We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stopover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Martin's Grand Hotel Waterloo
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Waterloo
Witham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great stopover”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great hotel for business stop over great restaurant in walking distance in a very quiet area. Rooms comfortable and modern. Friendly reception staff and lobby bar staff. Will be staying again next time in Brussels

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chudleighwit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    167
    77
    34
    14
See reviews for
43
149
12
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The hotel is a bit old school but ok. I had an executive room but in the middle of the night the jacuzzi started making noises.Another "standard" room was given so I had to move.The room smelled like cigarettes. At check out the reception wanted me to pay the executive room anyway instead of giving me a commercial discount for the inconvenience... I have never seen such a arrogant behavior at a reception desk. For me a "no go"...

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davydemuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Waterloo hotels

Rotterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Good location. The room is clean. The hotel is old and needs to get renovated. The dinner was delicious, however the sevice at the lobby and the bar were awful. We were watching the opening match of the World cup, but the bar tender refused to turn up the volume of the TV and closed down the bar right after the match.
Conclusion: nice location and good rooms, terrible service. Not worth the money.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dottore E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We were part of a Golf Par Excellence golf tour who organises our play at various courses via the hotel. We have stayed at this hotel for the last 10 years and it has never let us down in any way and look forward to returning next year. We can highly recommend the hotel especially if you want to play golf and its location near to some good restaurants and the Irish Bar is ideal as no cabs needed at night.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We arrived late and tired on a friday evening and were greeted by a very friendly receptionist. I had ask for a quiet room and that is what we got: a very quiet room at the end of endless corridors. Decor dated and slightly depressing but incredibly comfortable bed with crisp white linen and lovely soft pillows: a treat!
Breakfast staff was very charming, coffee (both standard and expresso) was great, good croissants and pains au chocolat, indifferent scrambled eggs and bacon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank radiolondres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eeklo, Belgium
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Had a meeting in the morning at the Mastercard building next door. In order to avoid traffic around Brussels I stayed there. In front of the hotel it looks great, beautiful building. The reception looks very good, and the staff is very friendly. Had to go through the restaurant to go to my room, seemed a little wierd. I expected more of the room. Hotel is not cheap, but does not really meet the expectations. Barman was rude, and simply not interested in what was asked. The restaurant is a very nice place to eat, and the food is very good, served by nice people. Seen better for the money....

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Froanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Entire hotel is very old and needs renovation. You feel the cold weather inside the room because of old and broken windows. The only good thing is the restaurant. La sucrerie. They have tasty lunch meals and a la carte menu for dinner. This hotel doesn't worth what you pay for.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TARABIEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterloo
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Cote Vert
Hotel Le Cote Vert
#2 of 5 in Waterloo
97 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Brussels Waterloo
Ibis Brussels Waterloo
#3 of 5 in Waterloo
367 reviews
2.0 mi away
Le 1815 Hotel
Le 1815 Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waterloo
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Dolce la Hulpe Brussels
1.0 mi away
Le Joli-Bois Hotel
Le Joli-Bois Hotel
#5 of 5 in Waterloo
28 reviews
4.3 mi away
Groenendaal Hotel
Groenendaal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hoeilaart
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Grand Hotel Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Grand Hotel Waterloo

Property: Martin's Grand Hotel Waterloo
Address: Chaussee de Tervuren N 227/198, Waterloo 1410, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > Walloon Brabant > Waterloo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Martin's Grand Hotel Waterloo 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 20 minutes from the centre of Brussels and yet in green and peaceful surroundings, this 4-star hotel is ideal for visits to the city. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.The hotel is also convenient for long walks in the harmonious landscapes, golf, biking and so much more. Have a night’s refreshing sleep in one of our luxurious rooms, all with essential components of contemporary well-being.In La Sucrerie restaurant, originally a sugar refinery built in the middle of the 19th century and now beautifully restored, our chef lets you savour the finest cuisine, while in the neo-colonial Club Bar you are welcome for that last drink. Parking is available in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Martin's Grand Hotel Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing