We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“small but beautiful”
Review of Hotel Julien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Julien
Ranked #8 of 73 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 October 2008

I like small hotels, this is just a really nice one. In the middle of the centre, personall service what else do you need? Rooms are big and clean. A small breakfast room with a la carte breakfast. Nice reception area. Nothing more to say, you have to experience yourself! When you go to Antwerp, please book this hotel!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank lucielexo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

227 - 233 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2008

This is exactly what a boutique hotel should be. Individual, relaxed and charming. It also scores very highly on the two most important factors - the bed (which is very comfortable with crisp linen) and the breakfast (which is delicious and served in a stunning room). I really recommend the place.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank JT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2008

There is some debate in our house over this hotel. I enjoyed it very much and rate it 4 (noisey couple upstairs had a domestic at 4 in the morning), my wife sayes it is perfect and should be a 5. The hotel is two town houses that have been combined around a central courtyard. It is all stripped beams, floorboards and beutiful deccor. The staff were very friendly, the bedrooms large and very well appointed with powershowers and designer soaps. Breakfast was served to you and was all very good quality.
This hotel is perfectly located just off the main square with the old city attrations within a few minutes walk and most other key attractions within 10-15 minutes walking distance. We booked the fashion package which was great. The Docks restaurant is very good with excelent fish and meat dishes. My wife is Vegitarian and it looked a bit meaty like most Belgium restaurants but they had several dishes that were veggie or could adapt others. Prebooking this for our arrival meant we got a good table and had no concerns about where to eat the first night before we had orientated. The walking tours and tickets to MoMu encouraged us to go places we wouldn't normally it was great and then we drank our Carva in the courtyard the second evening - had a great time. Don't know why more English people don't go to Antwerp it is lovely. Nicer than Brussels, more to do than Brugges yet almost as much glorious architecture. Great weekend in Antwerp, lovely hotel really enjoyed ourselves.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank yogachef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2008

The JULIEN is a small and fantasticly beautiful hotel. an excellent team upholds this jewel of a place that some may refer to as a boutique hotel yet, in my opinion, this is simply reductive. The decor is sober and sublime, great beds, fantastic decor and a staff that will go to any lengths to accomodate. As with all small hotels some rooms are more spectacular than others. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.... only thing....smokers beware...a definitive "no smoking" rule is strictly applied to all areas within the hotel...all rooms included.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank aTRIPinTIME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2007

If you are into design rather than a good night sleep, this is your kind of place.

We were given a room on the street side for our honeymoon at 190€ a night and were woken every half hour as the hotel is in a very lively area (bars etc.) This means that you get drunk people shouting at each other and cars honking in the middle of the night. On top of that you get constant traffic and a regular streetcar line in the street.

If you ever book a room make very sure that you get a room on the courtyard side of the building!

At the reception desk and at breakfast staff was kind but not really efficient as the could not provide us with another room when we discovered we had one on the street side (this was 24 hours before arrival) and ignored us for half an hour at breakfast while preparing breakfastplates to store in the fridge. On top of things we kind of expected freshly baked pastry and not badly warmed prebaked croissants.

  • Stayed: May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Peter_Isa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2007

Having read the previous reviews we were tempted to try this hotel. We stayed in room 11 which is right at the top of the hotel in the atic. Indeed the whole of the attic was our room, with views to the cathedral and across the rooftops and roof gardens.

The room was long and narrow with beams criss-crossing the high ceiling.The bathroom was at one end and a marble bath and twin washbasins led directly onto the main room. The bed wasat the other end with dressing room, chairs, wardrobes in between.
I would unreservedly recommend this lovely little hotel, we simply found no fault but would suggest that if you want this room you need to be fit enough to tackle the stairs!!

  • Stayed: March 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DillySouthofEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2006

A small boutigue hotel that is both smart and chic, low key, yet warm and hospitable. The staff are friendly, efficient and very helpful. Rooms and facilities are stylish but without being clinical or imposing. Well located in the old town for shopping and sightseeing. I can't wait to return to Antwerp and naturally to the Julien, my first choice.

  • Stayed: September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank FashionPolice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Witte Lelie Antwerp
0.1 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.7 mi away
Hotel Indigo Antwerp - City Centre
0.3 mi away
Hotel 't Sandt
Hotel 't Sandt
#14 of 73 in Antwerp
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien

Address: Korte Nieuwstraat 24, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#3 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#5 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range: £155 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Julien 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Julien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing