We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Matelote
Nearby Hotels
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$131
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$105
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$157
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$110
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$82
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Astoria Hotel Antwerp(Antwerp)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Crowne Plaza Antwerpen(Antwerp)(Great Value!)
US$112
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$105
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$186
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$162
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (362)
Filter reviews
362 results
Traveller rating
143
129
67
23
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
143
129
67
23
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsno liftquiet side streetgrote marktcarry your luggagespiral staircasewelcome drinkold buildingegg boilerexcellent locationloved this hotelsmall hotelbreakfast areaa great place to stayflights of stairscentral squaremy colleaguefree upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
90 - 95 of 362 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Friendly staff, good welcome upon arrival. Well located in the centre of town. Our room was clean, modern and well equipped for a hotel in this price class. I think that, based on comments about the rooms being a bit in need of renovation, the rooms must have been renovated since then. Breakfast was good, with a reasonable spread and against a reasonable price. We were a group of 7 friends and we felt very welcome and at ease in this hotel.
Only downside to this hotel if you're travelling by car: no hotel parking.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the higfher class room; it's worth the extra.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PeterdeV2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This hotel is built within a converted 16th Century property and mixes some old touches with wooden beams, with modern comtemporary design. There is only (I think) 7 bedrooms in the property. One word of warning, the stairs up to the 1st and 2nd floor, are presumably original and very narrow, so not for anyone with diffficulty to climb stairs. The other point to mention is that having so few rooms, you often feel like the only person in the building, breakfast is a very quiet affair and after around 10pm, the reception is no longer manned and therefore presumably there is nobody on site. To some this may be the unique selling point and charm but it may not suit everyone.

On this trip I was given the junior suite, on the top floor, a very large room, with plenty of daylight overlooking nearby rooftops. This was known as the "disco" room as in the centre of the ceiling is a large glitter ball, which you can have illuminated throughout the night.

Although furbished to a high standard, it needs just a little attention here and there - the shower door, doesn't shut tight, so you walk out onto a puddle, but these minor things are not a reason to avoid the hotel. The location is superb a minutes walk from the main square in the city beside the cathedral with plenty of restaurants and bars and access to the River Schelde, a few seconds in the other direction.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikelondon08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We had won a voucher for a 1 night stay and we’ve been upgraded to a junior suite. So we were not paying customers and maybe we can judge correctly. 2 points for improvement, first off all the stone floor in the bathroom is not very clean and difficult for maintenance aldo it’s very nice. And secondly the stairs are not very conformable carrying a bigger luggage when you stay for more than one night or travelling around. But the beds are very good, no disturbing noices staff is very friendly and knows what to see and do in the city. Breakfast is excellent and can be taken outside if the weather aloud.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan3140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

A small street. Two half block turns from Grote Markt. We have walked to four museums on our first day! The fridge is full of free water etc. tea and coffee are nonstop in the lobby. There is a courtyard and I am using wifi on the room's terrace presently. Gorgeous white room with couch. Just one flight of stairs. Bathroom is immense with every amenity. Good value, too. Very happy with our choice.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank nycmom22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We recently stayed at Hotel Matelote for one night as part of a mini break in Belgium. The hotel was in a great location, in the centre and close to everything we wanted to see.
The room was great: spacious and bright, comfy bed and modern decor. The bathroom was really good, with a lovely big bath and powerful hot shower...perfect after hours of walking around the city. The complimentary soft drinks and coffee were much welcomed.
Breakfast was a perfect start to the day! Fresh continental meats and cheeses, bread and pastries.
The staff were extremely helpful and polite, and had good knowledge of the area.
Thanks for a brilliant stay. We'd definitely stay again in the future!

Room Tip: The top floor room was great.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny_and_Kath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews