We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well run place , very comfortable , quiet ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Bron Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 21 Mechelen B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 October 2013 via mobile

Definitely lived up to previous reviews
Well organised even if the timetable for arriving and leaving is a bit restrictive . Some nice details such as good toiletries , perfumed sheets and tea facilities . Loved having the quiet canal closeby . I shall be back soon !

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013

So having stayed at a number of hotels around Mechelen whilst looking for an apartment, I happened to book this place on one of those weeks. Firstly, even before booking it i was taken back to the old days of the B'n'B in some rural or seaside resort in the UK. Tiny room, shared bathrooms or a sink in he corner, mattress that was lumpy like the porridge for breakfast, grumpy landlady, doors shut by ten. I'm sure they are not like that now.
This was a revelation. I arrived just before ten in the evening and prepared for the worse. Big imposing gate the owner opened the door for me and went through the formalities and then was shown to my room on the ground floor. But, set back far enough there was no noise from any traffic, barking dogs or late night revellers to be heard.
I'm not sure what the other suites are like but this was amazing.
Minimalist but everything functional in the bedroom. Wifi Internet connection that was free and not slow at all. A kitchenette with halogen hob, oven, fridge, culterly crockery and kitchen utensils including pots and pans.
The bathroom was well decorated with nice bath 'smellies'. The only drawback was there was no shower in this particular suite not sure if the others are the same. Just meant i had to get up a little earlier to run the bath.
Don't expect a Olympic size pool but the swimming pool and the sauna are great and a nice place to unwind after work or a day trip out.
There is a facility to have massages and i do recommend having a massage. They also sell a lot of creams, gels, scrubs etc that you can purchase. Have to say, i succumbed and bought several items but do not regret it, as i use them daily. Sorry can't be more specific its my secret!
Due to early starts at work i did not have the breakfast, however if standards of the overall experience are to go by i'm sure it would have been excellent too.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank the wife and husband team for there professional but also personal approach to make you feel welcome.

Room Tip: If you have an opportunity, book this instead of a hotel and do not be put of by B&B.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mahesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

My first visit to Mechelen and a lucky one with two nights stay in B&B De Bron despite the cold weather and snow! The room (one of two) was just fine and the location, although a bit tricky to find through Mechelen's old one-way streets, is just by the canal and, I guess, would be lovely in better weather! The hospitality was excellent and sharing breakfast chat with the owners in their kitchen very pleasant - loved the eggs. Didn't have time to try out the pool and sauna all within the same house it looked very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claptonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2013

I am quite a big guy, and the beds were very comfortable for me (2 different rooms) as well as all facilities. The hosts were gracious, the breakfast was very very tasty (they have a really good coffee machine).
The internet access in the room, though wired, is pretty quick for hotels, and you can use Connectify to allow your mobile phone to use it.
The shower is very spacious and comfortable enough to stretch in.
I come to Mechelen about once a month on Business, and this is my preferred place to stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gil Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jonas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: Let op of je de voorkeur geeft aan een kamer met bad en kitchenette op de beganegrond of met douche...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sophieuitHaarlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2015
Google Translation

Room Tip: Als je een goede kamer wil en niets om uitzicht of daglicht geeft is dit een prima optie.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Joep V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mechelen hotels
0.4 mi away
B&B De Lachende Engel
B&B De Lachende Engel
#3 of 21 in Mechelen
22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Elisabeth
Hotel Elisabeth
#1 of 21 in Mechelen
145 reviews
3.4 mi away
Lithium Bed, Zen & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Porta Superia B&B - Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Martin's Patershof
Martin's Patershof
#1 of 11 in Mechelen
1,064 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Mechelen
NH Mechelen
#4 of 11 in Mechelen
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Bron Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Bron Bed & Breakfast

Address: Tichelrij 1A, Mechelen 2800, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Mechelen
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Mechelen
Price Range: £86 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your De Bron Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing