We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice”
Review of Britselei 37

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Britselei 37
Ranked #56 of 111 Antwerp B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 January 2009

My partner and I stayed at Britselei 37 in November 2008 during a 6 week trip across Europe. In short, it was one of the best accommodation experiences we had.

The rooms are charming - great decor. Bathrooms spacious. And the kitchenettes are very handy.

Loved the little touches like fresh pastries left outside the room evey morning, and the Nespresso coffee machine in the room.

But above all this, the best assets are your hosts. They are always more than willing to help with recommendations for sightseeing, dining or shopping. And more to the point, they know what they're talking about... we took their dining recommendations every night and were never disappointed. Often the places recommended were off the tourist trail, so you really felt like you were sampling a part of the local scene.

Thanks for a great stay Barbara and Catherine.

  • Stayed: November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vbarberini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2009

There were very few people staying in August and we were concerned that the reception might be closed (it mostly was during our stay),. But we were phoned at home in UK before we left to find out our eta. Room was lovely - we saw a few of the others and ours was the smallest (Room 4) but the bathroom was the best we saw! We had not expected breakfast to be delivered either. A bonus was being lent bikes for free - a bit elderly (like us) but a great way to extend our view of the city without resorting to public transport; we even used them to wobble home from a reatautrant near the port. Of course they can be locked up anywhere. Neither of us had cycled for years!
Anywhere else will seem to be let down - almost worth planning another visit to Antwerp.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank judy99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2008

What a fantastic place. My wife wants to re-decorate our bedroom to look like the apartment it was that good!
The owners/staff couldn't do enough for you.
The apartment itself was perfect - excellently equipped kitchen (including coffee machine, stocked fridge, oven/microwave, etc), nice size sitting room with plasma TV, a huge bed with lovely comfortable bedding and a great sized bathroom (twin basins, walk in shower, etc).

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank GoldenTee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2008

We spent 3 fantastic nights at the Britselei in the Junior Apartments and have raved and recommended a stay here to anyone that will listen!

We are a young couple (21 and 23 currently) and at the time of travel were on a fairly tight budget as Uni students (as anyone that has been there / is there will understand!), so it was for this reason we decided to look for a reasonably priced short-stay apartment to cut down on dining out costs and "per person, per night" costs. We paid 345 EUR for both of us (172.5 EUR each), for 3 luxurious nights in a Junior Apartment.

The difference between the Junior apartments and the Rooftop apartments are that: Junior apartments have double beds and are on the lower floors of the building. They also have windows looking out onto the main avenue. The Rooftop apartments are on the upper floors and even though they all have the same facilities they have 2 x single beds and have Velux windows.

We were blown away by the entire experience and couldn't believe that we were paying what we were for as much as we were getting: we already had highly positive expectations from the glowing reviews, photographs and website information ([-]) - and even they were exceeded!

We had originally planned on staying in Brussels but having done our TripAdvisor research and googled ourselves out, decided to stay in Antwerpen and do day trips to Amsterdam, Leuven, Brussels etc. instead. This was fantastic advice and when we head back will probably do this over again but for longer. We preferred Antwerp to Brussels - was great to get away from too much touristy hustle and bustle and just breathe a little bit and relax! We felt it to be much cleaner and people friendly also.

This was our first trip to Belgium so we had a lot of questions that needed addressing so emailed ahead of time to see if the staff were able to help us. We were in contact with Barbara who was efficient, friendly and extremely helpful so were a lot more at ease before we set off on our trip! This was an immense bonus and are ever grateful for her hospitality before and during our stay.

The apartments are an easy 10-15 walk from the station, food, nightlife, shopping areas etc. and a 5 minute walk away from the supermarket if you're cooking during your stay. The market is great and reasonably priced, with a wide selection of food and drink - just don't forget to bring your own shopping bag! We found eating out too expensive so were glad the apartments were so close to everything (within Antwerp) as we were able to nip back when we got a bit peckish!

Our junior apartment was a lot bigger than we expected it to be with bedroom, kitchenette, bathroom and living room complete with all the small accessories that made it that much more homey (DVD player, Flat screen TV, Candles, Plant) as well as all the essentials like Toiletries, Towels, Cooking Utensils etc. etc.

We also felt incredibly spoiled with fresh croissants delivered to our room every morning! The rooms are also serviced every day so no need to wash up / clean up after yourselves either (we did anyway, but we were told to "leave it, you're here to relax so let us take care of you"!)

Simply cannot find the words to express how well looked after we were (i.e. on arrival we were given a map which was then personalised by hand, by the receptionist to cater to our interests!... she pointed out our location, penciled in a route and included some must-sees, personal favourites and whatever else we were after in a logical and not overly ambitious route(s)!) and how wonderfully relaxing the entire stay was. Usually I/Wehave a point or two of criticism but this was magically perfect.

**
Just as a side note: we came across the Britselei and eventually booked through the website: "booking.com" - This is also a favourite because of their policies on payment and cancellations: great for making sure you've a bed to stay in but able to keep things flexible and great deals even for last minute travelers.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank coupledtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2008

Room 4.2 is the only one with a bath-tub, so shoose that one. The roomes facing the street are prone to be noisy, but there are also rooms facing the courtyard (that is very small and uninteresstring) that should be more quiet.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank DanishMan1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2008

We stayed one night in Antwerp in a Britselei rooftop apartment. We booked through the travel site booking.com. The Britselei apartments were our favorite stay out of a four city tour of Belgium and Holland. The room was very spacious and modern, containing a full kitchen, living room, and bedroom. We were there on a warm night and the A/C worked well. There was a beautiful terrace outside the room where you could eat the nice breakfast of croissants and tea that was delivered to the room.

The hotel is nicely located on a main boulevard, about a fifteen minute walk from the train station and a ten minute walk to the main square in town.

The owners were very nice and helpful, providing a good city map and walking tour options.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tunabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2008

This hotel's set up - private apartments with a friendly and informative owner - is the perfect way to travel. With a great coffee machine, snacks and wine in the room, we could eat breakfast at our own convenience, have a snack or an after dinner coffee back in our apartment, or sleep in and not "miss" the breakfast hours, and therefore felt much more "at home" than you normally do on a trip. The owner is a very nice British woman who gives you a map with her suggested sites, restaurants and shops when you arrive. The room was very clean and modern, and didn't have that generic hotel feel. The only problem was that after staying here, we were disappointed with our next hotel and wished that the Britselei would open in Bruges!

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank HKB_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Antwerp hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
Ibis Antwerpen Centrum
#16 of 73 in Antwerp
1,069 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Antwerpen
0.8 mi away
Lindner Hotel & City Lounge Antwerpen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hilton Antwerp Old Town
0.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen City Central Station
4.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Antwerpen Port
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Britselei 37? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britselei 37

Address: Britselei 37, Antwerp 2000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Antwerp
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Antwerp
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Britselei 37 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Britselei 37 Antwerp
Britselei 37 Hotel Antwerp

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing