We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our one night stay in Antwerp.”
Review of Hotel Matelote

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Matelote
Ranked #20 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Keerbergen, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Our one night stay in Antwerp.”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had won a voucher for a 1 night stay and we’ve been upgraded to a junior suite. So we were not paying customers and maybe we can judge correctly. 2 points for improvement, first off all the stone floor in the bathroom is not very clean and difficult for maintenance aldo it’s very nice. And secondly the stairs are not very conformable carrying a bigger luggage when you stay for more than one night or travelling around. But the beds are very good, no disturbing noices staff is very friendly and knows what to see and do in the city. Breakfast is excellent and can be taken outside if the weather aloud.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jan3140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    116
    59
    22
    0
See reviews for
18
170
25
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
Level 6 Contributor
1,097 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 287 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

A small street. Two half block turns from Grote Markt. We have walked to four museums on our first day! The fridge is full of free water etc. tea and coffee are nonstop in the lobby. There is a courtyard and I am using wifi on the room's terrace presently. Gorgeous white room with couch. Just one flight of stairs. Bathroom is immense with every amenity. Good value, too. Very happy with our choice.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank nycmom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We recently stayed at Hotel Matelote for one night as part of a mini break in Belgium. The hotel was in a great location, in the centre and close to everything we wanted to see.
The room was great: spacious and bright, comfy bed and modern decor. The bathroom was really good, with a lovely big bath and powerful hot shower...perfect after hours of walking around the city. The complimentary soft drinks and coffee were much welcomed.
Breakfast was a perfect start to the day! Fresh continental meats and cheeses, bread and pastries.
The staff were extremely helpful and polite, and had good knowledge of the area.
Thanks for a brilliant stay. We'd definitely stay again in the future!

Room Tip: The top floor room was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danny_and_Kath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wroclaw, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

We have been travelling in Belgium and Antwerp was our last stop. Hotel Matelote turned out as a total disappointment. First what we noticed was that smell of old food, disgusting. The other thing - there's no elevator and staircase is very steep with radiculously narrow steps so it's impossible to place whole foot on it. Dragging big suitcase upstairs was dangerous if not only uncomfortable. The room that we've got (no. 4, second floor) was quite big, but worn and dirty. Same with the bathroom with plugged basin. Paint chipped out on the furniture, bubbles of dampness on the wall... I understand that they can't repaint the walls and furniture very often but cleaning up the tiles in bathroom should be done on a daily basis.The impression wasn't thrilling. But the night was worst of everything: the noise - first from outside the building and in the deep night from the staircase! We could hear every single word of our neighbours coming back to their rooms and every single step they have been making there. Awful, sleepless night. We would never come back here.

Room Tip: Don't take any room in this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank B0_S0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a week end in spring and the hotel is conveniently located in the centre.

The staff is nice and very helpful and the room nice, clean and with a good bed.

Also, right next door is Invincible, an excellent restaurant for both lunch and dinner.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karius1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This hotel is in a great location, its a quiet street very close to the center square. The staff at the hotel are extremely helpful and always pleasant. They try to help you with anything. We had the top floor room which was very large with a view of the city. The only problem is the lack of elevator, it is fine for walking up and down during your stay, but with suitcases it is a challenge. Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
1,595 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 359 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Excellent location as its right in the centre of the old town. We had two of the smaller rooms but they were fine overall. Very clean and staff very helpful. Not perfect but any problems were rectified soon. Well recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
0.1 mi away
Hotel O  Kathedral
Hotel O Kathedral
#25 of 72 in Antwerp
280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel 't Sandt
Hotel 't Sandt
#15 of 72 in Antwerp
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Nuits
Hotel Les Nuits
#24 of 72 in Antwerp
165 reviews
0.2 mi away
Banks Hotel
Banks Hotel
#35 of 72 in Antwerp
429 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Julien
Hotel Julien
#8 of 72 in Antwerp
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matelote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matelote

Property: Hotel Matelote
Address: Haarstraat 11A, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matelote 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the peaceful Haarstraat this unique hotel has the best location in Antwerp only some footsteps away from - the famous Grand Place with its stunning town hall - the Antwerp Cathedral - the River Scheldt, ... Right in the very middle of the heart of downtown Antwerp, home of Fashion, home of Diamonds, home of Culture, Port of Antwerp City by the water A short walk to the Grand Place, the Fashion Museum, the Rubens House, the MAS, ... . Only 500 meters from the Central Station, 6 km from Antwerp Airport Please take into account we have no elevator in this historical building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Matelote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matelote Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing