We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold shower”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Mechelen
Riverside, CA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Cold shower”
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Not sure what happened, but the hotel had no hot water on the morning when we left. My daughter got a hot shower in the evening, but we had to get up early to catch a flight the next day, and had only cold water in the morning. Not a good way to start the day.
What we liked: good location; it is an easy walk from the historic old town area.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Murrieta1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressMechelen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, 11 July 2013
Dear Murrieta1,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to inform us abount your findings of our hotel. It is thanks to your remarks and observations we can improve our service. I would like to apologise for the inconvenience with the cold water. I can fully understand this is not a great way to start the day. I can assure you the problem was fixed very fast the same morning. Thank you again and hope to welcome you again next time you are in Mechelen so you can take a hot shower!
Kind regards,
Joris Keimes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    130
    55
    14
    10
See reviews for
39
64
22
94
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
1,917 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,257 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2013

This hotel is located short walking distance from all the main attractions of Mechelen center city, farmers market, multiple restaurants, places of interest. You can communicate with everybody in English. The parking is available with steep short driveway up typical for many hotels in Europe. There is no restaurant available for dinner but in the morning you can have coffee and a simple but very tasty breakfast - great start of the day. There is a bar in the lobby.
Overall - it was a good experience but no frills. Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank podrozniczka60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressMechelen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear podrozniczka60,

Thank you very much for your reveiw about our hotel. I am glad to read that you had a good experience in our hotel and also in the city of Mechelen also we are pleased that we could give you a great start of the day with our tasty breakfast.
We hope te welcome you again the next time you travel to Mechelen.
Kind regards,
Joris Keimes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I traveled to Mechelen, Belgium for Business for a week and chose to stay at Holiday Inn Express - City Center because of it's proximity to the business center that houses many offices. The hotel was also very near to the Town Center where there are multiple restaurant / pubs around the square.

The hotel itself was a no frills no fuss hotel, providing all the basic amenities expected out of a HI Express property. The staff was very helpful and polite, and also went out of the way to help me print some urgent documents that I had to print.

There was no restaurant, or room service, but then you already know this when you are booking at Holiday Inn Express. Breakfast, which was included in the tariff was simple but good. Milk, cereal, fruit, Cold meats, breads, cakes and eggs. Good to start a nice day with healthy breakfast. Ice machine was available on the Ground Floor for icing up that drink you might have bought from a grocery store. The bar was open till late and you could catch a drink there at any time. There was also a fridge near the reception, from where you could by cold beverages and snacks and a decent price.

Check Inn and check out was very smooth and I would choose this hotel again, if I am staying in Mechelen. Overall, a Very Nice experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GuneetSingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressMechelen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
Dear GuneetSingh,

Thank you very much for your review!
It is fun to read you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is a pleasure to read that the staff was very helpful and polite, and also went out of the way to help you. We will surely share your comments with them. Again thank you for your review. And we hope to wlecome you again next time you travel to Mechelen.
Kind Regards,
Joris Keimes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London UK
Level Contributor
211 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

HI Express as it says on the label.
Do not expect what you did not pay for.
Decent enough room, free wifi (a bit slow), breakfast is fine, a small bar downstairs with good selection of local beers.
Hotel is 5 minutes walk to the town square and 100's of shops.
Do not use their parking, but the public one which charges 3 euro for the night.
Mechelen is right between Antwerp and Brussels, so this is a great place to go to when Brussels in booked and Antwerp too expensive.

Room Tip: Try to avoid road facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pjspjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressMechelen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear TheSteck,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to inform us about your stay. It is thanks to your remarks and observations that we can improve our service! We hope to welcome you again next time you travel to Antwerp so you can taste those great Belgian beers agin in our bar.
Kind regards,
Joris Keimes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Having just returned from this hotel staying for three nights, nice hotel in a lovely town, good room and breakfast and helpful staff. My only gripe is that my partner and I were given a second floor room facing the road, this road was surprisingly noisy and being a cobbled street the noise is further heightened, the doubled glazed was most unsatisfactory, so a good nights sleep cannot be guaranteed, we didn't ask to be move as we were told by our tour operator that it was fully booked.
My advice would be to avoid the even numbered rooms facing the road on the first, second and third floors.

Room Tip: My advice would be to avoid the even numbered rooms facing the road on the first, second and third f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MONEMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressMechelen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, 6 May 2013
Dear Monemk,

Thank you very much for your review. It is nice to read that you had a nice stay. It is a pity that you had soms inconveniences with the noise from outside. We will surely have an in depth look at this.
Thank you again and hope to welcome you again the next time you travel to Mechelen.
Kind regards,
Joris Keimes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netanya, Israel
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

The room is rather large, and easy to use for morning fitness.
The Internet access (included) is rather slow, but gets the job done in terms of email and Instant messaging.
The Breakfast is okay, but missing things like omelettes and Bacon.
The Bed is comfortable, and the in-room kettle with tea is rather useful.
Overall, its ok but nothing special, as one would expect from a hotel chain.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gil Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressMechelen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear Gil Z,
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. It is thanks to your remarks and observations we can improve our servcie in the future.
Thank you again and hope to welcome you again the next time you travel to Mechelen.
Kind regards,
Joris Keimes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We have just returned from a business trip and stayed for two weeks in this HI express, We had two rooms and had to cater for a three year old child. Rooms were a good size. We cannot praise the staff enough they were polite, friendly and very helpful from the night porter to the cleaning staff, The manager even lent us a couple of chairs to use at the Eutantica Fine Art Fair where we exhibited.
Breakfast is plain but o.k. Rooms very clean. near the centre to walk to restaurants. They did run out of Large bottles of white wine at the bar. Also has car park though gets full at the weekend.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank margendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressMechelen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, 5 April 2013
Dear Margendy,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to inform us about your findings of our hotel. It is very nice to read you had a good stay with us and that our staff was really helpfull and friendly. I will surely share your comments with them!
Thank you again and hope to see you again next time you travel to Mechelen.
Kind regards,
Joris Keimes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mechelen hotels
0.4 mi away
Novotel Mechelen Centrum
Novotel Mechelen Centrum
#2 of 11 in Mechelen
552 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Mechelen
NH Mechelen
#4 of 11 in Mechelen
335 reviews
0.5 mi away
Martin's Patershof
Martin's Patershof
#1 of 11 in Mechelen
988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Mercure Mechelen Ve
Mercure Mechelen Ve
#3 of 11 in Mechelen
289 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Htl Gulden Anker
0.2 mi away
VixX Hotel
VixX Hotel
#5 of 11 in Mechelen
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre
Address: Veemarkt 37 C, Mechelen 2800, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Mechelen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mechelen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the atmosphere of Mechelen's historic quarter at the Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre hotel. Flanked by centuries-old architecture, the inviting Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre is in the heart of Mechelen. Just a short walk from the town square and with easy access to the ring road, you can park in our secure underground car park when you arrive. Connect to complimentary Internet and wake up to a complimentary continental breakfast at our daily buffet. Located halfway between both Brussels and Antwerp, Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre is an ideal stopoff point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre Hotel Mechelen
Mechelen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Mechelen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing