We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful food and down right rude”
Review of Le Zoute Zoen

Le Zoute Zoen
Ranked #157 of 1,439 Restaurants in Antwerp
Price range: US$37 - US$147
Cuisines: French
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Awful food and down right rude”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I went to the restaurant with a group. The food was luke warm. The stuffed ravioli was so garlicky it was inedible. The lamb was ok but cool. There was a lot of people within our group who really did not enjoy their food. The goose liver had no flavour and a horrible lard casing. The staff were snooty. When one of the older members of the group said something was wrong with her food they rudely dismissed her and then the maître de must have mentioned it to the next table who seemed to be friends of the owner and from then on the table laughed and made fun of us for the rest of the evening. Bearing in mind we were a group of 13 with age ranges from 48 up to 80 and some with disabilities it felt very threatening and disrespectful. Horrible evening.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jane1719
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    109
    97
    40
    38
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Genis des Fontaines, France
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“First class”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had a very fine meal here on our second night in Antwerp.

The smoked salmon appetizer was bursting with flavour, unlike its predecessor at de Kleine Zavel the night before. Another appetizer of chilled white asparagus form Malines with a slice of smoked salmon and a mousseline sauce was delicious as well.

We were next offered a course of warm cream of asparagus soup. Quite good.

My wife’s veal entre with eggplant and Espelette peppers was excellent, and my chicken pot pie was quite good as well.

Professional service overseen by the patron who maintains a list of 400 wines was excellent throughout. The Pouilly-Fuissé 2012 from Thibert was perfect for our dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank collioure1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
154 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I enjoyed the experierence of well prepared Belgian cuisine, as most of the time in Belgium a very fair price-quality ratio. The menu was exiting and good and even if we read that service was not supposed to be good; it was excellent. A well oiled organisation with nothing to complain about.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Telly2408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tienen, Belgium
Level Contributor
94 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Nice Place, Out of Centre”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Far from the Touristic centre,a very agreable place to stay, with an excellent menu.
Stunning wine list ($$) but lunch at affordable prices.
Reservation rquired.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

We came here with 4 people for a party with great expectation. As expected, with delicious food and wine, the atmosphere is romantic. However we still expect more from the staff.
They need to better care for clients

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BmnKax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Le Zoute Zoen also viewed

Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
Antwerp, Antwerp Province
 

Been to Le Zoute Zoen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing