We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Residence Les Ecrins
Ranked #65 of 199 Hotels in Brussels
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We got an upgrade from our original booking, therefore our impression of this place might be a little bit biased. We stayed in a very spacious apartment, clean, comfortable and well localized (15mins walk to the Grand Place). The breakfast was very very good!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APedro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (400)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 400 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2013

The hotel is 3 mins away from a metro station (St Catherine) and 10 min walk to city center. Restaurants and bars close are very good. There are also supermarkets nearby. The wi-fi connection in my room was not strong, but it could be used at the reception with no concerns. I recommend it and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rafaeldc23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ecrins, Gérant at The Residence Les Ecrins, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Hello,
We had some spots in the residence with a weak wifi signal but since the middle of October,
In order to satisfy our guests 100%, we asked to an informaticien to improve the wifi signal and now, the signal is strong everywhere.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Arriving at the hotel is very easy as it is very close to the Ste Catherine/St Katelijne metro stop which is two stops from the Gare Centrale/ Centraal Station. Our host, Edward was really lovely and managed to sort out things for us even though we were early arriving at the hotel. The hotel is about a 10-minute walk from the Grand Place/Grote Markt, and the area around (Place Ste Catherine) is surrounded by charming seafood restaurants and cafes which are open quite late.

The rooms themselves are very clean and comfortable. I had a single room with shared toilets/shower facilities and always found them clean and rarely engaged. My family had the double rooms and found the bathrooms and rooms spacious and spotless. The only downside is that the rooms that face the street will always have traffic rushing past along the cobbled stones (and a rubbish truck early around 7:00 in the morning on a Monday) which can get quite loud. Avoid the room immediately on the left as you come in (if you can) as you will hear the door opening/closing throughout the evening/night as guests come in and out.

Breakfast was lovely which fresh croissants and pastries. There is fresh fruit available and lovely coffee and a selection of teas. More than enough food and endless coffee and we were stuffed everyday.

Wifi is available throughout the building for free, and Edward is very helpful with a highlighter and a map to sort you out with the best walking tour for your needs.

All in all, a lovely place to stay centrally in Brussels that has much more charm and character than a faceless hotel. Only downside is it can get a bit noisy if you're a light sleeper. Fortunately for me, I'm not, so I had a most lovely stay.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing the street, and especially the room on the ground floor by the entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chefmignon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

My wife and I recently stayed here during our trip to Europe. The front desk attendant was very friendly and helpful at suggesting things to see in Brussels and also with local restaurants for dinner. We had a front room and the street was a bit noisier then we would have thought, but it was not a problem. And the desk attendant offered us two different rooms at check in, a front one and a back one, noting that the front can be noise, so we opted for the front. So if noise might keep you up, ask for a back room. I would definitely recommend this place and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thumora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2013 via mobile

I only stayed 1 night at Residence Les Ecrins and had a great experience. To caveat this review - I arrived early evening and left early in the morning before breakfast.

Service was great. The manager greeted me at the door by name. I had a small, simple yet clean room on the top floor with a private bathroom (the manager have me a free upgrade from a shared bath).

Manage your expectations - The shower is small for American standards but typical for Europe and was perfect. Be advised, there is no elevator and 4 levels.

Overall, I enjoyed the stay despite having concerns when I booked it from the US and not knowing it since it's not a chain. I definitely would stay here again and recommend it. My biggest disappointment was that a room was not available when I returned to Brussels weeks later.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SergioFW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Our room was recently renovated and comfortable. The location is quiet however don't leave your window open or the Mosquitos will get in.

The front desk staff when we arrived were excellent however the breakfast guy lacked charm. He reluctantly gave us a 2nd cup of coffee but only when we asked.

Which brings us to the Achilles heel, the breakfast. Meagre and plain is the best description for a bread roll, croissant, and various spreads. No cereal, yoghurt, fruit, eggs, or meats. I don't think that additions of these items would break their bank or make a large price increase but it would certainly raise my rating up to a 4.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chris19531955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We went to The Residence Les Ecrins for a long weekend, and it turned out to be a great choice. Staff was very helpful with everything (check-in, city recommendations etc.) and the room was more than decent (it could have had more style but that's all). This place has the perfect location: It's in a nice neighbourhood, very close to the city center yet far enough to have a bit of serenity. One of its strengths is definitely the breakfast, it was not much in quantity but was very delicious (fresh croissants etc.). Would recommend!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hominikulak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Brussels hotels
0.4 mi away
Maxhotel
Maxhotel
#72 of 199 in Brussels
950 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
Hotel a la Grande Cloche
#71 of 199 in Brussels
692 reviews
0.3 mi away
easyHotel Brussels City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Citadines Sainte-Catherine Brussels
0.5 mi away
La Madeleine Grand Place Brussels
0.3 mi away
Esperance
Esperance
#90 of 199 in Brussels
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Les Ecrins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Les Ecrins

Address: Rue du Rouleau 15, Brussels 1000, Belgium
Region: Belgium > Brussels
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Brussels
#22 Romantic Hotel in Brussels
#27 Business Hotel in Brussels
Price Range: £60 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Les Ecrins is situated in a quiet street in the heart of Brussels at Place St. Catherine - the old Fish Market of Brussels, 6 minutes walking distance from the famous Grand Place, 15 minutes from E.C.Headquarters.It is nearby the St Catherine subway station and 20 minutes away from the national airport Zaventem. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Residence Les Ecrins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Les Ecrins Hotel Brussels
Residence Les Ecrins Brussels

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing