We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great, little hotel!”
Review of Hotel Matelote

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Matelote
Ranked #18 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Reviewed 16 June 2009

The Hotel Matelote, just off the historic Market Square in Antwerp, offers a wonderful stay for a visitor to the city. I couldn't have asked for better. The manager was helpful; everyone was friendly. My colleague and I stayed for 3 nights.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annaha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (331)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Matelote
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2009

I saw a recommendation for this hotel in a magazine and decided to book it for a weekend stay based on the recommendations on TA.

I was delighted with the decision! The location is excellent, in the heart of the lovely old town; a nice contrast to Anwterp's larger hotels which tend to be in the more boring 19th and 20th parts of the city. Our room was no. 3. The size of the room, the high ceilings, the lack of the usual cluttered hotel decor and the fact that the room faced a peaceful courtyard lent a feeling of calm and peace. The bed was huge, comfortable and provided with a selection of lovely fluffy pillows. If the rooms had WiFi and an iPod docking system then they would be heaven !

The breakfast selection was more limited than in a larger hotel but everything offered was fresh and tasty. I've paid a lot more than €10 for a poorer offering.

Service was friendly without being nosy.

I'd happily check in again tomorrow!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dublin_boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2008

One of the most beautifully and tastefully decorated boutique hotels I've stayed in. On a freezing cold day, its cosy entrance, lobby and fire had us cooing with delight. Hosts were friendly and accommodating.

The room was stripped-back contemporary urban chic - nothing new these days, but well executed. Loved the bed with a separate duvet for each of its halves. Free (cabled) internet access and a wonderful built-in music system were also pluses.

Less impressive was the bathroom, which, with its blue background lights, reminded me of a public loo. Weak hot water pressure was a niggle, and breakfast was only OK; loved the cheese and ham selection and the freshly squeezed orange juice, but less keen on the rock-hard, stale danish pastries.

On balance, though, this was a great hotel and we loved our stay. The location was perfect and within spitting distance of most major points of interest in Antwerp, itself a perfect Christmas city break destination.

  • Stayed: December 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Acquiescent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2008

Husband and I had a fabulous, comfy stay at Hotel Matelote! Wish we could have had more time in Antwerpen! Location can't be beat...staff was warm and welcoming. Beds comfy, bathroom nice. I wouldn't stay anywhere else when I find myself in Antwerpen again. I didn't find the price to be over the top... be aware that there is no elevator so you may have to carry your luggage up several flights of stairs...not an issue for us, but if you are out of shape or have mobility issues you may consider requesting a floor more toward ground level...

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank tiffeecanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2008

This hotel is very chic and boutiquey. Rooms are nice, quite simple, a little bare for some people's taste maybe? But i think it is meant to be that modern look. Heating in room good, nice little touches like in built speakers for you to listen to variety of pre-programmed music channels.
Bathroom is excellent - great shower!
Our room was up a steep staircase - no lift so dont bring a very heavy bag! Staff friendly and helpful - offered some recommedations for restuarants.
The hotel seemed a little on the expensive side, but I guess that's the cost of having modern, clean rooms these days?
Good location - close to the cathedral/church and shops and cafes. We drove to antwerp and parked our car in an underground car park for about 15 euro a day - very secure and manned by security guard. There is an outdoor covered carpark on other side of road - don't park there - it's very expensive!
We didnt need our car once we got there, everything is easy toget to, we walked everywhere.
Restaurants - try Ginfish next to the hotel, michelin starred chef, no menu, he just cooks depending on the catch that day. Food absolutely delicious and well worth the money just for the experience - he cooks right in front of you!
Also there is an amazing Thai resraurant round the corner from the hotel. doesn't look much from the outside but has the best Thai food outside of Thailand!
Enjoy!

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bunchtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2008

I stayed at this hotel recently and liked it very much - I think it is a very good choice in the best location in Antwerp.

Hotel itself:
+perfect location, just steps from the cathdral and many shops and restaurants
+small, stylish and still cozy
+ the owner is very helpful and friendly
+ free internet at the reception
- hotel is in carfree street, so you have to park in a garage about 5 min. walk away

Rooms:
+ stylish, good size and clean
- no air-condition
- no elevator, small staircase leading up to the room

Breakfast:
was served in the restaurant next to the hotel - was ok, but nothing special. I would skip it the next time and eat in one of the cafes nearby.

The only really negative point has nothing to do with the hotel itself, but with its location so close to the cathedral:

The bells of the cathredral, which even play a melody, start at 8 am in the morning and do ring (play this melody) every quarter! of an hour...which makes it hard to sleep well after 8am.
I was happy that they did not ring during the night.

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Ulrike73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2008

We had a great stay at Matelote! Nice atmosphere, friendly staff, great room and a perfect spot in Antwerp. Close to the old city centre, but also just a few steps from nice shopping areas as 'Kammenstraat' and 'Zuid Antwerpen'.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank twanv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel O  Kathedral
Hotel O Kathedral
#24 of 72 in Antwerp
286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rubens - Grote Markt
0.1 mi away
Hotel 't Sandt
Hotel 't Sandt
#14 of 72 in Antwerp
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Les Nuits
Hotel Les Nuits
#22 of 72 in Antwerp
171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Julien
Hotel Julien
#9 of 72 in Antwerp
385 reviews
1.0 mi away
Queen A Antwerp
Queen A Antwerp
#4 of 72 in Antwerp
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matelote? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matelote

Address: Haarstraat 11A, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range: £81 - £150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Matelote 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the peaceful Haarstraat this unique hotel has the best location in Antwerp only some footsteps away from - the famous Grand Place with its stunning town hall - the Antwerp Cathedral - the River Scheldt, ... Right in the very middle of the heart of downtown Antwerp, home of Fashion, home of Diamonds, home of Culture, Port of Antwerp City by the water A short walk to the Grand Place, the Fashion Museum, the Rubens House, the MAS, ... . Only 500 meters from the Central Station, 6 km from Antwerp Airport Please take into account we have no elevator in this historical building ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Matelote reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matelote Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing