We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stop over”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre
Ranked #6 of 11 Hotels in Mechelen
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Stop over”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Room very clean and comfortable
Only meal provided was breakfast and the availability of items was very limited
Busy second of third morning.when sports team ate all food and took most of seating
No croissants

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alfie2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressMechelen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Alfie2007,
Thank you for having taken the time to inform us about your findings from our hotel during your recent stay. I am sorry to read that you were not 100% satisfied during your stay. We have taken note of your comment and we will take appropriate action on this.
Thank you again and hope to welcome you again the next time you travel to Mechelen.
Kind regards,
Joris Keimes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    132
    56
    14
    10
See reviews for
40
66
22
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Holiday Inn Express in Mechelen was quite a surprise not just that it was situated in the city centre but also how modern and clean it was with a handful of staff on standby day and night. The nine storey white building did not seem out of place with its surrounding - it blended in well with the old. The hotel is five minutes from the Grote Markt and many eateries and cafes. There is no restaurant inside the hotel but there is cold storage in the reception containing a variety of prepacked sandwiches,yoghurts and drinks, so if you did not fancy going to the cafe or a restaurant nearby you could eat in or if you felt pekish in the middle of the night you could pop down in your pyjamas and purchase the food to take back to your room to eat. The breakfast room is spacious and the breakfast served is buffet (excellent) and the choise of tea, chocolate and coffee is never ending. The room was bright, clean & spacious with a good size bathroom; airconditioning and heating you could adjust as you please. It may be 3 star hotel but it is getting 5 stars from me and the location A1.

Room Tip: Either front or back it's quiet all round.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CHUNARAG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressMechelen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear Chunarag,
What a great review to read! I am very pleased you had a great stay here with us in the hotel!
I will surely share all you fine comments with our staff. This makes our day!
Hope to welcome you again the next time you travel to Mechelen.
Kind regards,
Joris Keimes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I booked this hotel because my normal haunts were fully booked, or charging exorbitant rates due to a convention. There is no fitness center, a personal preference, but that is made clear on their website.

Bottom Line - I recommend this hotel as an option when hotels in Brussels are overbooked or overpriced. Up to an hour of Public Transportation is necessary for a one-way trip to or from Brussels during the day.

The Goods
My first impression was that it's a pleasant, no-nonsense hotel. This three star hotel features most of the conveniences that a business traveller needs. My room was adequate, but spartan. The staff on the other hand was fantastic.

Getting to and from Brussels involves 30 minutes to an hour of bus & train travel, but the schedules are clear and the public transportation runs frequently enough that it wasn't a hassle.

The Others
My biggest complaint was that during my stay, the WiFi was all but inoperative. I was able to check my E-Mail, but that's about it. Speedtest would not even work due to the problems they were experiencing. The WiFi is provided by a Third-Party and it was also effecting the staff. I recommend that the hotel find a different, more reliable provider.

Also, I prefer a breakfast with some hot items available. I don't require the full legendary Hilton Breakfast (although it is nice), but a small pan of fried eggs and bacon for making breakfast sandwiches would have been perfect given the available space and other items.

Constructive Criticsm:
I would recommend the following upgrades during your next renovation to make the hotel more appealing to business travelers.
-Wired Internet ports in the rooms
-Compact Refrigerator in some, or all, of the rooms (not necessarily a mini-bar service)

Why 4 Stars?
I always start with 5 stars:
+1 Star - Outstanding Staff
-1 Star - Inoperative WiFi (a temporary issue)
-1 Star - No hot breakfast items

Room Tip: Avoid rooms that face the alley or street. It's a college town, and nighttime merrymakers can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SWODaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Stayed here a week ago for three nights as part of a Leger holidays mini break. Our room was larger than average, very clean and comfortable. There was even a choice of pillows on the bed - one set labelled 'soft' and the other 'hard'. The bathroom was a good size and the water piping hot. Tea and coffee making facilities were also provided, and a bonus a really efficient hair dryer. However we did have one complaint - the room was far too hot. We tried turning down the air conditioning but nothing happened.

The continental breakfast was good too. Plenty of choice - various breads, rolls and cakes an efficient toaster, hard boiled eggs, a choice of cold meats and cheeses. Tea and coffee were available from a machine. The fruit 'juice' was not very good however. The orange was little more than coloured water, but at least the apple juice tasted like the real thing.

The staff were very helpful and helpful at the check in desk too.

Would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor at the side and we found it really quiet. There was very little tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elizamelvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressMechelen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
Dear elizamelvey ,
Dear guest, Thank you very much for giving us your feedback on our hotel. It is nice to read you had a pleasant stay. The comments of our guests are of big value and importance for our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you again should your travel bring you.
Kind regards,
Joris Keimes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We styed at this hotel as part of the Leger holiday for 3 nights The room is quite big, clean and comfortable. However whenever you turned the water on there was a eggy smell (like sulphur smell), had to leave the tap running for a while. We think there may have been something wrong with their drainage system. Then the other night the smell was in the room and not coming from the bathroom.

The lift is tiny, with suitcases max can only fit 4 people in the lift.

The breakfast was okay, rolls were fresh and soft. Good range of choice for breakfast. There are also several eating places by the square if you wanted to eat out only a 5 mins walk from the hotel

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 558winnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressMechelen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear 558winnie,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your impressions. We are very happy that your experience was overall a positive one. Please accept our apologies for the inconvenience with the water that you've met during your stay.
We hope that this will not keep you from staying at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen again in the future.
Kind regards,
Joris Keimes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Very comfortable bed in clean room. However the double-glazing was not adequate to block out the rumble of tyres on the cobbled street below. Adequate if unexciting breakfast. Housekeeper wanted to clean my room before I was ready to go down to breakfast, All in all an OK place in a good location but could be better,

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mkjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressMechelen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Mkjock,
Thank you very much for your review here on tripadvisor, it is thanks to your observations we can improve. Thank you for the information about the traffic noise, I will check the room you slept in and make sure the window and frame are fixed closed so there will be no more nuisance of this.
Hope to welcome you again the next time you travel to Mechelen.
Kind regards,
Joris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hasselt, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We went here for a short visit and enjoyed our stay very much. Everything was very good.
Cleanliness of the rooms, the welcoming and friendly hotel staff, breakfast, and not to forgot the very nice room. Also free wifi which is always a plus for me.
Will come back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZABRISKIE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExpressMechelen, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Zabriskie2014,
Thank you very much for this excellent review! I can not imagine anything better to read on a moring, especially on Manday morning!
Looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel the next time you travel to Mechelen.
Warm regards,
Joris Keimes, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mechelen hotels
0.5 mi away
NH Mechelen
NH Mechelen
#4 of 11 in Mechelen
348 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Mechelen Centrum
Novotel Mechelen Centrum
#3 of 11 in Mechelen
566 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mercure Mechelen Ve
Mercure Mechelen Ve
#2 of 11 in Mechelen
308 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Martin's Patershof
Martin's Patershof
#1 of 11 in Mechelen
1,014 reviews
0.2 mi away
VixX Hotel
VixX Hotel
#5 of 11 in Mechelen
139 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Htl Gulden Anker
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre

Property: Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre
Address: Veemarkt 37 C, Mechelen 2800, Belgium
Phone Number:
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Mechelen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Mechelen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surround yourself with the atmosphere of Mechelen's historic quarter at the Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre hotel. Flanked by centuries-old architecture, the inviting Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre is in the heart of Mechelen. Just a short walk from the town square and with easy access to the ring road, you can park in our secure underground car park when you arrive. Connect to complimentary Internet and wake up to a complimentary continental breakfast at our daily buffet. Located halfway between both Brussels and Antwerp, Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre is an ideal stopoff point. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre Hotel Mechelen
Mechelen Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Mechelen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing