We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trip to Brussels”
Review of Abberdeen Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Abberdeen Hotel
Ranked #166 of 209 Brussels B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 November 2013

I stayed in hotel Abberdeen with my friend for 2 nights in the early November 2013. Almost all time we were outside and coming to room only to have a sleep. At the night its quite loudly outside because the hotel situated in the center of Brussels (perfect location) and there are a lot of bars and clubs not far from that place. As we were very tired (we walked 10-12 km each day) it wasn't a problem for us and we slept well. But if you want to stay in quiet and silent place this hotel is not for you. We were living on the 3rd floor (the last one) and as you can read from the reviews before there is a really steep winding stairs but for us it wasn't a problem. You can turn on the light (its a little bit tricky to find how to do that but still you can do that) and just go up or down carefully. However if you are planning to be drunk it can be a problem for you to get up :-).
The room and bed, as well as, toilet and douche were cleen. They changed the towels after our first day. The furniture in the room were old the walls were a little bit ragged but as I write before it didn't matter for us, because we came to the room just to sleep.
Generally for the money you pay you get a nice place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wah779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
There are newer reviews for Abberdeen Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

We stayed in hotel Abberdeen /Colombier luckily only for one night. From the first moment we realized how it would be like. There was a smell of "hash" everywhere. Our room was on the second floor so we had to walk up the steep stairs in the dark since there is no elevator. The room was quite big with 3 ancient beds (we had booked a triple). One of the beds had only 3 legs and we used a towel to make it stable. Most of the furniture had cigarette burns. No shutters on the windows so we had to keep the curtains closed during all day.The floors were "black" clean. In the bathroom we could see lot of different kind from hair. In the bathtub we found the previous guests' empty bottles of sampoo and soap. The entrance of the hotel is also used as public toilets from the noisy bars next door, so do not get surprised if you see someone peeing in the middle of the street when you try to unlock the door. Good luck unlocking the entrance after 11pm since there is nobody in the reception and the door has a sign: "If the door doesn't open do not panic! Try several times until you are able to unlock it with your card" . During our one night stay at least 3 guests of the hotel in the middle of the night tried desperately to open the door, smashing it and shouting. In a few words the hotel must be demolished and rebuild, if it wants to be called a hotel.Certainly gives a bad name to small hotels in this beautiful city.

Room Tip: No good rooms! Live the experience and cross your fingers.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank admiral_gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2010

If a quiet night is your objective then best give this place a miss. The continual noise of drunks in the street was a constant nuisance until about 3am.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andygeddes77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Let me start by saying that I did not have high expectations for this hotel considering we were not paying very much. I'm generally quite easily pleased, but this place truly was awful.

There's always a degree of uncertainty when you first arrive at a budget hotel, and my first impression upon entering the room was one of, what have I gotten myself into? First of all, the room smelled quite musty/smoky. The furnishings are also quite old/worn, the most noticable being the floors which were scratched to bits.

I had read about the stairs before leaving and expected them to be your average european hotel stairs. But, they really are the most awful, winding, steep stairs you'll find. Also, they have some motion detecting light system which did not always work and was a bit unsafe because the stairs were not always lit.

The beds were also very old-- I would estimate 30 years and this is no exaggeration. They were extremely saggy in the middles.

Many people here have mentioned the excellent location. There are 2 sides to this. Generally speaking, the geographic location was excellent and this was probably the only benefit to staying here. But the specific location, down a creepy alley, was awful. There was usually someone peeing in a grate outside- that kind of alley.

The room was clean on the surface but was definitely in need of a "deep clean," for example, the bathroom fixtures were dusty. The floors were also dusty/dirty but it was hard to tell since they were so worn/scratched.

I can put up with an ugly room or old furniture but the room was also extremely loud. I believe all the rooms must face the street and the windows did not block out sound at all. Trucks went by all night and there were always drunk people talking right outside. Also, there is a church nearby and the bells start going off starting at about 7am. To sleep at all I had to use earplugs.

My other main complaint was the staff. On one day we returned to our room but were asked to leave (!) by the maid who hadn't cleaned our room yet. We tried to avoid the room on subsequent days at this time but there wasn't really any regularity to it. Also, we were walked in on once, when the door was LOCKED, by a staff member who wanted to change a lightbulb. They didn't even knock. They said that they didn't expect us to be there? I don't really understand this logic.

My initial feeling was to not leave such a poor review, but I wonder, what is the point of staying in a hotel where you cannot a) sleep (due to noise) or b) come and go as you choose?

The other thing that is worth mentioning is that this hotel is affiliated with the one next door/ I think it's actually the same hotel. In fact, we were asked to check in at this hotel next door and Abberdeen seems to be only an extension of "Le Grand Colombier" reviews here:

http://www.tripadvisor.com/Hotel_Review-g188644-d649423-Reviews-Le_Grand_Colombier_Hotel-Brussels.html

Worth noting that the reviews are much poorer and people also note the connection between the 2 hotels.

If you are in Brussels for 1 night at most, have absoluetly no budget and just want anywhere to crash, I would say that maybe this place is a pass but I would definitely never stay here again, and in fact, this place left me with a lousy impression of Brussels.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emilybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2010

I'm surprised there was only one other reviewer for this hotel, as it is close to the city centre and quite a decent hotel.

The room was quite spacious considering it is a budget hotel. The bathroom is disproportionly large especially. The only downside is that if you got allocated one of the rooms on the ground floor rooms like I had been, noise could be a problem. I could hear everything going on in the reception desk! When I asked for a different room I was told all rooms were full. However, as there wasn't much happening in the reception desk at night (as one would expect), it wasn't really a problem.

Location is good, not right at the centre but easy walking distance to almost most tourist sites.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manchai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2009

I went to Belgium with friends for a festival but we arrived a day earlier and decided to stay at this hotel for 1 night. Since it wasn't long we decided on a one star hotel. It was better than we expected. It is small but the rooms were clean and nice. It is in a good location, a few minutes walk from the north station. The only thing is that the street was quite dirty, but we forgot about the street anyway once we were inside. The staff was nice too. We would go back to it.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marieclairefinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank A_Podvalny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Queen Anne
Hotel Queen Anne
#101 of 198 in Brussels
715 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
Hotel Opera Bruxelles
#117 of 198 in Brussels
334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Theater Hotel
Theater Hotel
#143 of 209 in Brussels
529 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Retro
Hotel Retro
#22 of 209 in Brussels
328 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Meridien
#57 of 209 in Brussels
5 reviews
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Meribel
#94 of 209 in Brussels
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abberdeen Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abberdeen Hotel

Address: Rue du Colombier 4, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 209 B&Bs / Inns in Brussels
Price Range: £47 - £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Abberdeen Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Abberdeen Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing