We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely little terrace”
Review of River Kwai

River Kwai
Ranked #438 of 1,425 Restaurants in Antwerp
Price range: US$37 - US$147
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
152 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“lovely little terrace”
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We had a few appetizers, then came the main courses. The restaurant was almost full. The terrace was lovely, although there was a little noise from the busy street that came through. There was some time between the appetizers and the main course. The waitresses were friendly, because when the desserts came, my brother didn't get his but after mentioning this, it came quickly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EgyptAndSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    33
    24
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fair enough”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Nice little restaurant, nothing too fancy, a good place to get a taste of Thai food, there are better restaurants but there are worse places than this, I'll go back there....

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LudoD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
42 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not the most authentic”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

It's a nice place, and the food is good, but it's too much adjusted to suit Belgian tastes and therefore not very authentic. They do take-away and prices are reasonabe so we'll continue to come...

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Philippe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“too expensive for what you get”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We had an average dinner at River Kwai, was recommended by a friend but got disappointed. I ordered the Pad Thai and my wif ordereed a chicken curry dish. Both were generous portions and i found it too expensive, hav. Servicee eaten better thai food at ploy plochana in antwerp.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cleeve j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antwerp
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Disappointment”
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Average food,Overpriced,Slow service.Recommended by a 'friend'.There are better Thai restaurants in Antwerp.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jockhaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed River Kwai also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to River Kwai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing