We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great City Trip Hotel”
Review of Hotel Julien

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Julien
Ranked #8 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great City Trip Hotel”
Reviewed 6 February 2010

This place is great for a city trip. Nice rooms, helpfull staff, relaxed atmosphere, located perfectly nearby musea, shops, restaurants and bars. I'll definately be back!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank silleke79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    108
    37
    7
    5
See reviews for
30
204
16
66
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
143 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2010

Hotel Julien is simply wonderful.
A beautiful property, feels like home. It was amazing to come back from -5C and the snow and warm up by the fire in the living room.
I also had a wonderful tomato soup from the kitchen one night, served on the beautiful refectory table.
Cooked breakfast was wonderful!!! Amazing, and included in the room rate.

Very few rooms, so the common areas were always empty. Fantastic!!!
Room was small but well designed, everything very nice.
Nothing is garish in this hotel. Beautifully understated.
Service is informal yet attentive (receptionist does everything apart from breakfast). Almost like a butler. I liked it that way.
Really felt at home.

Walked everywhere. Under the snow. A wonderful city!
Lots of good and cool restaurants.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lapis-philosophorum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2009

We stayed here for one night in an Executive room. The location was fantastic - close to the beautiful cathedral and old town, with a tram stop right outside of the hotel. The room was minimalist in a trendy way, but very comfortable and quiet. The internet didn't work in our room but since we were only there for one night, we didn't mind too much. Breakfast was included in the rate and was delicious - best croissants we've had outside of Paris. The staff was attentive but low key. This was the most expensive hotel of our trip but was a delightful splurge.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MoreTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, MN
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2009

The Hotel Julian is a great hotel located in the heart of Antwerp. It is in close proximity to shopping, restaurants and cultural sights. The rooms are light-filled and spacious with unique details like vaulted ceilings and antiques. Breakfast is included in the room rate and is cooked to order.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susanapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2009

The service was excellent - given the boutique nature of the hotel, rarely rushed or hurried and able to provide recommendations for the city. The room was large, clean and furnished in a minimal style with natural materials - was able to relax and enjoy my stay in Antwerp.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lmd385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tidewater Virginia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2009

We loved Antwerp and the perfect hotel was the Hotel Julien. Great location near the center of the city...and what a beautiful city it is. Our room with a view included a small bedroom with a comfortable chair and very nice bath, shower and w/c on one side and sinks and soaking tub on the other side of the closet area. The small terrace (and I do mean small) was charming with picture perfect views of the Cathedral and deco tower. The weather was beautiful in May so we could sit outside and enjoy wine and the view after a day of touring (three days in Antwerp is not enough...we would have liked one more day). The lounge was always quiet with a very nice breakfast in the morning and the availability of drinks in the afternoon. Probably the only negative was the mini bar did not cool properly. Oh well, we just got drinks or wine from the downstairs bar. A great city and a wonderful hotel. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eastcoastvoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

My girlfriend and I have stayed at this hotel twice (it's our getaway spot when it gets too busy) and both times we've thorougly enjoyed the light rooms with coarse natural wood finishes. It's perfectly located behind the cathedral and remarkably quiet amidst the bustle of the town centre. I'd heartily recommend it to anyone looking for a place to relax and find some quality time.

-Joris K.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yohriz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.2 mi away
Hotel De Witte Lelie Antwerp
0.7 mi away
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
Leopold Hotel Antwerp
#6 of 72 in Antwerp
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Astrid Hotel, Antwerp
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
0.9 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Julien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Julien

Property: Hotel Julien
Address: Korte Nieuwstraat 24, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Antwerp
#3 Business Hotel in Antwerp
#5 Luxury Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Julien 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Julien reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Julien Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing