We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient for One Night” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Wavre Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ibis Wavre Hotel
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Wavre
Rancho Cucamonga, California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Convenient for One Night”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed here with my student travel group of 28 on the road between Amsterdam and Paris. The hotel is located behind a home improvement center and a few fast food restaurants. It's a residential area with loads of grassy spots and trees.

The lobby is large enough with a bar and lounge area where guests can watch television and eat breakfast in the morning. The bar was nice, but the service was sketchy. The staff didn't speak English very well, which wasn't surprising since this isn't a big tourist area. This was only an issue when I tried to communicate that I needed ice to bring down the swelling on my bad ankle. They claimed that they had no ice. No ice. So, not even for cocktails? Anyway, the manager ended up bringing out a bar rag wrapped around a small chunk of ice to use on my ankle propped up on a table in the lobby. Hmm. He was very nice about it, but it was kind of awkward, especially while other student tour groups were checking in throughout the night. Strange.

The breakfast was very good. They offered hot and cold food, and plenty of it. The breakfast room/lounge was large and inviting.

The rooms are smallish, but fine for Europe. The outlets are sparse though, so I had to charge my phone, camera and other items at different times. Fortunately, the outlet was near the bed, so I could use my phone as my alarm while it charged.

The hotel has no air-conditioning, so you have to open the window to get fresh air. Unfortunately, there are no screens, so moths and other little flying critters will visit you in the night. Also, they had some modern art on the wall that scared me to death in the middle of the night. The prints are of a shadow man in a bowler hat, so in the dark it looks as if an actual man in a bowler hat is in the room. It was like a villian out of Doctor Who. Creepy. I asked the others in my group, and they had the same art in their rooms.

Overall, I didn't have a negative experience at this hotel. It also wasn't positive. If you're on the road, it's not a bad place to stop for the night. Be aware though that loads of student group tours use this hotel, so teenagers will be scattered throughout the hotel, and depending on how well-managed they are, might be noisy. Ours were fine, but you never know.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Kenobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2
    20
    43
    42
    27
See reviews for
32
19
10
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2014

The hotel fits the needs for an overnight stay. The rooms are functional, breakfast average and staff helpful and friendly. Everything you need is available, good internet connection, clean rooms and secured park space.

Room Tip: All rooms are similar, there is no difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

This has possibly got to be the worst hotel I have ever stayed in, avoid if possible. I also stayed in The Leonardo in Wavre, rooms are bigger, but thats about its best attribute. I would say avoid hotels in Wavre and stay in Brussels or Leuven. The standard of hotels in Wavre is appalling, if rooms that resemble a cabin on a 1990s cross channel ferry is your thing then you won't be dis-appointed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternWavre, General Manager at Ibis Wavre Hotel, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Hello,
Well sorry you don't like the hotels in Wavre, we are all constantly working on improvments at the Best Western HNA Wavre hotel, please come back in a couple of months and let us know if we managed to cross over to the 2000s, at the moment we are working on the bathrooms.
Best regards,
Florian Zemanek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Wavre hotels

Alicante, Spain
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Hotel is hiding behind the highway and "Brico" not easy to find if is your first time to go there.
Beds were ok and clean meanwhile the bathroom very small and not look very clean.
TV had some chains not have any local neither channel with movie to relax after a work day or just relax.
The breakfast very poor and if you come near the closing not easy to get something to eat better go asap.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rodolphe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternWavre, General Manager at Ibis Wavre Hotel, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Hello Hiboux2203,
Thank you for your review, we are trying to react on your remark that the hotel is difficult to find by putting up some more directional banners on the street!
Best regards,
Florian
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
128 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

I was in the area and looking for a cheap hotel for the night especially as I didn't arrive until after 10pm. This was (at the time) like an oasis in the desert. To be fair the man on reception was very welcoming and friendly even as I was so late. He admitted the Internet was extremely slow in the rooms.
Slow! That is an understatement if ever I heard one! As someone who relies on the Internet as part of my work it is very important for me to be able to receive emails wherever I stay. The connection when I did manage to get it dropped regularly which required repeated entry of the complicated username and password (even though I had said "sign in automatically"). When the connection did work it was so slow at one point I paid for roaming fees as it was quicker.

To be fair the room was comfortable and what I would expect for a budget hotel. I was too late for dinner so I decided to wait for the included breakfast in the morning.
Breakfast!! What can I say!! Burnt bacon, scrambled egg which was so hard it tasted like it was yesterday's reheated, cheese on the cheese board was like cardboard as it had obviously been left out too long. I went for breakfast at 8:30am so not exactly late! Coffee was good though!

To cap it all when I checked out the reception girl who was in the restaurant and came out after being called was very miserable. No "was everything okay?" Just grunted a few times when I asked for a receipt for my company. I appreciate it must be very frustrating having to try to converse in English when it isn't your native language but unfortunately I could not speak any of hers so there was little I could do about it.

All in all a very disappointing stay. Having read some of the other reviews here, and the replies, it does sound like others have had similar opinions albeit about different parts of their stay. It is good that the manager is acknowledging the replies and promising improvements. I think these need to happen quicker for the rating to go up.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Zedbiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BestWesternWavre, General Manager at Ibis Wavre Hotel, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Hello,
Thank you for your review but I don't really think you stayed in our hotel.
First the part about internet: we have upgraded our system this summer and since then we have quite a high download rate and good antenna service, I just checked and we haven't had a single complaint since the upgrade, so either you stayed here way before the summer or it was another Best Western hotel in the area.
As for breakfast, we do not serve bacon and scrambled eggs yet, breakfast is admittetly simple but we downsized the offer exactly for the good reason to keep what we offer fresh and of nice quality, we will add more products step by step.
Yes we are continouosly working on many improvments, at the moment we are changing the mattresses and are working on the corridors, more lights are being installed and we will replace the carpet floor also on the stairs. Maintenance on the bathrooms has been increased to keep everything in good workign conditions.
So I hope you will stay with us just off the motorway exit n° 6 Wavre off motorway E411 soon and see what we have accomplished so far.
Very best regards,
Florian Zemanek
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night during the F1, and the hotel was lovely.
Friendly staff.
Rooms were clean.

My only negative would be the breakfast, there was a small choice of toast, croissants or fruit...

Also if you don't have your own transport - make sure you book a taxi before your stay... There's no taxis in the area.

Overall good stay :)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 0Ray0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

This is the worst hotel i have ever stayed in, full of creepy old men smoking cigars , halls are filled with old cupboards? One had to doge past them on the way to the room with suitcases, rooms are small , bathroom tiny(no room to swing a cat) anyway without any further rants the only thing left to say is that it is awful.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelsdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wavre
0.4 mi away
Leonardo Hotel Wavre
0.4 mi away
At Home Hotel
At Home Hotel
#4 of 6 in Wavre
3.0 of 5 bubbles 34 reviews
2.1 mi away
Chateau de Limelette
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Ibis Styles Meeting Center Louvain la Neuve
Ibis Styles Meeting Center Louva...
#1 of 1 in Louvain-la-Neuve
3.5 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
4.8 mi away
Hotel Piano2
Hotel Piano2
#1 of 1 in Corbais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
1.1 mi away
Le Goupil
Le Goupil
#1 of 4 in Wavre
5.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Wavre Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Wavre Hotel

Property: Ibis Wavre Hotel
Address: Bois du Manil 91, Wavre 1300, Belgium (Formerly Wavre Hotel)
Region: Belgium > Wallonia > Walloon Brabant > Wavre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Wavre
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Wavre Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ibis Wavre is ideally located in the heart of the French-speaking Brabant, only 15 minutes from Brussels. Nested in a green landscape and at a walking distance from the city centre of Wavre, you will find all the services you need for a pleasant stay in Belgium. The hotel offers 75 rooms, is easily accessible via the highway E411 and offers a private car and coach parking. Welcome to Wavre! What you should not miss here: Walibi amusement park, Aqualibi water park, Herge Museum, Wavre's historic town center with great shops. Are you here for work? The GSK offices and the university campuses of UCL are only 10 minutes away! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibis Wavre Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wavre Best Western
Best Western Wavre

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing