We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just another Hotel in the city center”
Review of 3 Paardekens Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
3 Paardekens Hotel
Ranked #17 of 21 Mechelen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

I have been there twice for a working holiday. It is a nice hotel in the heart of the town of Mechelen with a stunning view on the cathedral from the breakfast room.
Well designed, the rooms are elegant and warm, not very large at all, but comfortable.
So what's wrong with it?
1. The reception desk: how can you have a reception desk closing at 11pm and opening at 7am? No way.
2. 10 euros for a very very very basic breakfast including some vending machine cappuccino and coffe, no cooked food (any scrambled eggs or bacon please?)

Just a good news: a very good Italian restaurant have just open 10 steps far from the reception desk. It worth to spend a dinner there, just don't expect to will be served by kind and quick waiters!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Davideallaseconda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (88)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2014

My sister and I stayed over for just one night, and it was a pleasant stay. rooms are clean, bathroom a bit small, but it was clean. Staff a bit unpersonal. Breakfast was oke. perfect location for shopping.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jolanda V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

If you consider price/quality this is a great place to stay: centrally located, modern rooms, friendly staff - the only thing I didn't understand is why you can't get a glass of wine in a nicely accomodated bar. The lady at the desk was very kind though and checked if there was any red wine in the fridge...
Basic breakfast.
Negative point: the very noisy people from the bar next door who, while smoking their cigarette outside (smoking in public areas is forbidden in Belgium) continue their loud and probably quite drunken conversation throughout the evening and night but this is something which, of course, you can't blame on the hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dinieh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Modern and comfortable accommodations while visiting the historic city, helpful staff and a rich breakfast - what else can a visitor could wish for.
Lounge for breakfast offers great views of the Gothic landmark - Tower of St.-Rombouts.
There are many opportunities to enjoy sitting outside in the gardens or in the nearby local brewery Het Anker, which would definitely not be overlooked. His specialties and especially Golden Carolus Blauw is an extraordinary experience.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fradus1455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Spent four nights at this hotel in their large twin room which was roomy with good size bathroom. Despite a couple of issues which were finally sorted out on departure would recommend this hotel mainly because of its ideal location. I wouldn't reflect this in my judgement overall. It's equi distant between the Grote Markt which leads to all the areas of historical interest and the Vismarkt with several excellent bars and restaurants. The breakfast was very adequate, selection of ham and cheese,warm hard boiled eggs, rolls, jam, etc. There is a bar that serves beer, coffee and tea but not wine.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PAGLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I stayed here several times on business. The place is located pretty much close to everything, and is a very simple yet functional place.
The shower is not too big, but big enough for me (I'm 1.94m).
The Single bed is too small. The Twin bed is very uncomfortable as well.
The nice thing is that its usually very cheap, Internet (Wired) is surprisingly good enough for Video conferencing, and the breakfast though very basic will get you through till lunch.

Room Tip: demand a double room (not twin or single beds which are way too small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gil Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

I found the room very "cold" but warm & descent. I asked for a higher floor with view & I got one.
I didn't have breakfast but I had coffee which was very good. The service was almost bad because all 3 employees that I talked to where very cold, almost hostile. The lobby needs refurbishing, very old fashioned.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view of the Cathedral
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine189400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mechelen hotels
0.3 mi away
Martin's Patershof
Martin's Patershof
#1 of 11 in Mechelen
1,047 reviews
0.3 mi away
NH Mechelen
NH Mechelen
#4 of 11 in Mechelen
376 reviews
0.2 mi away
Novotel Mechelen Centrum
Novotel Mechelen Centrum
#2 of 11 in Mechelen
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre
0.1 mi away
Mercure Mechelen Ve
Mercure Mechelen Ve
#3 of 11 in Mechelen
335 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Elisabeth
Hotel Elisabeth
#1 of 21 in Mechelen
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 3 Paardekens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 3 Paardekens Hotel

Address: Begijnenstraat 3, Mechelen 2800, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Mechelen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mechelen
Price Range: £59 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 3 Paardekens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your 3 Paardekens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing