We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly Recommended”
Review of Sweet Brussels

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Brussels
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Sweet Brussels
Ranked #44 of 212 Brussels B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 October 2012

We stayed here for four nights in October. Room 5 was perfect for us. Only complaints were that its on the very top floor (5 flights up or so?) and the grate on the catwalk really hurts your bare feet! Some sort of area rug or runner would be great there. Otherwise, we were very please with our stay!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank STTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 112 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed in room 5 for 2 nights, beautiful room, extremely spacious and nicely decorated. Sofie was a great host and let us store our bags on the last day for a few hours after we had checked out which we were extremely grateful for, she also trusted us with the key to get the bags later in the day, so yes, a fantastic host couldn't have asked for more! In addition to this, the breakfast included was lovely, a great mix of pastries, fruit and natural yoghurt (which suited me) and continental meats, cheeses, breads and freshly cooked eggs (which suited my partner) as well and tea's, coffee's and freshly squeezed orange juice. Fab! Only criticism is the area, late at night I found it intimidating, not so much during the day. I wouldn't let it put me off staying there again however as long as I wasn't on my own, it doesn't affect the rating I give the hotel but worth mentioning.

Tip - The hotel is closer to Brussels Zuid (South)/Brussels midi train station, however we took the slightly (maybe 5 minutes) longer walk from Brussels central as the station was a lot more friendly and the walk to the hotel felt much safer and more well lit. We walked for Brussels Zuid once and found the station itself to feel very intimidating, gangs hanging around outside as well as having to walk in pitch black part of the way.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank popcornsuperhet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2012

Stayed here, room #3, for 2 nights. What a delightful room. We had a great view of the boulevard not only from the large windows but a small balcony. The area is very close to the train station and perfectly safe. The B&B is in a large Moroccan community where the men sit outside at coffee houses during the day and evening. They do not consume alcohol so there are not bars or nightclubs in the area. Sofie and Steven are perfect hosts who serve up a good breakfast. Coffee and tea are available all the time. Moeder Lambic, a short walk away, was a great recommendation for some delicious Belgium beers.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AWN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Just back from a week in the duplex apt - excellent. The area did not worry us at all like some other reviewers - its so central. Nearby Place Rouppe has nice bars and great restaurants to suit all purses. The owner Sofie is a really lovely person. The apt is at the top of the house and is very spacious and bright - it was very warm weather during our stay but a fan is provided. The kitchen has everything you need for self catering but you can opt for a breakfast served in a nice room. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

A stay in this rather grand turn-of-the-century home gives you an insider's view of the Brussels townhouses that line so many of the city's streets. The rooms - spotless - are large and warmly minimalist, and the beds are very comfortable. Sophie and Steve are down-to-earth and knowledgeable. There are books about Brussels, architecture and design around the house. Although the house is on a busy and animated street and backs onto the train lines, the windows are modern and double-glazed, so we didn't hear a thing once they were closed. Note there are lots of stairs to climb, so not for the faint of heart or leg. Don't miss the Moroccan patisserie a few houses down! Easy walk to the Grand' Place, Sablon, Marolles, Opéra, etc. We will always stay here in the future!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

We arrived before the official check-in time but since our room was ready we were shown in immediately anyhow. We were given a tour of the B&B, a tourist map of the city with the B&B and some highlights marked on it as well as suggestions for where to go and what to see.

Breakfast was great, fresh coffee, freshly squeezed juice, a nice assortment of bread, meats and cheeses, hot eggs any way you like.

We also really liked the location. In a nice neighborhood (really, don't know what other reviewers find wrong with it) easily within walking distance of many of the highlights of the city. It's also a quick subway trip to the EU parliament area, which was an interesting place to visit.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nate E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Sweet Brussels= Sweet Sofie …stayed here for 4 nights in room 1 and room 2 for one night in June/July….loved room 1 and the little smokers balcony..hated room 2 since the bath was in the room and the toilet outside the room and all theat noise from the train tracks right outside…both the rooms however were large and super comfortable…really good breakfast..and Sofie is extremely welcoming…walking distance to the midi station on one side
(which comes in handy when u visit the nearby towns like Brugges, Ghent etc like we did) and Grand Place on the other…the only negative for us the neighborhood..not dangerous by any standard but very uncomfortable walking through with so many people staring…...

Room Tip: go for room 1
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank newbiemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.8 mi away
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
Steigenberger Wiltcher's
#28 of 199 in Brussels
1,657 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3,985 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#73 of 199 in Brussels
2,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
B&B Villa 36
B&B Villa 36
#4 of 9 in Saint-Gilles
16 reviews
2.2 mi away
Living in Brusel, Urban B&B
0.3 mi away
B&B La Maison Haute
B&B La Maison Haute
#2 of 212 in Brussels
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweet Brussels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweet Brussels

Address: Avenue de Stalingrad 78 | Brussels, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 212 B&Bs / Inns in Brussels
Price Range: £70 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 19th-century townhouse located in the heart of Brussels providing stylish accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Located on a leafy large avenue, Sweet Brussels is situated between The Grand Place and Brussels South Station (Eurostar, Thallys) surrounded by various restaurants and in close proximity to theaters, cinemas, the "Sablon" Antiques area, the "Dansaert" Fashion district and the European Institutions. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Sweet Brussels Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing