We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend trip”
Review of Martin's Patershof

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Martin's Patershof
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Mechelen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Charleroi, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend trip”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Excellent hotel, very original and interesting, wonderful rooms, clean and quiet, easy to access, very good personnel, welcoming and warm. Rooms have all the facilities, air-conditionned, TV, Internet, very comfortable beds. They are very clean and cosy, quiet and very original.

For us, it was a wonderful trip, with lots of good souvenirs!
Congratulations to the team!!!

Room Tip: all rooms are very good, but I think there are room with more light than ours, which was situated on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GABRIELA1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stijn B, General Manager at Martin's Patershof, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear Gabriela1959,

Thank you very much for your lovely words.
Nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Don't hesitate to visit our own website to discover our 9 other Martin's Hotels.
If you would like to discover Brugge, you can book a room in Martin's Relais or Martin's Brugge.

Kind Regards,

Stijn Beschuyt
General Manager
Martin's Patershof Mechelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    338
    101
    32
    10
See reviews for
90
608
14
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We stayed on a Sunday night and were fortunate to be upgraded to a room with a stained glass window on the fifth floor. The hotel was quiet and we were easily able to park in a nearby street free until 9 am on the Monday morning. The room although small was unique and perfect for our needs. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is in an excellent location close to the centre. We did not use the restaurant. mechelen was lovely and we hope to return in September and will definitely choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeE372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stijn B, General Manager at Martin's Patershof, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear MikeE372,

Thank you very much for your message through TripAdvisor.
Nice to hear you enjoyed your stay and the city of Mechelen.

I think Mechelen is a hidden gem between Brussels & Antwerp.
If you would like to visit more in Belgium, have a look on our own website.
We have 10 hotels all over Belgium.

See you in September!
Kind Regards,

Stijn Beschuyt
General Manager
Martin's Patershof Mechelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkland, Florida
Level Contributor
364 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Difficult to find even with NAV-GPS. Located on narrow 2 way street. Tiny garage spaces down a steep, narrow ramp for EURO 25 a night! Took 10 minutes to navigate small car into a parking spot. No elevator to hotel - luggage was a problem. Reception sort of cold & my first contact had trouble w/ English. Business meeting in progress--place was a madhouse. My room (515) was smallish & poorly lit. Bad lighting in bathroom & no magnifying mirror. TV didn't work--missed the last few minutes of the 1st World cup game. Poor lighting in the room & fake stained glass. Skipped the 20 Euro breakfast. Will never stay again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jmurrayolympic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stijn B, General Manager at Martin's Patershof, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear jmurrayolympic,

Thank you very much for your message through TripAdvisor.
I notice that your experience in our hotel was below your expectations. I would like to apologize for that.

Thanks to your feedback, we are able to improve our guest services.

Our hotel (read church) was built in 1867.
If we had not made the transformation from church to hotel, there wouldn't be a church anymore. We gave the magnificent building a new life. So unfortunately, I cannot agree with "better off as a church".

As there were no cars yet in 1867, people "forgot" building an underground car park under the church for the modern times. Horses and carriages where kept outside.
However, we are happy to be able to offer the service of an underground car park, just next door under the new part of the Patershof site. There are 20 places upon availability at 25 euro a night.
Even if the ramp is a bit narrow, this should not be a problem for any gentleman who can drive a car. If it should be, don't hesitate to ask us to help you. Our 50 neighbors and I do this every day 2 times.

I agree with your comment about the lightning in the room. Last week, we ordered 540 new LED bulbs which is an investment of about 12.000 euro. This will not only improve the lightning into the room, but will be very good for our environment as well. This is very important to us, as we are one of the most ecologic hotels. We obtained the EMAS certification, the ISO14001 and we are a Green Key hotel.

We hope we may welcome you another time in the future.
If you would consider, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Yours Sincerely,
Stijn Beschuyt
General Manager
Martin's Patershof Mechelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
193 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights recently while visiting Mechelen on business. I hadn't booked the hotel myself so wasn't sure what to expect but I was very pleasantly surprised.

I didn't spend a lot of time either in the hotel or exploring the area but I found the hotel to be really good as a building, all the public areas were modern and clean and the architecture is something in itself.

In terms of my room - a good, business hotel room with plenty of space, good facilities, good bathroom and very modern, clean and, again, had some of the original building exposed which makes it a lot more interesting.

Sleep quality was good and the breakfast buffet was also good the following morning as were all the staff that I met - friendly and helpful.

Based on what I saw on my brief stay, I'd be more than happy to stay here again and would recommend it to someone staying in the area.

My only comment to the hotel would be that they could maybe add a way to make a cup of tea in the rooms alongside coffee but that's a very English request :-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stijn B, General Manager at Martin's Patershof, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Mike T,

Thank you very much for your lovely words and thank you for your constructive remark about the coffee (& tea) facilitys in the room. I will keep this in mind for the future.

I hope, we may welcome you again with us soon!
Kind Regards,

Stijn Beschuyt
General Manager
Martin's Patershof Mechelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newton-Le-Willows, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Hotel is nice enough but is let down a little when you realise that a lot of the rooms have coloured plastic on the windows to make them mock stained glass. Rooms are also quite sparse and dull. Food was ok but nothing to rave about. Bar was nice and we'll stocked.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank karl_pearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stijn B, General Manager at Martin's Patershof, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear karl_pearson,

Thank you very much for your message through TripAdvisor.

Since we are located in an former church/convent it was a real challenge in dividing the rooms. Our hotel is built in a unique setting which also makes us special. As we could not change the structure of the church/convent we had to divide the rooms according to available space.

Every room has its own feature and character. We always try to allocate the rooms the best way possible but it’s not easy to know the wishes of the client. It’s very objective and depends from person to person. We try to do our best to meet the expectations of our customers.

All stained glass windows are the authentique windows from the former church. We had to keep them like it was!

Hope to may welcome you again.
Kind regards,

Stijn Beschuyt
General Manager
Martin's Patershof Mechelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huizen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

My wife and I stayed here to celebrate our anniversary and I am always looking for a special place to celebrate this. This hotel was recommended by a colleague and we were not disappointed! we had an exceptional room and this was an absolute breath taker! The bed was extremely comfortable and you really feel like you sleep in luxury, in an old church!

Only downside maybe is the city Mechelen. Not the most exciting city for a short city trip but the hotel makes it worth the visit!

Room Tip: Higher rate rooms can be worth the money and offer a even more special experience
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobbertJacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stijn B, General Manager at Martin's Patershof, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear RobbertJacobs,

Thank you very much for your message through TripAdvisor.
Nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.

Stange that you didn't liked the city of Mechelen.
I think, Mechelen is the most exciting city for a short trip for the next years...
It's a hidden gem between Antwerp & Brussels.
Haven't you visited Kazerne Dossin or the toys museum?
If you prefer shopping, in a big part of the city center are cars not allowed.

Check the website! During next summer, there are a lot of things to do.

Hope to may welcome you again.
Kind Regards,

Stijn Beschuyt
General Manager
Martin's Patershof Mechelen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horgen
Level Contributor
151 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

As no company prefered Hotel was available in Mechelen we stayed at Martin's Patershof.
It is not like the normal business hotels it is a very special place. I had a big room on the 1st floor. A little bit dark but in general ok. The power plug below the desk was also a sign for me that business people are not the main clients for this hotel.. The bed was excellent. The view not so as I was looking to the backyard.
The breakfast buffet had a good quality and the breakfast room was really special as well.
Another good point is, that it is in walking distance to the city center.
Overall it was a nice experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mechelen hotels
0.1 mi away
Novotel Mechelen Centrum
Novotel Mechelen Centrum
#2 of 11 in Mechelen
552 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mercure Mechelen Ve
Mercure Mechelen Ve
#3 of 11 in Mechelen
289 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Mechelen
NH Mechelen
#4 of 11 in Mechelen
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
VixX Hotel
VixX Hotel
#5 of 11 in Mechelen
136 reviews
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre
0.4 mi away
Best Western Htl Gulden Anker
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Patershof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Patershof

Property: Martin's Patershof
Address: Karmelietenstraat 4, Mechelen 2800, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Mechelen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Mechelen
#1 Luxury Hotel in Mechelen
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mechelen
#2 Business Hotel in Mechelen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Martin's Patershof 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering free Wi-Fi, Martin's Patershof hotel in the heart of historical Mechelen offers unique accommodation in a former church. Brussels and Antwerp are 30 minutes by train from Mechelen Station, 1 km away.Combining original features with modern design, the stylish rooms provide a minibar and private bathroom.Every morning, Martins Patershof offers a healthy buffet breakfast with a glass of cava in the impressive choir of the old church building. Martin's Bar offers a wide range of Belgian beers, cocktails and whiskeys and free tapas at the end of the afternoon.Thanks to the 24-hour desk, you can explore the city and its wider area in your own time and come and go as you please. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Martin's Patershof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martin`s Patershof Hotel Mechelen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing