We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Martin's Grand Hotel Waterloo
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Waterloo
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good!”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Good is what I would describe this hotel.
Adequate, clean and spacious room that had a nice en-suite with jacuzzi bath tub and all amenities needed.
Restaurant was also good - food very nice but service could improve a bit.
Breakfast was disappointing - cheap and unimpressive selection of cooked meats and cheeses and cold and overcooked eggs, sausages and bacon.
Would possibly stay again but probably search elsewhere first.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

398 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    178
    83
    34
    14
See reviews for
47
158
12
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sint-Gillis-Waas, Belgium
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

The rooms were big and quit. The small water boiler was not working but the staff was very helpful in replacing it.

The restaurant "La Sucrerie" is excellent. We had the monthly menu and every plate was a treat. The restaurant itself is cosy and the service was quick and accurate.

The bar has quite a lot of cocktails to choose from. Very nice too.

If you know the way, it's very near the center of Waterloo where you have lots of shops.

Room Tip: Try to get an upgrade to a room with a bubble bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pivertigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I stayed here in Waterloo whilst visiting the Battlefields in the area. A very well presented hotel, with an excellent restaurant. Waterloo is fairly expensive generally and so I ate at the restaurant in the evening for my whole stay. The steak is particularly good. The room was very quiet, clean and modern, and the free wifi is excellent. I would recommend this hotel if travelling to Waterloo

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
O'Fallon, Missouri
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I stayed at the Grand while traveling on business. The Hotel is in the middle of the campus of MasterCard. The breakfast is very good and included in the room charge. The rooms are nice size for Europe and were very clean. The propoerty is within walking distance to numerous places to dine and there is a Carefour just around the corner. The Battle of Waterloo Memorial is about a KM or so away.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the courtyard to avoid noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjack80724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vientiane, Laos
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

After flying for 15 hours and catching a cold I was glad to make it to the hotel. The check-in was very cordial and quick even tough it seems I got there at the same time as all the businessmen in Belgium.

The room was quiet, clean and very modern. The desk space was very appropriate for work and the chair was comfortable.

The breakfast in the morning is simply amazing and features all the patisseries you could want.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FPP_MTL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I negatively reviewed Martin's following a stay in October 2013. Part of my negative experience was based on the other guests, and part of it was due to the lack of customer service. However, after I stayed there again for business, it was a significantly better experience overall. I received a personal apology from the manager, which was classy and professional, as well as much better service in general.

The beds and rooms are comfortable and the rate is fair by European standards. It's convenient to get into the city as well as to surrounding regions of Wallonia. There are a few restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joshua G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottinghamshire
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We booked this hotel because we couldn't get in anywhere else, it transpired that the European Hockey championships were being played in town. The Hotel is very grand, we shared a twin bed room which was very clean and spacious, I don't think it was worth the Euro170.24 for one night (total cost) It reminded me of an upmarket Premier Inn. The hotel was quiet, the bar facilities very good but very expensive. A good night's sleep and the breakfast was good, but not the best on our tour

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommo715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Waterloo
0.8 mi away
Hotel Le Cote Vert
Hotel Le Cote Vert
#2 of 5 in Waterloo
105 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Brussels Waterloo
Ibis Brussels Waterloo
#3 of 5 in Waterloo
376 reviews
3.2 mi away
Dolce la Hulpe Brussels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Le 1815 Hotel
Le 1815 Hotel
#4 of 5 in Waterloo
122 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Joli-Bois Hotel
Le Joli-Bois Hotel
#5 of 5 in Waterloo
28 reviews
4.3 mi away
Groenendaal Hotel
Groenendaal Hotel
#1 of 1 in Hoeilaart
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martin's Grand Hotel Waterloo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martin's Grand Hotel Waterloo

Property: Martin's Grand Hotel Waterloo
Address: Chaussee de Tervuren N 227/198, Waterloo 1410, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > Walloon Brabant > Waterloo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Waterloo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Martin's Grand Hotel Waterloo 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 20 minutes from the centre of Brussels and yet in green and peaceful surroundings, this 4-star hotel is ideal for visits to the city. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel.The hotel is also convenient for long walks in the harmonious landscapes, golf, biking and so much more. Have a night’s refreshing sleep in one of our luxurious rooms, all with essential components of contemporary well-being.In La Sucrerie restaurant, originally a sugar refinery built in the middle of the 19th century and now beautifully restored, our chef lets you savour the finest cuisine, while in the neo-colonial Club Bar you are welcome for that last drink. Parking is available in front of the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your Martin's Grand Hotel Waterloo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waterloo Grand Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing