We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good and very convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Novotel Mechelen Centrum
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Mechelen
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 March 2014

just stayed here for four days, very good, well laid rooms, and very comfortable beds, rooms is well positioned to walk in to the centre. breakfast is the usual, but all good and kept hot, we never used there restaurant as it was nt open, so I cant comment too much on the food, as we ate out, car parking is handy, below the hotel, and generally it was fairly quiet, apart from one morning when I think they emptied the bottle bank. Car park cost about 16 euro a day

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tangsoored_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvdb, General Manager at Novotel Mechelen Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.

It’s always a pleasure to read that our guests appreciated our quality of service.

I look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 598 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2014

Having stayed at this hotel for two nights last weekend, the room was spotless, plenty of room to move about in. The staff were very helpful and friendly, the breakfast was really good and plenty of it. If I were to pick a fault the only one is that the water left in fridge was 3.50 euros.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank duffyWestYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvdb, General Manager at Novotel Mechelen Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.

It’s always a pleasure to read that our guests appreciated our quality of service.

I look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

I suppose the best way to describe this hotel is as a business hotel that is also very child friendly. I visited Mechelen for business but had the family along as well. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful, even before we arrived in giving details on how to find it etc. We flew into brussel and took the train into Mechelen (10min). From the train station a taxi (for 3 people) was cheaper than taking the bus (€ 7). The room had a double and single and was modern, clean and neat. Breakfast was good, with a decent selection from the buffet. The hotel is in the centre and a 5 minute walk from the "grand square" and cathedral. Mechelen itself is a great town and definitely worth a visit with the family or as a romantic weekend. Also a great base to visit Brussels, Antwerp and Brugge by train or car.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cliff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvdb, General Manager at Novotel Mechelen Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014

Dear,

Many thanks for posting a review and for the positive feedback!
It is great to read how much you have appreciated the location, facilities and service at the hotel.
We certainly hope to welcome you again at Novotel Mechelen Centre

Yves Vandenbussche
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

We booked a room for 4 people months ahead and we chose Novotel because they OFFER room for 4 people. But info is not correct! The room was tiny, and once you get the luggage of 4 people inside the room, one can hardly walk around. We tried to talk to people at the reception, but they were cold, indifferent (typical Novotel) and nearly rude.
I believe this is the right hotel for business people who travel alone and only need a bed for a night or 2.
In my opinion, nothing is more important than a good night sleep and that is something my family did not have there! Not going back!

Room Tip: I'd choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CPetri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvdb, General Manager at Novotel Mechelen Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear,

Thank you for your honest feedback.

I am sorry to read that your experience with us was not the way you expected.
We do appreciate your feedback, as you know it is only through continuous response from our guests that we can continuously strive to meet and improve our guest expectations. Please be assured that we are very keen on making it right for our guests.

We would be really happy if you would give us another chance.

Yves Vandenbussche
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

I must say that my stay in this Novotel was a big disappointment.

When me and my husband arrived to the hotel (14/12) it was already a bit late, around 1:15am. But as we did have a reservation we didn't worried that much.
We were informed by the front desk staff that he couldn't make the check-in because we were too late and if we wanted we could search for another hotel, and I'm sorry, no one wants to search for a hotel at 1:00am when you've made a reservation in a specific hotel already.
We were then informed that if we waited 30 minutes, in the lobby, he could make our check in. Which we did, even though this situation was just ridiculous.

After a (long) while we were given a form to fill in and the check in was done. Within this time we couldn't ignore the fact that the receptionist had a couple of really noisy friends with him, who were loud and spend their time tombling around the front desk while making jokes about him being really nervous and pointing the fact that we looked stressed. And even though we don't speak proper Dutch, we understand perfectly well. We didn't know if we should laugh or be mad, because it was just too bizarre!

We were then given a room, and when you think that the situation just can't get any worst... we unlocked the door we were surprised by a person that was already sleeping there!
We returned to the front desk and explained what just had happen to us. The receptionist was basically in panic, but his friends once again laugh and joked about it and start asking us questions about the person in the room! The receptionist asked them several times to shut up, and even used an insult in english, which left us just in shock!

We were then given an executive room. And with all this mess we just got a room after 2:00am.
The room itself was quite decent.

On a positive note, the experienced front desk staff, on the morning after, was really helpful and apoligized a ton of times. They offered us breakfast and 2 drinks at the bar. Great breakfast, by the way.
Still, it's not like you can make it better after such huge chain of mistakes. Novotel failed on the basics of runing an hotel... always have well trained and well mannered staff, because they are the face of your brand.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AS P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvdb, General Manager at Novotel Mechelen Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear,

I am sorry to hear that you didn’t find the service at our hotel up to your expectations.
I have been investigating this matter personnaly, and indeed i learned that the attitude of the new night-auditor, we hired recently, was totaly unacceptable. I can tell you, that i did not extend his contract.
We pride ourselves on our staff training, so this is something I will be looking into personally. Please feel free to let us know immediately if you have any concerns during your stay in the future. Kind regards,

Yves Vandenbussche
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Great hotel, with excellent facilities and in good location with very easy access to both Brussels and Antwerp.
Located in a nice part of Mechelen which its self is a pleasant town with a good selection of bars and restaurants.
I would recommend to anyone looking to stay in this region of Belgium.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank RedJez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvdb, General Manager at Novotel Mechelen Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing our hotel and for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers.

It’s always a pleasure to read that our guests appreciated our quality of service.

I look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Best regards,

Yves Vandenbussche
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The weekend before Christmas I stayed at this hotel with a friend for 2 nights. It was a pleasant stay! The hotel looks modern and clean and is close to the city center. The room was clean, the beds were good. The room wasn't big, but for us that wasn't a problem.

Close to the hotel is the fish market which is a small area with restaurants en cafes. We spend both of our evenings close to the hotel (one at the opposite, an old brewery, which was very nice as well).

People working at the hotel were friendly and breakfast was very good. We enjoyed our stay.

Mechelen itself is small, pitoreque but I would not recommend to spend more than two days over there.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizzze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yvdb, General Manager at Novotel Mechelen Centrum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for posting a review and for the positive feedback!
It is great to read how much you have appreciated the location, facilities and service at the hotel.
We certainly hope to welcome you again at Novotel Mechelen Centre.

Yves Vandenbussche
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mechelen hotels
0.1 mi away
Martin's Patershof
Martin's Patershof
#1 of 11 in Mechelen
1,064 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mercure Mechelen Ve
Mercure Mechelen Ve
#3 of 11 in Mechelen
341 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Mechelen
NH Mechelen
#4 of 11 in Mechelen
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre
0.3 mi away
VixX Hotel
VixX Hotel
#5 of 11 in Mechelen
150 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Htl Gulden Anker
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Mechelen Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Mechelen Centrum

Address: Van Beethovenstraat 1, Mechelen 2800, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Mechelen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Mechelen
#2 Green Hotel in Mechelen
#3 Business Hotel in Mechelen
#4 Romantic Hotel in Mechelen
Price Range: £64 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Mechelen Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Novotel Mechelen Centrum is a 4 star hotel located in the heart of Mechelen, in the trendy and lively district of the Fish Market, right next to the Dyle. It features 122 spacious and comfortable rooms, a bar and restaurant, plus 5 meeting rooms for conferences and seminars. This hotel is equally suited to business trips and holidays in Mechelen. Make the most of your stay by taking advantage of our fitness centre, hammam and bicycle hire. Parking is available for your convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Accorhotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Novotel Mechelen Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Mechelen Centrum Hotel Mechelen
Mechelen Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing