We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and service, but the room is poorly laid out”
Review of Marivaux Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Marivaux Hotel
Ranked #54 of 198 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 25 June 2012

Good points
Location was walking distance to Grand Place, Metro, train station and many restaurants.
Staff was helpful and room was clean.
There was a fridge and safe in the room.

Bad points
They advertise free wifi in the room, but it was so weak in our room as to be useless.
Room was poorly laid out. There was no place to hang a suit or pants as the closet had a shelf in the middle. Also, there was room to hang only one small towel in the bathroom.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wildlife_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marivaux_Manager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear Wildlife_lover,

The Marivaux hotel values client feedback as this is very helpful to improve our services and we thank you for your review.
On a trip back to Brussels, we look forward to having you again in a different Marivaux bedroom for an even more enjoyable stay!
Marivaux top tip: all rooms have a trouser press with a designated suit / trouser hanger, to keep your suits from creasing :).

Kind regards,
The Marivaux Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,087 - 1,093 of 2,318 reviews

Reviewed 22 June 2012

Stayed at this hotel for one night. On arrival the staff were very professional and we were upgraded for free to a larger more modern room. The bedroom was very clean, spacious and quiet. The room has tea and coffee making facilities which was a pleasant surprise. The free Wifi was also a bonus. The location was a 5 minute walk from the city centre. Good breakfast with lots of choice. On departure we were able to leave our luggage in a locked room until we were ready to leave Brussels later that day. Overall a good modern hotel and would recommend to family and friends.

Room Tip: We stayed on a higher floor to the front and slept very well with no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susie66Chester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marivaux_Manager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear Susie66Chester,

On behalf of the Marivaux staff, thank you for your review! Our staff works hard to provide efficient services to our guests, so we can only be grateful for your positive feedback. It is great to hear you appreciated our free Wifi as well.
We look forward to welcoming you or your family and friends soon.

Kind regards,
The Marivaux Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

We selected this hotel, for its proximity and value. It offered free interent adn free wifi. The rooms were extremely large, A king size bed, sofa, and desk and still plenty of room to exercise! The bathroom was average. The biggest complaint was that the WIFI was bogged down often. The only time I could get a signal strong and stable enough to work using a VPN was from midnight to 4 am. We switched rooms, but the signal still was not acceptable.

The room decor is basic 1960's 1970's oak furniture, although adequate it just seemed out of place for today's hotel. The carpet is looking worn and the colors are off compared to the wall color.

The breakfast was excellent, no complaints!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacquelineatl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marivaux_Manager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear Jacquelineatl,

We thank you for your feedback, which is highly valued, it is true that the size of our rooms is very large compared to European standards :) . The Marivaux hotel offers 2 types of rooms: Harmony & Club in either a traditional or modern style for our guests’ different tastes. During your stay, our Wifi struggled to keep up with our guests, but we are continuously improving its service. We are glad you enjoyed your breakfast and the Marivaux’ value for money!

Kind regards,
The Marivaux Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

The hotel is in a great location, the staff is very friendly and useful. I requested a quiet room and received one. I stayed there several times following its opening after renovations and will return!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 72Dragonfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marivaux_Manager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear 72Dragonfly,

We are pleased you enjoy each of your stays at the Marivaux Hotel. During your next stay, please do not hesitate to enquire about the Marivaux’ fidelity program!

Kind regards,
The Marivaux Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2012

A modern, very efficient run hotel with all you may need (even tea making facilities in the room) which is unusual in Eurpean hotels!.
The staff were excellent and when we enquired about places to see, he spent 10 minutes explaniing all places of interest.

Breakfast was excellent, good selection of things to choose from.
Overall , this hotel was great value for the price we paid.
Although very close to train station, it is a good walk to the main square but you pass plenty of shops and interesting things to get there so great if you are able!

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel and certainly go there again.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for room at the rear of hotel as hotel is on a fairly busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sassysuel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marivaux_Manager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear Sassysuel,

Thank you for your review. Your description of the Marivaux’ services and amenities, as well as the central location are very helpful for other travelers and we are grateful for this!
We look forward to welcoming you at the Marivaux Hotel very soon.

Kind regards,
The Marivaux Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2012

Everything was well run, front desk was friendly, breakfast was good. bed was good, room was nicely decorated and spacious. the location was ideal for my work and very near a subway station. My room was off the street (as I asked for) and remarkably quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tkl112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marivaux_Manager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear tkl112,
Thank you for your positive and kind feedback with regards to the Marivaux’ different departments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay overall and look forward to welcoming you again soon on your next business trip or for leisure!
Kind regards,
Marivaux Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Excellent stay, attentive and helpful staff at front desk. Housekeeping staff were courteous and diligent. Room was small but well appointed and well stocked. We would absolutely stay at the Marivaux again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nby10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marivaux_Manager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear nby10,
The Marivaux’ staff would like to thank you for your review! The personalised and professional staff-client relationship is important to us and we are grateful for your kind words. We definitely look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Kind regards,
Marivaux Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.3 mi away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
0.5 mi away
Motel One
Motel One
#25 of 198 in Brussels
1,627 reviews
0.5 mi away
NH Brussels Bloom
NH Brussels Bloom
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
4,063 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
0.2 mi away
Hotel Metropole
Hotel Metropole
#70 of 198 in Brussels
2,835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marivaux Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marivaux Hotel

Address: Boulevard Adolphe Max 98, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#27 Green Hotel in Brussels
#28 Business Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: £63 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Marivaux Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marivaux, a former cinema tastefully renovated into a 4 star hotel, has 96 high standard bedrooms as well as 9 meeting rooms. The Marivaux Hotel is located just minutes away from the historic centre, the Grand Place, the shopping streets and the Business centre. The European District can be easily reached by Metro. All of the rooms are stylishly and elegantly decorated. They are also equipped with a range of facilities (free WiFi, free coffee and tea facilities, satellite TV, mini bar, safe,...) in order to respond to the guests’ different needs and demands. The Brasserie Meat Me, alludes to the cinematic and artistic past of the Marivaux and serves international fusion cuisine that remains affordable to all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Marivaux Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marivaux Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing