We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap & Close to Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station
Ranked #17 of 72 Hotels in Antwerp
Fairy Meadow, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cheap & Close to Town”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

The reassuring thing about Ibis is you know what you’re in for; a clean, standard generic room with some plastic furniture and decent enough WiFi.

The Antwerpen City Ibis Budget is located only a 2-minute walk from Antwerp’s splendid Centraal Station and about a 15-20 minute walk form the shopping and historical districts.

A little tip for those trying to find the hotel using Google Maps. Don’t get confused between Ibis Budget Centraal Station and Ibis Centrum. Ibis Centrum is a kilometer walk in the wrong direction (and not a fun walk in the rain).

Unfortunately our stay was marred by two incidents. One was a hotel employee entering our room, without knocking, while we were still in bed. The other was not allowing us to store our bags at the hotel after checkout, as their luggage room was full. This had a knock on effect as we had to pay for storage lockers at centraal station.

I’m not suggesting such things would happen to every customer and for a room that cost less than £40 (not including breakfast), so close to the CBD, the Ibis Budget is a fairly safe bet.

Room Tip: We had room 112. But its Ibis Budget so all rooms are pretty much the same.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    473
    288
    69
    35
See reviews for
167
344
174
106
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 6 Contributor
1,343 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 531 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Stayed in a double room for two very hot nights - plus 33 degrees both days. Hotel airconditioning is some centralised form of mumbo-jumbo that consists of a faint whiff of not-hot air (I won't say it was that cool... just not-hot) floating through the room. Which requires the windows to be shut. And the air just isn't moving enought. So I ended up having the window open - I stayed in Room 115 that is opposite a block of flats and immediately opposite a flat with seemingly dozens of children. Probably only 3, but boy they made noise all afternoon. In the morning there is a rubbish truck or recycling truck that seems to start at 5 am and circle the block for 3 hours straight smashing glass. Not sure how. When I mentioned the excessive noise, the woman kept insisting that it was festival time so there were a lot of young people making noise. I specified over and over again that I was talking about children and a rubbish truck, not drunk Belgians... but she kept harping on about the festival. I gave up - there are some arguments you just won't win. For over 70 euros a night, it was a large "small" room. Lots of wasted space, a tiny shower stall and two stools to sit on at a tiny desk. Could have had actual furniture as there was room for it, just didn't. For 40 euros a night - would have been fine, but very expensive for what it was. Wouldn't stay there again, ever.

Room Tip: Tip to choose a good room? Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JnVSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Antwerp hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in July and I couldn't have been happier.
The rooms are very modern with comfortable beds and the shower is excellent.
The only thing the room needs is maybe a little fridge.

The hotel is in a superb location, right next to the stunning train station.
There is a lidl and cafes nearby, as well as a number of diamond shops. It is only a 5 min walk to the zoo, tour buses and shops. There is a great selection of restaurants including fast food places like pizza hut, mcdonalds and dominos. China town is close by but I found the prices ten times more expensive than in london..for example €16.50 for chow mein!!


I would suggest taking a walk towards the river where there is a lot of history. About a half an hour walk from the hotel.

The reception staff were amazingly helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lora_Islam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBACCS, General Manager at Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Nice to read you had a pleasant stay with us. See you around next time !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

here is plenty of room to move and the hoist can easily fit under the bed, but the overhead bunk means it's difficult to use the hoist to get higher up the bed. The room and bathroom are both quite modern with nicer light fixtures than before. Bathroom is a good sized wet room with grab rails, no pull cord as far as I can notice. 5 minute walk from the Centraal station (which is utterly gorgeous in the main hall) and you're surrounded by diamond shops and a high street. The pavements aren't great. Lots of cobbles and patched in pathways lead to lots of bumps for wheelchairs. There are plenty of dropped curbs but they are incredibly steep and my stabilising wheels often got stuck when going up them. Be warned, there are lots of hen and stag parties here. More than I expected, but still a very pretty city.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ToriElliott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBACCS, General Manager at Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Tori,
Nice to hear you had a good time in Antwerp.
We're currently looking into getting the pull cords.
Happy travels !
Lieven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Location is great for travelers exploring Belgium by train, it's located right next to the beautiful station. Supermarket Lidl and cafés are around.
The room is spacious and very clean, well equipped. Shower and toilet are separated.
There is no air conditioning in rooms, that was disappointing. Also beds are not very comfortable for sleeping.
Would recommend for all who wants to stay for short period of time especially for young people.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Uruydana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBACCS, General Manager at Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Dear Dana,

Nice to hear you had a nice stay in Antwerp.
If the room gets too hot, you can always ask the staff to open the window for you.
Have a nice trip and see you again !

Lieven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
572 reviews
254 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

The hotel was in a good location - close to the train station & the diamond district and a but it was a good 30 minute walk to the historical centre of Antwerp. The reception staff were really friendly and helpful - not always the case in Ibis Budget. Our room was very spacious and spotlessly clean, and had all the facilities we needed - soundproofing, WiFi, cable TV, decent shower and a desk near a power point for our laptop and mobile phone chargers. Note that there is no air conditioning in the room which didn't really bother us because it was cool enough. This could be an issue in summer as the window doesn't open very far and in any case there is some street noise early in the morning. There was a bunk bed above our double bed which made us feel like we were sleeping in a capsule!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuzieLee71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBACCS, General Manager at Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
G'day Suzie,
Nice to read you enjoyed your stay with us.
Upon request, our staff will open the window for you next time.
If you plan to stay in other ibis budget hotels, you can ask for a double room without the bunk bed, as most hotels are partly equipped with doubles.
Enjoy your trip, happy trails !
Greetings from Antwerp,
Lieven
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Hotel has a great location after the Central station. Room is clean but has really small beds even one person can not turn easily. Wash basin inside the room. very noisy hotel because of the other guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pinarpin22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IBACCS, General Manager at Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station, responded to this review, 12 July 2014
Nice to read you enjoyed your stay in Antwerp.
I'm sorry some other guests interrupted your sleep.
Even if we do our very best to prevent this kind of "trouble", some disruptive elements slip through the maze.
Unfortunately some people don't have any respect for other guests.
Enjoy your trip !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
#16 of 72 in Antwerp
1,035 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.3 mi away
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
Astoria Hotel Antwerp
#18 of 72 in Antwerp
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen Port
0.4 mi away
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
TRYP by Wyndham Antwerp
#53 of 72 in Antwerp
987 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station

Property: Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station
Address: Lange Kievitstraat 145, Antwerp 2018, Belgium (Formerly Etap Hotel)
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Antwerp
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station 2*
Number of rooms: 145
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This budget hotel in the heart of the Diamond district offers functionally furnished modern rooms with satellite TV, only 200 metres from Antwerp Central Railway Station. ibis budget Antwerpen Central Station features air conditioning in all public areas, as well as a 24-hour front desk and vending machines with drinks and snacks.Each of the rooms at ibis budget Antwerpen Central Station includes a work desk, and private shower / toilet.Antwerp Zoo is only 300 metres away. Ibis budget Antwerpen is a 10-minute walk from the De Meir shopping street, and close to the charming "Dageraadplaats" and Art Déco Cogels-Osylei. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Antwerpen Centrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing