwerp a getaway we won't easily forget!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank severinedm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 January 2011

The hotel is exclusive, private and cozy, you can choose it whether if you go in antwerp for business purpose or a romantic trip.
Clean,staff very friendly and helpful.
I really enjoyed going to the Spa.You have a choice of Sauna,steam room,cold waterfall,in nice cozy atmosphere.
I have no doubt that you would like the hotel!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poppovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Witte Lelie Antwerp
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.7 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#4 of 72 in Antwerp
110 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien

Property: Hotel Julien
Address: Korte Nieuwstraat 24, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#3 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#5 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Julien 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Julien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing