We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and convenient”
Review of Hotel Matelote

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Matelote
Ranked #24 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Friendly and convenient”
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed for one night and found the location to be perfect for a quick visit to Antwerp. The staff was all very helpful (insisted on carrying our bags up the narrow stairs for us, gave us good directions to sites, etc.). A complimentary glass of champagne on our arrival was a nice touch, as were the complimentary water bottles in the room. The public spaces on the main floor were modern, handsome, and well-maintained. As for our room, it was furnished in a spare and contemporary style. We noticed that the furniture and the wall paint, floor, bathroom finishes, etc., looked worn and chipped and could use a touch up. Apparently there is some construction taking place in the hotel, so perhaps those issues are being addressed, but we did also notice the construction dust during our stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Umfalotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

308 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    110
    57
    22
    0
See reviews for
17
167
24
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night (in room n°4). The interior looks surprisingly stylish and modern, considering the street where the hotel is situated. Nice entrance! Our room had a good bed and fine interior. It didn't seem too clean to me though, and the shower was a bit hard to set in the right temperature and position. Breakfast was basic and tasty. Especially the freshly made fruit salad is highly recommendable. And last but certainly not least, the staff: very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asfintesco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vadodara
Level Contributor
67 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

I have stayed in this beautiful hotel during my last stay in Antwerp . My friend had booked this which has only 10 rooms and all are different . They have all the modern facilities but only minus point is that they dont have any lift hence you have to carry your luggage by yourself. But there are lot of positive pts like you are in the centre of Antwerp . You can walk around , visit nice bars which are open till midnight , good restaurant and ofcourse nice place for shopping. They have nice limited breakfast.

Room Tip: If you want quiet sleep ask for a room which is not on the street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nishant77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds,
Level Contributor
98 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Having read all the review of this hotel, I really did expect it to be exceptional. However having stayed there for 2 nights I can only describe it as average. The room we stayed in whilst described as 'cosy comfort' was very small with the toilet and shower/sink located separately behind sliding doors. At first I thought these were the wardrobe especially since the sliding door to the toilet was approx 3ft from the side of the bed. The room was clean with all amenities including a fridge located in the wardrobe!!
The location was ideal very close to the Grote Market and it was about a 30 minute pleasant stroll from the central train station in Antwerp. If I visited Antwerp again then I would probably chose somewhere else, mainly due to the small size of the room and poor toilet/shower location which also did not mask any noise due to the non lockable sliding door.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Disneysg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

This hotel is located just off the main square and is a minutes walk from the underground stop (if you need it, we walked everywhere because it's all so close). The people who work there are really professional and very pleasant. The hotel itself is spotlessly clean and the room we stayed in was lovely although a bit on the small side but who cares about that! So, I would highly recommend this hotel - for the location (perfect), rooms (lovely), and probably most of all the staff.

Room Tip: The room we stayed in only had access by a spiral staircase. I'd check first if you have mobilit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fanjarno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILKLEY
Level Contributor
130 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Wonderfully central, small, personal hotel. On arrival we were upgraded to top room & the cases were carried up for us followed by a welcome drink.
The staff were excellent, the room comprehensively appointed, the breakfast satisfactory.
As it's on a traffic free zone you need to park in nearby car park & walk to the hotel.
If you know that it works. If not be careful. The building is old & narrow (very beautiful) so you may need help with the cases. In our experience just ask.
A very nice experience in beautiful medieval Antwerp!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Albert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cotswolds
Level Contributor
75 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here twice during the last month, location is perfect for the city centre with its old buildings, bars and restaurants.
The building itself is an intriguing blend of old and new, very steep stairs up to the first floor that would be tricky if too many Belgian beers had been drunk!
The rooms I've stayed in are very spacious and I would guess when they were newly refurbished would have been stunning, unfortunately they don't seem to have been freshened up since. The floors which were a lino style covering had scuff marks where black soled shoes had scuffed them and the paint on the walls were scuffed by backs being dragged against them. The bathrooms both had discolouration of the grout from age. The tv was wired to a digi box with cables trailing down the wall, just a little it shoddy.
Breakfast was nice, the usual cold meats, cheeses, fruit, cereals, pastries and bread along with a boiled egg boiler that I hadn't seen before.
Notwithstanding my comments above the rooms were very clean and beds very comfortable, I will stay again as I love the location and feel of the place, I just feel they could make the place perfect with some minor redecoration.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank glostaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel O  Kathedral
Hotel O Kathedral
#23 of 72 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 't Sandt
Hotel 't Sandt
#15 of 72 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Nuits
Hotel Les Nuits
#25 of 72 in Antwerp
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
0.2 mi away
Hotel Julien
Hotel Julien
#7 of 72 in Antwerp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banks Hotel
Banks Hotel
#29 of 72 in Antwerp
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matelote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matelote

Property: Hotel Matelote
Address: Haarstraat 11A, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matelote 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the peaceful Haarstraat this unique hotel has the best location in Antwerp only some footsteps away from - the famous Grand Place with its stunning town hall - the Antwerp Cathedral - the River Scheldt, ... Right in the very middle of the heart of downtown Antwerp, home of Fashion, home of Diamonds, home of Culture, Port of Antwerp City by the water A short walk to the Grand Place, the Fashion Museum, the Rubens House, the MAS, ... . Only 500 meters from the Central Station, 6 km from Antwerp Airport Please take into account we have no elevator in this historical building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Hotel Matelote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matelote Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing