We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for get lost”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Mechelen Ve
Ranked #3 of 11 Hotels in Mechelen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Beyond of doubt, The hotel is right place for any reason. Business, romantic or holidays. It is well located, at wonderful area. Once, you are inside, the place surprise you by the modern decoration. Spacious and comfy rooms. If I have to point out a less positive think, I would say that the breakfast is limited no wide range of options.

Stayed: August 2013
Thank danvillro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannelore v, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Mechelen Ve, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear guest, we appreciate your feedback and want to thank you for taking time to write about your experience in our hotel. On your next stay don't hesitate to let us know what you would like to have for breakfast. It's our goal to have our guests feel at home away from home.
Kind regards, the Vé Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (348)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 348 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

Lovely hotel in the Vismarket area right in the middle of loads of bars and restaurants. Very nice staff. Would have liked a kettle in the room foe tea in the morning but highly recommended. Coffee machine didn't work but was replaced very swiftly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Veli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannelore v, Guest Relations Manager at Mercure Mechelen Ve, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear guest, thank you so much for your positive feedback. Regarding the coffee machine we appreciate your comment and please don't hesitate on your next stay to ask for a waterboiler and tea bags so you can enjoy a cup of tea in the morning. We sincerely apreciate every feedback we receive from our guest as it's our goal to make our guests feel home away from home.
Kind regards, the Vé Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2013

The hotel Ve is located in the heart of Mechelen, a really beautiful spot near the canal. I arrived in the morning and asked for a room that I could get into early, and they had #206 available. It is a nice room, but it does not have a shower, just a bathtub. I didn't even realize that other rooms had gorgeous walk in showers until my colleages arrived and told me about their beautiful bathrooms! When I complained at the end of my stay, they said, oh your had the "special room" with no shower!! They said next time, request a different room! Come on, how difficult would it be to hang a shower curtain and make this room perfectly acceptable? Otherwise the hotel is great, really nice breakfast in the morning, and I will go back, after requesting any room except for #206!!.

Room Tip: Stay away from room # 206!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pattie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannelore v, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Mechelen Ve, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear guest, thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience in room 206. It is indeed a special room and one of the few where there's no shower. We appreciate your suggestion about the shower curtain but we'll make sure that on your next visit you will have a room with a walk in shower. We do hope to welcome you a again on your next visit to Mechelen.
Best regards, the Vé Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2013

You can't get central than Mercure Ve in Mechelen. In the very hart of the old town, this lovely small hotel is established in an old smoking fish manufacture. Was there on business but would not hesitate to stay there again with family or friends if I go to visit Mechelen.

PROS: location, building with a past lovely kept alive today via photos and souvenir objects
CONS: rather limited choice breakfast, the AC in the rooms can be quite noisy

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Val_travel_addict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannelore v, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Mechelen Ve, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear guest, thank you so much for your feedback and taking the time to write about your experience. We are aware about the AC problem and are working hard to solve this. But always nice to see that your overall experience was a positive one and we do hope to welcome you a next time. Best regards, the Vé Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Mechelen is an "undiscovered" city halfway between Brussels and Antwerp - don't drive past it! It has some real architectural gems including the amazing Cathedral. There are also some very fine restaurants too. The Mercure is Vismarkt - "Fishmarket" - is well worth a visit. The rooms are large, airy and very well appointed with excellent beds and bathrooms. The staff are friendly and very helpful and the breakfast is good too. The location is very central and within easy walking distance of all of Mechelen's highlights. Don't miss out on this lovely city - give it a try.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel may be a little noisy for some, as they overlook the Vismarkt with i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Demanding_Traveller5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannelore v, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Mechelen Ve, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear Guest, thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience in our hotel. Always nice to read such positive feedback. Hope we may welcome you again on a next occasion when you visit Mechelen. Best regards, the Vé team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Lovely hotel with very friendly staff. Have spent a lot more money on rooms nowhere near as nice.

One word of warning though - don't share a room with someone you aren't on very intimate terms with, as in the room i stayed in there is no door for the toilet

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itmhamilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannelore v, Public Relations Manager at Mercure Mechelen Ve, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2013

Dear guest, we are really pleased with your feedback on Tripadvisor. Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your experience in our hotel and a big thank you for encouraging other visitors to choose for us! Hope to see you again soon in Mechelen, best regards, the Vé Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Trip advisor

I chose this from the very positive trip feedback and the great rate It even qualifies for welcome rewards

I stayed once before back in 2007 when this was brand new and standards seem not to have slipped


Hotel room was clean and spacious. U could fit a small family in here with 2 beds and plenty of floor space

Work desk free wifi and remote gas fire roof terrace with bronce are al unexpected bonuses

Good selection of restaurants with decent trip feedback

Dislikes - nothing What's not to like !!!

Enjoy. You are unlikely to regret this buy


Mario

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariocostasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hannelore v, Owner at Mercure Mechelen Ve, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2013

Dear Mario

thank you very much for your positive feed back on your stay in our hotel. it pleases me that you enjoyed your stay now as much as you did in 2007.

we do our very much to improve every year and will never stop doing this, we just created a wellness area with swimming pool and saunas so next time, if you would visit us again, you will be surprised.

best wishes

hannelore

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Mechelen hotels
0.2 mi away
Martin's Patershof
Martin's Patershof
#1 of 11 in Mechelen
1,077 reviews
0.1 mi away
Novotel Mechelen Centrum
Novotel Mechelen Centrum
#2 of 11 in Mechelen
602 reviews
0.2 mi away
NH Mechelen
NH Mechelen
#5 of 11 in Mechelen
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Mechelen City Centre
0.3 mi away
VixX Hotel
VixX Hotel
#4 of 11 in Mechelen
153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Best Western Htl Gulden Anker
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Mechelen Ve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Mechelen Ve

Address: Vismarkt 14, Mechelen 2800, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Flanders > Antwerp Province > Mechelen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Mechelen
#3 Romantic Hotel in Mechelen
#6 Business Hotel in Mechelen
Price Range: £76 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Mechelen Ve 4*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mercure Vé is located in the dazzling city of Mechelen along the river Dijle. Our hotel is situated in a former fish smokery dating from 1923. On walking distance from the hotel you will find trendy restaurants, bars, shops and musea. Our goal is to make our guests feel home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Easy Market Spa, Accorhotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mercure Mechelen Ve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
vé Hotel Mechelen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing