We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Julien
Nearby Hotels
US$123
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$158
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$172
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$100
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$94
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$86
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Astoria Hotel Antwerp(Antwerp)(Great Value!)
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$84
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen(Antwerp)(Great Value!)
US$107
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$143
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$129
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveller rating
240
117
39
9
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
117
39
9
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdreamer roomold towncentral courtyardnice boutique hotelcommon areasrooftop terraceprivate spatop floorgreat tasteincluded in the room ratelovely roomcroissantscentral antwerpshopping areaexcellent breakfasthotel is situatedjules
Filter
Updating list...
170 - 175 of 410 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2012 via mobile

A great city and making the hotel reservation went very well with good service aligning to the website and rate you pay for the room. The hotel is nice but for this price I expect 5* facilities which is not the case. The room was pretty small and did have 2 beds as requested but these were very small, the shower had no hand held shower, the elevator did not work well, the computer as promoted did not work and they are understaffed so constantly waiting for someone at reception or for instance for table and plates, food for breakfast. As said nice place but the price you pay is too high for what you get in my opinion.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LisetteH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We arrived in Antwerp after staying in the fabulous Sofitel louise in Brussels for a week. We were not sure if the hotel would live up to the excellent standards we had seen at Sofitel, but it more than met our expectations.

We found the hotel with no problems - it is literally 25 minutes walk from the station down the main shopping street, then a couple of simple turns. It is an easy walk through nice and fairly modern streets.

The reception area is pleasant and we were greeted warmly, despite it being mid-morning. They apologised that our room was not ready, not a surprise or problem given we were so early, and told we could leave our luggage. We left our coats too as it was a warm day.

The receptionist gave us a map of Antwerp and gave us some ideas where to go. We headed off after being told our room would be ready at 3.

We turned left out of the hotel away from the direction we had approached. We found ourselves in the beautiful old town. The hotel is located where the old town meets the modern shopping streets - a great location.

There are a great number of bars and restaurants within 5 minutes walk. The old market square and cathedral are also very close by, within a few minutes walk.

Everywhere in Antwerp is walk able from the hotel, the photography museum is around 35 mins and the MAS is around 20 mins.

When we returned to the hotel we were shown around the ground floor of the hotel, where the bar, lounge, terrace and breakfast rooms are. We were then given directions to our room and were left by the lift.

When we got to our room we found our luggage waiting and our coats hung up in the wardrobe.

The room was huge and had private balcony. It also had a large bathroom, separated from the bedroom by a folding screen and a separate room with a toilet and shower.

There were lovely Ren toiletries and a well stocked tea, coffee, mini bar area.

You could see the cathedral from the balcony and through the large patio doors.

The room had great air con which stopped it getting stuffy.

The bed was large and very comfy with fluffy pillows. There was Also coffee table and large sofa.

We were at the back of the hotel so did not experience any street noise. The room is under the hotels roof terrace so this may cause some noise but we did not notice any.

The bar and lounge areas are very cosy. If you want anything you may have to seek someone out to ask - usually in reception, the next room, or walking about. There isn't always someone behind the bar and they don't pursue you to buy a drink. They would be quite happy for you just to enjoy the lounge.

There is a small amount of food offered in the bar. We had a cheese platter one night which was lovely.

There is a good selection of beers, wines and cocktails. As well as soft and hot drinks. They have a great range of different teas too either in the bar or at breakfast.

The breakfast is a combination of cold buffet with breads, pastries, fruit, yogurt, cereals, cheeses and meats, and hot items on request. We were spoken to as soon as we entered the breakfast room and offered tea or coffee straight away. In fact after the first day they remembered what we had and offered that.

All the staff we encountered here were friendly and polite. Whenever we asked for anything they stopped what they were doing to oblige.

Check out was quick and efficient.

There is also free wifi here although it was somethimes a little slow.

We had a great stay here and thought it was great value for money. We stayed in room 28.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank MrsACJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We loved everything about this property. The room was spacious and immaculate. There are quite a few amenities - the bathroom even had a heated floor. But the best thing is the ambiance of the whole place. It's an old building but the interior has been renovated in a very clean, modern way, preserving many details such as antique moldings and staircases. Anyone into mid-century design will like the decor. Service was fantastic. We left something in our room and they had it sent to us in Brussels by taxi. We paid the taxi fair but it was reasonable and they made it happen immediately. Very impressive. I wouldn't consider any other option if I returned to Antwerp again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stanley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We just spent four nights at the Hotel Julian in Antwerp and were impressed with the level of service (superb), the beautiful room (we loved room 10), the rooftop terrace, the great location (minutes from stores, cafes, restaurants, shopping, etc.) The breakfast was lovely, and as with everything in the hotel, the service and attention to detail was amazing. I highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nanette S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

The Julien is exactly what a boutique Hotwl is supposed to be/ well located, xcellent but discreet service, brilliant design without show off, comfortable and friendly. The rooms are great (ask for the 11 below the roof, gorgeous) the common rooms like the bar very design and still nice and cosy. Bravo, a great success. best Hotel in Antwerp so far.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FloranH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews