We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, friendly and comfortable.”
Review of Marivaux Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Marivaux Hotel
Ranked #47 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice, friendly and comfortable.”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

I choose the Marivaux because it was not to far from where I work and the price of a room was right.
The people at the reception were friendly and helpful. To get to my room on the second floor I had to make quite a journey through narrow corridors. The hotel used to be a cinema and everything about the builing remembers the guest of that. I was surprised that I had a decent wifi connection, because my room was at the end of the corridor and felt quite remote. The room was large enough and had everthing that I needed. A TV, a minibar with cold drinks and some sweet and savoury snacks. The bathroom was ok, but I missed something to put my wet towels and gym-clothes to dry. The room was very quiet and the curtains made the room so dark that sleeping was no problem at all. I had a lot to choose from during breakfast, even sausages and pancakes. Checking out went fast and friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Edwin_vd_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Edwin_vd_B,

I am delighted to read your review, which I am sure will help other travelers looking for firsthand information.
The hotel is, indeed, unique thanks to our theatrical history and I was glad to read that you had noticed the reminding details.
We are constantly trying to improve our interior decor, thank you for your suggestion for the bathroom, we will definitely take it under consideration.
I hope to see you soon for another visit to Brussels.

Kind regards,
Lien Schoutteten
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,041 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    795
    856
    277
    77
    36
See reviews for
253
915
135
413
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (155)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
N Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 August 2014

A little bit from the centre of Of the city so be prepared to walk. We stayed for 1 night and were pleased to have been upgraded. Our room was looking into other apartments or side street. Overhead shower did not work. Breakfast was fine and was included in the price which is unusual in Brussels.

Room Tip: As for a room looking out to the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank PringleNI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Pringle NI,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to read that you had a pleasant short stay in Brussels.
Could you please contact us regarding the technical issue in your room? Our maintenance team will then see to fix this.
We hope to welcome you back soon, maybe for an even longer period.

Kind regards,
Megan Manin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here Jan 2014 for 3nights/4days, upon arriving early the reception staff were very accommodating in getting us checked in and the level of service they provided throughout our stay was second to none. They gave us directions to the centre (which is a very short walk), shopping district, metro and all the sights. They even included a map for us!

The room we booked was a little smaller than anticipated but very cosy and clean with all mod cons and luxurious toiletries and bathrobes! The bathroom alone made up for the size of the room.

Breakfast was very good with a wide range of pastries, cereals and hot food! We didn't eat dinner in the hotel and had a few drinks in the bar, we did feel the bar closed extra early though.

One day we travelled to Bruge and asked the receptionist where to get the train, she was very friendly and helpful, printing us out a map and train timetable while giving us the option that she would book online for us. This lady done way more than was expected and made our stay very enjoyable. Definitely, One of the best hotels I have stayed in for customer service!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Michelle B,

I am pleased to read your excellent review and I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of the Marivaux.
We are indeed proud of our staff for being friendly and helping you with your plans to discover Brussels and Belgium.
Please let us know directly if you are planning to visit Brussels again, we will be happy to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Lien Schoutteten
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Good value (at least in July), convenient to Metro, shopping, and restaurants. Located in a less touristy area, but still not too far (on foot or by Metro) to Grand Place and other attractions. Room was clean, beds were comfy, and they were able to accommodate our request to add a cot bed for a 3rd person. Even the extra cot bed was comfortable. Room was a good size. The reception staff were always friendly and helpful. Ate at the restaurant "Meat Me" one night and it was pleasant/service was good. Wifi in room worked well.

Breakfast buffet was totally overpriced, but there are other options very close by. Since this appears to be a business hotel primarily, and guests probably frequently expense their meals for work, high breakfast prices are not too surprising; nearby options make this not a problem.

The one complaint is that we were paying for 3 people in the room, including the extra bed, but they wanted to charge us an extra Euro-fifty for a third "Nespresso" coffee cartridge for the coffee maker every day. You would think a hotel of this caliber wouldn't nickel-and-dime you for something that trivial.

Otherwise would recommend/would stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Katlanta,

I am glad to read your full and honest review, thank you for your recommendation. I hope you also had a fantastic time in the city.

Our plentiful breakfast selection provides for a good start to the day for both business and leisure guests, with which you could even skip lunch…
You are absolutely right for the extra Nespresso capsule, we will certainly pay extra attention to this in the future, thank you for mentioning it.

We would be happy to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,
Lien Schoutteten
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

A highly recommended one: great location(train station,subway,shopping area..);the room is spacious and clean;free WiFi;the staff was really nice and helpful..Will definitely go back next time in Brussels.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicky W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Vicky W,

Thank you for one of the best reviews of the Marivaux Hotel!
We look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards,
Megan Manin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I travelled with young kid and stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. The rooms a good size, cleaned and the bed very comfortable. There is no problem for use Wi-Fi in the room.The staff are friendly. The hotel closes to Metro station, shops and shopping mall (City 2). I would recommend this hotel to anyone who visit Brussels.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chompoonuj C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Chompoonuj C,

Thank you for your valuable review and your recommendation. I am delighted to read that you and your family had a nice stay in Brussels and at the Marivaux.
We hope to see you soon!

Kind regards,
Lien Schoutteten
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Well situated, quiet and peaceful. Perfect bathroom. Nice reception. The only bad thing is that they don't have a specific place to park your car when you need to unload your baggage. It takes about 10 minutes walking to the Grand Place.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sweetxejo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarivauxSalesManager, Manager at Marivaux Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Sweetxejo G,

Thank you for your review. , I’m glad you enjoyed your experience at the Marivaux Hotel! There are parking spots assigned for the Hotel just outside Reception, but they are quickly occupied. It might feel a bit unnatural in a city like Brussels, but I assure you there is no problem stationing your car on the Boulevard, whilst you unload your baggage.

I hope you will have a chance to visit us again for another short trip to Brussels.

Kind regards,
Megan Manin
Sales Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.0 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#61 of 199 in Brussels
898 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Le Plaza
Hotel Le Plaza
#40 of 199 in Brussels
1,470 reviews
0.1 mi away
NH Collection Brussels Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Motel One
Motel One
#24 of 199 in Brussels
1,381 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adagio Brussels Grand Place
0.5 mi away
Hotel BLOOM!
Hotel BLOOM!
#1 of 13 in Saint-Josse-ten-Noode
3,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marivaux Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marivaux Hotel

Property: Marivaux Hotel
Address: Boulevard Adolphe Max 98, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Brussels
#16 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#26 Green Hotel in Brussels
#28 Business Hotel in Brussels
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marivaux Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Marivaux, a former cinema tastefully renovated into a 4 star hotel, has 96 high standard bedrooms as well as 9 meeting rooms. The Marivaux Hotel is located just minutes away from the historic centre, the Grand Place, the shopping streets and the Business centre. The European District can be easily reached by Metro. All of the rooms are stylishly and elegantly decorated. They are also equipped with a range of facilities (free WiFi, free coffee and tea facilities, satellite TV, mini bar, safe,...) in order to respond to the guests’ different needs and demands. The Brasserie Meat Me, alludes to the cinematic and artistic past of the Marivaux and serves international fusion cuisine that remains affordable to all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, Priceline, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Marivaux Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marivaux Hotel Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing