We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect city hotel”
Review of Hotel Julien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Julien
Ranked #8 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“The perfect city hotel”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We loved everything about this property. The room was spacious and immaculate. There are quite a few amenities - the bathroom even had a heated floor. But the best thing is the ambiance of the whole place. It's an old building but the interior has been renovated in a very clean, modern way, preserving many details such as antique moldings and staircases. Anyone into mid-century design will like the decor. Service was fantastic. We left something in our room and they had it sent to us in Brussels by taxi. We paid the taxi fair but it was reasonable and they made it happen immediately. Very impressive. I wouldn't consider any other option if I returned to Antwerp again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LAMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

381 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    109
    37
    7
    5
See reviews for
32
205
16
67
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We just spent four nights at the Hotel Julian in Antwerp and were impressed with the level of service (superb), the beautiful room (we loved room 10), the rooftop terrace, the great location (minutes from stores, cafes, restaurants, shopping, etc.) The breakfast was lovely, and as with everything in the hotel, the service and attention to detail was amazing. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kobe, Japan
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2012

The Julien is exactly what a boutique Hotwl is supposed to be/ well located, xcellent but discreet service, brilliant design without show off, comfortable and friendly. The rooms are great (ask for the 11 below the roof, gorgeous) the common rooms like the bar very design and still nice and cosy. Bravo, a great success. best Hotel in Antwerp so far.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FloranH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Hotel Julien is gorgeous, just like everything else in Antwerp. The city is like one giant pinterest board. Hotel Julien is in a great location, tucked into a little back street with plenty of cute little stores nearby and only a minutes walk away from the main shopping areas.

The design of the entire hotel is fantastic. Just the right amount of quirkiness. The room I was in was spacious, comfortable and very clean. They provide you with Malin and Goetz toiletries as well, which was a lovely touch. Breakfast is simple, but sufficient and good.

The stairs is the main form of access though, the alternative being a tiny lift which doesn't go up to the top floors. So if you're carrying alot of baggage, it would be best to request for a low floor with lift access.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank powergrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The hotel is excellent, with a very well executed mix of modern design and art in a historic setting. You enter another realm upon accessing the hotel. The atmosphere is cosmopolitan and welcoming. Location is very good, right in the city centre and also easily accessible by car (there are public parkings nearby).

But what truly makes a difference is the fantastic service and all the smart (design) details:
- friendly and motivated staff providing personalized service. Thank you Marc for the all too familiar stories.
- delicious breakfast, with fresh and organic products.
- free wi-fi throughout the hotel, with a good connection speed.
- a very relaxing private Spa in the cellar with excellent products.

We definitely recommend staying in Antwerp and at this hotel and can't wait to get back.

Room Tip: Have diner at the excellent, very nearby, restaurant Godevaart. Please be advised to make a reservat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martijn Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

In the center of Antwerp, almost next to the cathedral lies this haven of calmness. We had a wonderful stay, due to the stress-free lounge, the lovely room, the all-inclusive breakfast and the overall relaxed atmosphere. OK, this is not your typical budget hotel but a lovely way to pamper your self when in Antwerp.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank White-House-Algarve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We Stayed in lots of places over three weeks but this had the most comfortable bed by far! Nice hotel and excellent breakfast, although the breakfast waiters service was a bit erratic. Staff were very helpful. Love the noon checkout we had time for a walk after breakfast. It was worth the price tag.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosie-Fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Witte Lelie Antwerp
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
0.7 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#2 of 72 in Antwerp
110 reviews
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien

Property: Hotel Julien
Address: Korte Nieuwstraat 24, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#3 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#5 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Julien 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Julien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing